We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located and comfortable”
Review of Holiday Inn Almaty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Almaty
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Hamburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“well located and comfortable”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Very good hotel for business visits to Almaty. It has all you need: comfortable rooms, clean, and it is located centrally. I would offer high speed internet with the room fee, instead of low speed. It does not make much sense to make the distinction and it annoys you as a guest if you cannot connect to your company network due to the speed.

Breakfast is good. Includes all you could expect from a continental breakfast in Europe. French style.

Staff is very friendly but not as competent as I would like. Although they do speak English, some of them do not know how to support the guest with common issues like a lost suitcase or basic transportation information.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pelotilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    204
    100
    20
    13
See reviews for
10
14
26
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

O have been staying in this hotel a couple of times and I can confirm my appreciation for the quality of the service (also breakfast in excellent) and the friendly staff. My room was modern, well equipped, clean. Another advantage is the relative price advantage compared to other hotels , perhaps more 5 stars level but with huge price difference with this Holday Inn

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splokysploky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I have stayed here couple of times and it's a pleasant hotel with friendly staff.
The rooms are modern, clean, good wifi and the bed is big and comfortable. Oly thing is the sheets and duvet is a bit rough. Feels like I am lying in between sandpaper.
Towels not of good quality. Thin and small.
The hotel does it have a pool but a small terrace. Shame there is no sun beds. Would be nice to get some sun.
The food is of good quality and the bar is 24h.
I did enjoy my fe stays but do change the towels linen or use softner.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have been staying in the Holiday Inn Almaty over the past year and a half when on business and have to say its a lovely hotel, modern, a nicer Holiday Inn than most, and staff are usually really friendly. However as new hotels prop up around Almaty on an increasing basis I think the Holiday Inn need to step up their game if they want to keep their Business clientele. The Breakfast, as nice as it is, is hard to find included in the price when booking online. Its really frustrating for a business traveller to have to budget in for extra breakfasts here and there and I wish the hotel would just include in the price.

Further to this the internet is completely overpriced and I've already spoken to three to four other colleagues whom are now choosing to go to a newer hotel in the city that offers free wifi.

I'm concerned that what was formerly a favourite hotel of mine in Almaty has started to appear slightly greedy in the prices.

The nail was hit in the head on my last trip (March 2012) where upon arrival I was placed in a 'smoking' room (I booked non-smoking) as they had overbooked. No real apology was made, I slept an uncomfortable night in a twin room (I had also booked the executive suite) and was still charged full price. I had to fight (not literally) to get a reduction on that evenings bill when paying due to my inconvenience and ask for free wifi. Good customer service would have offered me this straight away to make my stay more comfortable, but I feel the staff are being told by top management to take as much income as possible.

This Holiday Inn needs to understand that business customers speak to one another and that there is always a hotel offering better alternatives, service and they need to be careful not to get too greedy as they will start to lose customers. They have certainly lost one in me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Almaty, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear SarahGrant,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Almaty. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is an up-market Holiday Inn which I can recommend to anyone. Very helpful people at reception, a decent bar/restaurant and comfortable beds. If you are a tourist, the location may not be ideal as it is a good 20/30 minute walk down the hill into the the old town where you want to be. The hotel car is expensive compared to using a local taxi, although finding a taxi & then negotiating a price with the driver can be rather challenging.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alphajet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have stayed at the HI Almaty many times. Good hotel, but fairly pricy which is typical of KZ business hotels. Good central location. Rooms good, Breakfast is OK, service and securty is good. Internet is an irritant at $20 per day.

Room Tip: Try to get on the club floor - recall its the 8th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollingstone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I've spent 4 nights at the HI Almaty and my overall experience was very good. Staff was helpful and friendly. I've got a room at the executive floor which was well equiped, clean and properly maintained as one should expect at any HI. The furniture was new and nothing wasa missing. No issues with the air conditioning or the hot water. The hotel is quite expensive, as are all good hotels in Almaty. Internet was free (has been since the beginning of April 2012) but not very fast. The food (dinner) is tasty, well presented and fairly priced (prefer the à la Carte options). Actually the food was surprisingly good and way much better than the average Holiday Inn gastronomic experience

Room Tip: If you can, try the executive rooms at the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.9 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
1.1 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 72 in Almaty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#6 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
6.3 mi away
Saraichik
Saraichik
#15 of 72 in Almaty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Almaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Almaty

Property: Holiday Inn Almaty
Address: Timiryazeva 2D, Almaty 050013, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
#8 Business Hotel in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Almaty 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Almaty! The first international hotel of the middle class in the city and the first Holiday Inn in Kazakhstan. Holiday Inn Hotel will be able to offer you excellent service and facilities at an affordable price for both local and foreign guests. It is located in the heart of the business and financial district of Almaty, near shopping centers and in 25 minutes drive from the airport. From terraces, as well as from most rooms stunning views of the mountains of Tien Shan are opening. You can unlatch the window to let fresh air in to your contemporary Guest room. Satellite TV channels on the flat-screen TV and wireless Internet will help keep you up-to-date. Open the blackout curtains to mountain views after a sound night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Almaty Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing