We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of D'Rami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
D'Rami
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just amazing! I've never meet such an fantastic Staff - from the owner to the driver, and of course the fabulouse team at the reception. They helped us with any kind of problem through our travel, even after our stay!. The D'Rami staff solved any problem. We just have to thank you for this. Beside this, the rooms are always clean, modern and comfortable, there are some englisch TV channels. A large and nice supermarket is just around the corner, the location is over all very good and most things are in walking distance. We wish there would be a Hotel like the D'Rami in any city in the world. We defintivly would come back to you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reaaast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

This cozy family owned hotel is actually a 4-room apartment, brand new with cool design and everything you need during your stay. There are 2 standard rooms with bathrooms and 2 rooms of economy class w\o bathroom. Make sure you select the right one and if you travel as a couple make the notes re double or twin beds while booking the room. The staff is very friendly and the hotel proposes 1 way transfer to\from the airport. When travelling on your own, don’t order an official taxi, get a private ride catching a cab on the street (bargain to 1 000 tenge, max 1 500 KZT!). Since the building is located in the very city center, you don’t have to include the breakfast in your stay, there are plenty of cafes and restaurants in a walking distance (go to “Le tartine” cafe only 3 mins away with real French chef ;) and there’s supermarket just downstairs where you can get anything to eat and to drink 24\7! Very friendly staff will help you to heat the food when necessary =) We will definitely stay there next time and suggest you book the room in advance.

I wouldn’t call it a minus but a comment for a very demanding visitor: since the place is operating for the first winter (surprisingly cold), air conditioner in the room didn’t survive the freeze so you’ll have to keep the window open for some fresh air and the street is a bit noisy. I guess the problem will be fixed during the low season. Oh, if you're too lazy to walk 3 floors up on foot, you should look for a bigger place with elevator.

I stayed in 5* hotel in Almaty, trust me - the quality is overrated! Look for a small boutique hotel like this one and you will get your value for money ;)

Room Tip: Check if the room is with bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Like previous reviews I would agree that it is a bit of a stretch to call this a hotel. More like an apartment guest house. We were glad we took the option of a free airport pickup otherwise I would guess it would have been hard to find - the owner picked us up in probably the largest 4wd car we have ever been in.
We stayed two full days and 3 nights here and booked directly with them. The cost was a bit high but then Almaty is an expensive place to stay. What made this place good for us was the lovely, friendly, helpful receptionist who was on duty most of our stay and answered our numerous questions and booked us a taxi to the airport (1,400). The location is excellent. We stayed in a very comfortable ensuite twin room and after our trip to China the bed was lovely and not hard as a board. No breakfast included in the price - $10 extra but we ate breakfast in the local cafes nearby.
My only real negative is that the shower water in our room was just luke warm and for the price we paid I would have expected more. I didn't get a chance to try the other shower room on our second day to see if the water was hotter as, due to local road works, there was no hot water at all. Also we had a different receptionist on our second night and our sleep quality was not as good due to her phone notification bird song and the constant ringing of the fax.
I would definitely recommend staying here although if I was in Almaty again I would personally go for the more budget option and try the new Backpackers Hostel which opened up recently in Almaty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilJackieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

If you book here please ensure you avail of the free pick up from airport or the taxi will not find it
You have to go in a small back door in a non description building
And there is no intercom!
It's two floors up a large stone stairs so not suitable for the elderly or infirm
Only four rooms with a 24 hour receptionist
Positives room is very nice
Good shower but you have to walk past reception
Good value in a dear city
Good general location
Ten to fifteen mins walk to hotel kazackstan
Negatives. Useless wifi despite many complaints
Intermittent and useless
Made organising stuff very hard
Phone worked fine in other wifi in city!
No breakfast
Unhelpful nite time receptionist
Stairs ,no lift
Draw your own conclusions!
Real Hotels are dear in this city though

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

After a three taxi affair to Almaty from Bishkek, we arrived at D'Rami tired and a little frazzled. However, the hosts overwhelmed us with the hospitality and help. Within minutes, they had offered us a drink, printed out our flights for the next day, organized an early taxi, given us dinner recommendations, and showed us to our awesome room. In addition, the hotel is perfectly located in an upscale area, close to Aroma, which had excellent Kazakh tea, and a street food stall with outstanding plov. We would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a clean, modern room, with an attentive staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therealngugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel was exceptionally clean and modern. room was a bit tight in size but adequate. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Couple of downs are rooms are literally in the lobby as there are only four. Although it was not generally an issue if it was busy outside the door it was a bit noisy. Most of the time it was not an issue. It is also a private back entrance with no identification visible from the main road. The hotel picked me up at the airport so they took me staright there. A taxi I used had to be given directions to get there. they can always call the hotel for directions so not that big of a deal. I would recomend this if in town a day or two.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This is a small flat, kept clean, with firendly staff , but far from hotel - they are in fact nice hostel! They should advertise like this . And than they would be OK.
Except nice location and relatively frienddly staff it is not for recommendation !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flycatcher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
5.3 mi away
Saraichik
Saraichik
#12 of 75 in Almaty
40 reviews
2.7 mi away
Almaty-Sapar
Almaty-Sapar
#34 of 75 in Almaty
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#9 of 75 in Almaty
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 75 in Almaty
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Uyut Hotel
Uyut Hotel
#23 of 75 in Almaty
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Rami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Rami

Address: Abylay khana 123, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range: £26 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Rami 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your D'Rami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing