We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven in Almaty”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of D'Rami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
D'Rami
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven in Almaty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

After a three taxi affair to Almaty from Bishkek, we arrived at D'Rami tired and a little frazzled. However, the hosts overwhelmed us with the hospitality and help. Within minutes, they had offered us a drink, printed out our flights for the next day, organized an early taxi, given us dinner recommendations, and showed us to our awesome room. In addition, the hotel is perfectly located in an upscale area, close to Aroma, which had excellent Kazakh tea, and a street food stall with outstanding plov. We would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a clean, modern room, with an attentive staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therealngugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
16
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel was exceptionally clean and modern. room was a bit tight in size but adequate. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Couple of downs are rooms are literally in the lobby as there are only four. Although it was not generally an issue if it was busy outside the door it was a bit noisy. Most of the time it was not an issue. It is also a private back entrance with no identification visible from the main road. The hotel picked me up at the airport so they took me staright there. A taxi I used had to be given directions to get there. they can always call the hotel for directions so not that big of a deal. I would recomend this if in town a day or two.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

This is a small flat, kept clean, with firendly staff , but far from hotel - they are in fact nice hostel! They should advertise like this . And than they would be OK.
Except nice location and relatively frienddly staff it is not for recommendation !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flycatcher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

D'Rami is a minihotel: 4 rooms in a converted apartment on the second floor of a residential building (note that in Kazakhstan the ground floor is called the first floor, so although D'Rami is on the 3rd officially, you only need to climb two floors - no elevator). It's brand new, opened in spring 2012, and the design of each room is stylish and pleasant. 2 rooms have ensuite bathroom, the other 2 share a bathroom next to the 24-hour reception. In the rooms you have flatscreen TV with quite a few channels in several languages, minibar with some drinks and snacks, workdesk, really good and reliable wifi, comfortable beds. The bathrooms are stocked with dental kit, sewing kit, comb... the little things you may forget. I stayed there 3 nights, the first in an economy room without bathroom, the next two in an ensuite room behind the shared bathroom. Actually, although the added comfort of a bathroom was nice, I slept better in the first room, because I'm very sensitive to noise and woke up a few times when another guest turned on the light and the electric fan in the shared bathroom next door. I guess I could have got used to it eventually (the second night was better). This was the only slight discomfort for me, otherwise D'Rami is a delightful place to stay. It's a good location, walking distance to anywhere in central Almaty, there is a good supermarket at the corner, it's in a pleasant disctrict, and the owners are the nicest, friendliest people imaginable. They speak good English and are very helpful. During my stay, I wanted to do a trip to Tamgaly Tas: since there were no organised tours available that day, they took me there (it's a two hour drive one way, partly on a dirt road), brought a picnic lunch, and we spent a really nice day together, so if I could, I would give more than 5 stars for service. It's not cheap by European standards, but none of the good hotels are Kazakhstan are, so I think they offer good value for money. I would definitely stay in D'Rami again (actually I hope I will) and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I personally would choose the ensuite room that looks over the Ablay Khan avenue next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiloptaelanevemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.5 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
0.9 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#6 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
5.3 mi away
Saraichik
Saraichik
#15 of 72 in Almaty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#10 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador
Ambassador
#22 of 72 in Almaty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Voyage
Voyage
#13 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Rami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Rami

Property: D'Rami
Address: Abylay khana 123, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Rami 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your D'Rami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing