We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be carefull”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rixos Almaty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos Almaty
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be carefull”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

I've never used to live in this hotel, but have an expirience of visit thier SPA. To be more precise my mom visit it once. Everything was nice inspite one not really plesant thing. She left her watches in the SPA gaun and discovered when came back home. She tried to contact them and get her wathces back, but without any result. Watches just disapeared. My recomedation to be very carefull and do not leave your belongings in public places in this hotel as you at risk that it will be never given you back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZarinnaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear ZarinnaMK,

As soon as I learned about your experience and comments regarding the lost watches of your mom, I am immediately writing to deeply and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience your mom has encountered. And I appreciate your taking the time to advise us of this inconvenience.

Taking your comments with full and serious attention, I would like to assure you that our Spa Manager together with Security Manager has personally and immediately conducted all necessary investigation works on spot as soon as your mom advised about it. But conducted investigation gave no results of the allegedly lost watches.

Needless to say, we always give the first priority to the safety of our guests and their belongings we do provide all guests and SPA visitors ‘personal safe boxes’ and encourage them to keep valuables in them as Hotel assumes no responsibility for lost items. However, in case something is left behind guests and retrieved by Spa or Housekeeping, it will be kept safe in our Lost & Found store.

I trust the action taken on your behalf will bring a sense of resolution and satisfaction concerning this matter.

Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    172
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
41
37
26
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed for two months at the Hotel with the family. Total comfort in Almaty. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is outstanding. the overall food quality is very good. The rooms are large and well appointed and really beautifully finished. We enjoyed a free upgrade which made the experience all the more unique. The facilities, in particular the Spa, the Gym and the Poll are outstanding. The lobby is a great inviting place with lots of space and light. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else the next time I have to be in Almaty. It's pricey, but then so are all hotels in Almaty.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Hans D,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much indeed for your warm and positive comments about our hotel services and facilities and most importantly for selecting our hotel as your accommodations of choice when you visited Almaty with your family.

We truly appreciate your kind words about our service level and our team members, who have great pride in delivering first-rate service. Our hotel takes great care in selecting its personnel. Once selected, employees are given intensive training in the art of coddling customers.

Our Brasserie Restaurant offers indeed great breakfast, with vast assortment and high quality food, designed by our French Executive Chef.

We are also pleased to hear that you felt comfortable in our classic designed hotel rooms, our spacious and open lobby area, and Spa facilities.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you again as a regular guest and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I ve been to this Hotel for a week of busines trip. I have chance to experience every sibgle service they give. As a matter of fact my business meetings were nightmare but the hotel itself was so recovering and refreshing that I woke up in full shape every morning.

For starters it is a bit higher priced than other places in Almaty but they deserve it with the quality and service standards. Breakfast buffet was really rich. The architecture and decoration were brilliant. Both exotic and still classy.

Rooms were big enough to work study and relax. TV channels were sufficient internet access was satisfactory. The spa pool and hamams were clean and cozy. The staff were really caring and the extra charges were not as expensive as I expected.

I ve not been Almaty before so I am not sure about the location but it took less than 20 minutes for me to reach my meeting destinations and the trip to airport was sth around 35 minutes.

There is a big green park next to hotel if you want to jog outdoors.

Room Tip: Lower floors gate side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eroltoksoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear eroltoksoy,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review about our hotel, we were delighted to read your sunny comments.

Rixos Almaty is striving to give business travellers the best experience, by setting a comfortable setting for all our guests. Therefore, it makes us proud to read that your stay with us made you relax. Furthermore, we truly appreciate your positive comments about our staff and team members, who take great pride in delivering first-rate service. Your comments have been communicated to all our team members, and were very well received.

Our Brasserie Restaurant offers indeed great breakfast, with vast assortment and high quality food, designed by our French Executive Chef.

We trust that our location is excellent for all travellers, as it is at the heart of Almaty and no more than 30 minutes is needed to get to your requested destination.

Your sentiments reflect what many of our guests comment on, and we trust that our specious rooms, atrium and large Spa with various features to be a great factor, which separates from most hotels.

We wish to welcome you again in our Hotel, in the warming heart of Almaty.

Sincerely Yours,
Makhmut Zharimbetov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

One week at Rixos, Almaty!
Very well taken care of by the friendly staff! Impressing breaksfest buffet, and a spectacular New year celebration in the greatest ballroom I have seen! Lots of very good food, drinks and entertainment! Our perfect guide took us to the famous Medeo, skihill, sircus, Kaz restaurants/pubs, bowling, markeds, churches, shoppincenters, skijumps etc! We loved it! People in Kaz are very friendly and easy to be with! We will come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in ar room facing the nice park and mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toril H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Toril H,

We were pleased to read your sunny comments about our hotel, we truly appreciate the time taken to write a review about Rixos Almaty.

We are delighted to receive positive feedback about our service and team members, who take great pride in delivering first-rate service.

Our brasseries Restaurant offers indeed great breakfast, with vast assortment and high quality food, designed by our French Executive Chef. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our New Year festivity and we trust that our 1100 sq.m ball room is a great factor to our property, which separates us from most hotels.

Again thank you for your comments.

Rixos Almaty would be honored to welcome you again in the near future.


Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

First time in Kazakhstan for a 3 nights business trip. First impression is great with this huge hotel built like one block and featuring opulent decoration.
Room on the park was comfortable and clean, with good equipment.
Good breakfast buffet (not at the level of Hyatt) and nice bar menu.
The big plus is the sport/spa center, with a huge swimming pool, avery modern gym and very nice sap incl. free Sauna, Tropical rain showers and steam bath, the whole thing in a very oriental atmosphere.
Overall, a very good hotel perfect for business travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the park and if possible at an elevated floor (above 3rd) for nice view and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Adrienne S,

Thank you for taken the time to write a review about our hotel, we trruly appreciate your feedback and comments.

We are glad to read that our surroundings contributed to a luxurious atmosphere, the rooms are indeed well equipped and we are delighted to read that it made your stay with us comfortable.

Our Brasserie Restaurant offers indeed good breakfast, with vast assortment and high quality food, designed by our French Executive Chef. Your comments has been taken seriously, and been descussed on the daily meeting.

Furthermore, our SPA is a great feature to our property, with several different saunas and our 25-meter swimming pool is indeed a great trait to our guests.

Again thatnk you for your sunny comments, we hope to welcome you again soon.


Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Arriving to Almaty I was told I am lucky to stay in the best hotel of the country. Unfortunately what I found was a room in the corner on the top floor with only one of the elevators working there and with virtually no view, internet absolutely not working and very run-down, old furniture. When I complained I definitely wanted a room with internet working I was first given a cable to connect to internet rather then wifi. It did not work either - and by then I was seriously upset, having spent over an hour trying to get roomed in. Finally I was offered a room on the 3rd floor that was a smoking room, which being a heavy non-smoker was hard to tolerate. The wifi was till immensely slow and the bathroom - like for a previous reviewer - got flooded when i used the shower cabinet. The hammam of the hotel gave some opportunity to relax finally. I would agree that the hotel is far overpriced and is not worth it unless somebody is in favour of show-off and everything covered with embellishment.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lili_Eu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms and Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear lili_Eu,

Thank you for the time taken to write a review about Rixos Almaty, however it is unfortunate to read that your stay with us was not up to your expectations.

We are grateful passing us the information that only one of the elevators was working, and we are glad to inform you that it has now been repaired.

We cannot overlook your comment regarding the Internet and it is with deepest regrets to read your Internet was not functioning properly at your stay with us. Your experience has been communicated to the IT department and action has been taken thereafter. It is unfortunate to read you had to spend over one hour to get roomed in, and we apologize for the inconvenience it caused.

Moreover, it was with guilt to read that you had to stay in a smoking room, when you are a none-smoker, and we understand it must have been difficult to tolerate. Your experience has been communicated to our team, and all necessary measurement has been taken to prevent these unfortunate episodes to occure again.

Also, we assure you that we are improving the showers in the rooms, as we are familiar with the shower flooding and is currently being maintained.

We are delighted to read that the Hammam was to your liking and that it gave you a relaxing time.

Again we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback, and we assure you that your comments will be taken with sincere interest and your experience communicated to the involved departments.


Sincerely Yours,

Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
623 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Felt really comfortable and relaxed at the Rixos almost immediately. The quality of the amenities reminds me of the ritz carlton. The service is impeccable with super friendly staff. The breakfast was excellent too. I will stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makhmut Z, Front Office Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Laurent G,

We were pleased to read your sunny comments about Rixos Almaty, and we appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about our hotel.

We are truly thankful for your positive comments about our service and team members, who take great pride in delivering first-rate service. Our Brasserie Restaurant offers indeed great breakfast, with vast assortment and high quality food, designed by our French Executive Chef.

Moreover, we were thrilled to read that you got a relaxing and comfortable feeling as you entered Rixos.

It is a pleasure to read that you will stay with Rixos Almaty again, and we would be delighted to be your host for your next visit to Almaty.

We trust to meet your expectations once again.

Again, we would like to thank you for your positive comments.

Sincerely Yours,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#10 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
0.7 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#6 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Tulip Almaty
Royal Tulip Almaty
#9 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Almaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Almaty

Property: Rixos Almaty
Address: Seyfullina 506, Almaty 050012, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Almaty
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
#2 Spa Hotel in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Almaty 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Almaty, half a mile from Nikolai Cathedral. Rixos Almaty Hotel offers modern rooms with free Wi-Fi internet and a spa with swimming pool. All rooms at Rixos Almaty feature air conditioning, a desk and a balcony with impressive views. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower. A buffet breakfast is served each morning at Rixos Almaty. The restaurant serves international buffets as well as offering varied dining menus. The Lobby Bar & Lounge is open 24 hours a day, and guests can also dine at Wine Bar that has great selections of wines. The 23680 ft² spa also includes a gym, sauna, Turkish bath, indoor gardens and 7 massage rooms. Rixos Hotel is one mile from Almaty Opera House and 3 miles by cable car from Koktobe Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixos Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Almaty Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing