We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, but a few downsides”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Eastern Astana International Hotel
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed for 3 nights while on business. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough. Room service was good quality, as was the breakfast and 'business lunch' in the cafe.
Free wifi in room, however you have to change your computers dns settings to get it to connect. I didn't find this a problem as I have a lot of experience with computers but I can imagine this would cause problems for others. I could not connect my smart phone as the phone was unable to change the dns settings, so another downside.
The toilet seat was broken (snapped connection where the seat is fixed to the ceramic). I suspect this had been broken for a while given the nature of the problem, but the cleaners would have to have noticed this and yet nothing had been done about it.
The worst problem by far was the official notice on the desk in my room that stated 'due to reasons beyond the hotels control, you have to turn the hot tap / shower on for 5-10 minutes before any hot will come out'. First shower was luke-warm, second was ok and the third took ages to heat up. Not very impressive and how can this be beyond the hotels control ???
Given the above, if I visit Almaty again, I would have to consider other hotels.....

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

Our tour company booked us in this hotel and our expectations were not high...but after staying here 3 nights our impression was quite different.

The hotel was built in Soviet times and is not in the "newest" part of the city but the area is fine and located next to the sports arena.

The current management has implement the best of European standards. The rooms have been refurbished, the beds comfortable, the rooms impeccably clean, the staff helpful, the WiFi fast and the food excellent. And unlike the other major hotels in the city, there is a new Metro located at the end of the block.

Included in room rate is free airport pickup (which is good since most flights arrive in the middle of the night) and a complete American breakfast each morning.

It appears the majority of guests are business people from Russia and the former Republics in addition to tourist from Europe and the Americas.

I would rate this a 3 Star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HikingLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Positives include: friendly, helpful staff; good wifi in lobby, location near major shopping mall, robe/slippers and nice towels. Negatives include NO hot water, limited food selection, limited bar service. I do think a 4 star hotel should have hot water.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Astana for three weekend between the 9 and 29th of June as a weekend retreat from business. The hotel was booked for by my company and it came reccomended by people who had used it previously.

As mentioned in previous reviews the hotel is clean and the standard of housekeeping is generally good. Where the hotel lets itself down is maintenance. Me and my colleagues had on a number of occasions cause to reoprt faults such as shower heads, air con, televisions and toilets. It took them over six hours to send someone to fix my toilet for what was a five minute job.

Staff were polite and by and large helpful. Most spoke a good standard of English.

The rooms are basic but are quite functional and I agree with a previous review who described them as 'boring'. We ate breakfast most mornings during our stay which is a standard buffet affair and nothing really to write home about. We ate one evening meal in the restaurant which was pretty bland and basic to say the least. However a couple of us had ordered club sandwiches on room service which were actually quite good!

The Gym is very basic and bordering on unsafe to use. It consists of a domestic style treadmill and a clapped out multi-gym, which is well over due a service. I notice on previous reviews it mentions free airport transfers and this is still the case. However we found out they NO longer provide this service. (This information is accurate as of 01 July 2012) It is still advertised on their website that they do.

In summary as a basic hotel for bed and breakfast it fulfills your needs. It is pricey for what it is and you would probably balk at paying the tariff in the UK or Europe. However as pointed out is is reasonable by Almaty's standards. If you need somewhere with more facilities then book somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for something that faces off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

For Almaty price level, this is a good option. I’ve been here for business purpose many times since 2007. Well located and easy accessible (parking is guarded, which is important option for the region). Airport pick up also functions well. Rooms are clean and spacey, but do not expect fancy interior – it’s simple, almost Soviet but of decent quality. Staff is very kind and hospitable. Breakfast is with limited choice, do not expect much. Altogether, good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilutinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It is not the worse place I have stayed but given the hotel prices in Almaty, it is actually a good deal. Not a fancy place, but clean, with helpful staff. Rooms pretty average and boring but clean and in good working order. Breakfast was a bit limited but staff very attentive. This is an acceptable place for a business stay of a few days but I wouldn’t take my wife to it. If you are looking for luxury and aesthetics go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreekElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The hotel offers free pick up from airport to hotel. This is great especially when you arrive late at night or early dawn, Stayed at the hotel to attend a conference at Atakent. Shuttle bus from hotel to exhibition centre. This is a business hotel so no extra facilities except for massage at the basement. I don't remember her name but she gives wonderful "sports" massage. Food in the restaurant was very basic but thankfully there is a mall nearby where food choices are plentiful (relatively). The staff were helpful and everyone spoke English.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stnll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Aiser Hotel
Grand Aiser Hotel
#52 of 75 in Almaty
56 reviews
2.9 mi away
Business Hotel Almaty
Business Hotel Almaty
#44 of 75 in Almaty
11 reviews
3.4 mi away
Donatello Boutique Hotel
Donatello Boutique Hotel
#30 of 75 in Almaty
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
MAQAN Hotel
MAQAN Hotel
#32 of 75 in Almaty
9 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Erbil
Grand Hotel Erbil
#50 of 75 in Almaty
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Almaty Hotel
Almaty Hotel
#18 of 75 in Almaty
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Eastern Astana International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Eastern Astana International Hotel

Address: 113 Baitursynov Street, Almaty 480072, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range: £34 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Eastern Astana International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Eastern Astana International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing