We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for Business”
Review of Rixos Almaty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rixos Almaty
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2012

First time in Kazakhstan for a 3 nights business trip. First impression is great with this huge hotel built like one block and featuring opulent decoration.
Room on the park was comfortable and clean, with good equipment.
Good breakfast buffet (not at the level of Hyatt) and nice bar menu.
The big plus is the sport/spa center, with a huge swimming pool, avery modern gym and very nice sap incl. free Sauna, Tropical rain showers and steam bath, the whole thing in a very oriental atmosphere.
Overall, a very good hotel perfect for business travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the park and if possible at an elevated floor (above 3rd) for nice view and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Adrienne S,

Thank you for taken the time to write a review about our hotel, we trruly appreciate your feedback and comments.

We are glad to read that our surroundings contributed to a luxurious atmosphere, the rooms are indeed well equipped and we are delighted to read that it made your stay with us comfortable.

Our Brasserie Restaurant offers indeed good breakfast, with vast assortment and high quality food, designed by our French Executive Chef. Your comments has been taken seriously, and been descussed on the daily meeting.

Furthermore, our SPA is a great feature to our property, with several different saunas and our 25-meter swimming pool is indeed a great trait to our guests.

Again thatnk you for your sunny comments, we hope to welcome you again soon.


Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2012

Arriving to Almaty I was told I am lucky to stay in the best hotel of the country. Unfortunately what I found was a room in the corner on the top floor with only one of the elevators working there and with virtually no view, internet absolutely not working and very run-down, old furniture. When I complained I definitely wanted a room with internet working I was first given a cable to connect to internet rather then wifi. It did not work either - and by then I was seriously upset, having spent over an hour trying to get roomed in. Finally I was offered a room on the 3rd floor that was a smoking room, which being a heavy non-smoker was hard to tolerate. The wifi was till immensely slow and the bathroom - like for a previous reviewer - got flooded when i used the shower cabinet. The hammam of the hotel gave some opportunity to relax finally. I would agree that the hotel is far overpriced and is not worth it unless somebody is in favour of show-off and everything covered with embellishment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lili_Eu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear lili_Eu,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review about Rixos Almaty, however it is unfortunate to read that your stay with us was not up to your expectations.

We are grateful passing us the information that only one of the elevators was working, and we are glad to inform you that it has now been repaired.

We cannot overlook your comment regarding the Internet and it is with deepest regrets to read your Internet was not functioning properly at your stay with us. Your experience has been communicated to the IT department and action has been taken thereafter. It is unfortunate to read you had to spend over one hour to get roomed in, and we apologize for the inconvenience it caused.

Moreover, it was with guilt to read that you had to stay in a smoking room, when you are a none-smoker, and we understand it must have been difficult to tolerate. Your experience has been communicated to our team, and all necessary measurement has been taken to prevent these unfortunate episodes to occure again.

Also, we assure you that we are improving the showers in the rooms, as we are familiar with the shower flooding and is currently being maintained.

We are delighted to read that the Hammam was to your liking and that it gave you a relaxing time.

Again we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback, and we assure you that your comments will be taken with sincere interest and your experience communicated to the involved departments.


Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Felt really comfortable and relaxed at the Rixos almost immediately. The quality of the amenities reminds me of the ritz carlton. The service is impeccable with super friendly staff. The breakfast was excellent too. I will stay again

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Front Office Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear Laurent G,

We were pleased to read your sunny comments about Rixos Almaty, and we appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about our hotel.

We are truly thankful for your positive comments about our service and team members, who take great pride in delivering first-rate service. Our Brasserie Restaurant offers indeed great breakfast, with vast assortment and high quality food, designed by our French Executive Chef.

Moreover, we were thrilled to read that you got a relaxing and comfortable feeling as you entered Rixos.

It is a pleasure to read that you will stay with Rixos Almaty again, and we would be delighted to be your host for your next visit to Almaty.

We trust to meet your expectations once again.

Again, we would like to thank you for your positive comments.

Sincerely Yours,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

First time in Kazakhstan. The hotel has a high service level, perfect for business travellers. Free wi-fi works properly, the lobby is large, cosy and quite and there are a number of sofas and tables for meetings. The room was quite large with an excellent bathroom, w both the shower and the whirlpool tube.
Breakfast is served in the nice restaurant and one can find fresh fruits, pastries, yogurt and cereals as well as eggs, omlets, etc.
The Spa is perfect for relaxing. Two saunas, turkish bath, steam room and 7 rooms for different massages, plus a relaxing area, 25m pool and fitness centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Mr. Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Rixos Almaty on Tripadvisor and we are extremely pleased to read about your enjoyable stay with us.

Rixos Almaty is undeniably perfect for business travelers, as we have great meeting facilities, located in the heart of Almaty and it is only 30 minutes to the airport.

We truly appreciate your kind words about our service level and our team members, who have great pride in delivering first-rate service. Our Brasserie Restaurant offers indeed great breakfast, with vast assortment and high quality food, designed by our French Executive Chef.

We are pleased to hear that you felt comfortable in our classic designed hotel rooms and our spacious and open lobby area, and that you enjoyed the luxurious facilities which follow.

Rixos Spa offers, as you mentioned, a relaxing atmosphere and great variety of massages, saunas, Turkish bath, steam room, relaxing area, 25 m pool, excellent fitness center, energy bar and vitamin bar; total 2200 sqm.

It is with great honor that we were able to satisfy your expectations on your first visit to Almaty.

Once again, thank you for staying at Rixos Almaty while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I spent 7 nights in this hotel and only ate in the restaurant once because it was far too expensive. Could not afford the wine at £80 a bottle for which we would £9.99 in Tesco.
The bathroom flooded when I showered for the first time. I did manage to resolve the issue by standing in the corner of the shower cubicle. The mini bar had no prices but I found out it was £4 for a small bottle, needless to say I did not use it.
I had to use the laundry service and it was £28 for four shirts.
The staff are friendly.
You need a big wallet to eat and drink here.
If you get a room at the front the traffic noise will wake you up in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much indeed for choosing Rixos Almaty and most importantly for sharing your experience with us.

Your comments have been carefully reviewed by the management at Rixos Almaty, and we found yours very valuable.

We at Rixos value every guest who stays with us, and are glad to hear the staff did their up-most to make your stay pleasant. However, as the prices did not meet your expectations, we will therefore give advice on respectable alternatives in the future.

Rixos Almaty apologizes for not providing you the price list for the Mini-Bar, as this should be provided to all rooms.

We are delighted to inform you that our engineering department has already taken all necessary actions regards to your unfortunate shower experience, and has solved the flooding issue. This is an unacceptable circumstance, and we are grateful for notifying us.

Since, we are located at the central part of Almaty, all our rooms have beautiful city, mountain and park view. Nevertheless, we appreciate that you raised the awareness of traffic noise and brought it to our attention.

Again we would like to thank you for your feedback, and reassure you that we take your comments with sincere interest.

Sincerely Yours,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The Rixos is a great hotel to stay in Almaty. Stayed there fore 11 days for work and really, the service, the food, the rooms, everything is superbe. The best rooms are the ones with garden view, but the others are just fine. The best part is the hotel lobby that has tons of natural sunlight that comes in giving a really nice open feeling that you don't really get with other hotels. The lobby has good seating sections that are really comfortable and private and great for meeting with other people and getting work done if needed. The rooms are well equipped and I have to say that the wireless internet works really well. I had previosly stayed at Intercontinental and I have to say that I prefer the Rixos BY FAR.
Definitely choose this hotel as quality price is worth it.

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Ms. Gwen,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much indeed for your warm and positive comments about our hotel services and facilities and most importantly for selecting our hotel as your accommodations of choice when you visited Almaty.

We greatly appreciate your kind words about various outlets of our hotel. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and moreover, we are happy to hear that you liked the service first as complete satisfaction is our goal at Rixos Almaty.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you again as a regular guest and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I loved the Rixos Almaty - the atrium is stunning and the hotel was an extremely comfortable place to spend time. I had business meetings in the open atrium, which was lovely, and the staff were very welcoming. The bar was very expensive and I didn't experience the spa, but my room was beautiful and comfortable, and the food was generally really good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noplacelikehome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

As a five star property that prides itself on guests’ satisfaction and great service guests love, we highly appreciate your words of praise.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to hear your positive comments about our guest room comfort and especially food quality.

We are taking all your comments with serious concern and interest, especially the ones regarding the bar high prices. We have made a very good note of them and will take into account to improve our price policy.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and we hope to have the honor of hosting you and your guests again in near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
1 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#9 of 75 in Almaty
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Tulip Almaty
Royal Tulip Almaty
#10 of 75 in Almaty
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
0.7 mi away
Ramada Almaty
Ramada Almaty
#5 of 75 in Almaty
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Almaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Almaty

Address: Seyfullina 506-99, Almaty 050012, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Almaty
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
#2 Spa Hotel in Almaty
Price Range: £126 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Almaty 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Almaty, half a mile from Nikolai Cathedral. Rixos Almaty Hotel offers modern rooms with free Wi-Fi internet and a spa with swimming pool. All rooms at Rixos Almaty feature air conditioning, a desk and a balcony with impressive views. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower. A buffet breakfast is served each morning at Rixos Almaty. The restaurant serves international buffets as well as offering varied dining menus. The Lobby Bar & Lounge is open 24 hours a day, and guests can also dine at Wine Bar that has great selections of wines. The 23680 ft² spa also includes a gym, sauna, Turkish bath, indoor gardens and 7 massage rooms. Rixos Hotel is one mile from Almaty Opera House and 3 miles by cable car from Koktobe Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rixos Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Almaty Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing