We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option in Almaty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good option in Almaty”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nice. Hotel is well maintained. Like Almaty in general, it is expensive. Service is good to fair but never bad. If your staying in Almaty this is a great option upscale and comfortable. The breakfast Buffett is nice was included and worth it for me.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the InterContinental Almaty Hotel.

I was delighted to read your review and to see that you enjoyed staying at our hotel.
We certainly look forward to welcome you back to InterContinental Almaty Hotel, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    165
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
28
32
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,444 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Probably in another rcitunit would have just scored 3 out of 5 rating but, to be fair, the choice is very limited in Almaty so inspite of a bit oldish interior and perfectible service itis still one of the best in town. Nice view of mountains if you get a right room and great breakfest make it almost a pleasant place when you are there for business

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for writing your comment and recommending us on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely yours,
Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

First things first. This hotel is not cheap. However business travel never is and certain places are just more expensive than others.

I was originally and mistakenly reserved to have a smoking room the smell of which just about killed me. However the staff were excellent and quickly moved me to a lovely smelling and looking non smoking room.

The restaurant has a very good, multi cultural breakfast and lunch buffet. The breakfast can be made to be included into your room rate.

Even though the hotel has on site food the staff is happy to point you in the direction of other restaurants of which there are plenty nearby.

The lobby piano player is terrific!

The basement of the hotel holds the spa but even more fun a Persian Rug store. I'm never going to be able to afford 5 and 6 digit (US dollar) rugs but if you can this place sells works of art beyond what I would have expected.

Lovely hotel with a great location for business travel that made my first trip to Kazakhstan wonderfully enjoyable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dontwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Also we would like to thank you for recommending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunusstein, Germany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed here recently on a business trip and I must say that the hotel is very nice, the rooms are a good size, in excellent condition and very nice, but the service was not what you expect of a 5 star hotel.

I mean the service was OK, they were polite but not very friendly. I put this done more to the culture of the country and it is typical ex-soviet in this manner, but for the price you pay and the 5 stars they could do better.

The breakfast buffet was good, good quality and a good choice in a nice atmosphere.

The location is however not the best, it is a good 30-40 minute walk into the real centre of town for resaturants, bars etc. so that not so good.

What I did like was the Lufthansa and KLM check-in counters in the lobby. I have never seen this before and this was very good, although when I went to use one of them it was not working at that time (but was later). Although in the end it is just an ipad and a printer, but still a good idea.

Overall I would say that it was not worth the premium price you pay, and the location puts me off a bit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,


I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor with regards to your stay with us.

All your kind comments are greatly appreciated. I will certainly share your comments with our team, as your feedback is very important for us in the further improvement.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental hotel during your next visits to Almaty, Kazakhstan.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a conference which was held at the same venue. I loved it. I requested an airport shuttle and I found a gentlemen holding a sign with my name. I was greeted very well and the check in was just perfect. I got a free upgrade to mountain facing room since I am Gold Elite member and the service was superior. I was called by my name in the restaurant and front desk. The staff is amazing. The internet speed is very good and reliable across the hotel. I would strongly recommend this hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a great review of our hotel.
We are very happy to note that you enjoyed our restaurants as well as the excellent concierge service. Also we appreciate your feedback about reception desk which is very important for us for further improvement. Also we would like to thank you for rating our service as high quality and recommending us.
We look forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely yours,
Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel is definitely one of the best in Almaty. However, it is very expensive (similar to Moscow city centre). Breakfast buffet is great with extensive choice. Hotel is safe and secure and is centrally located for the City. There are great views of the mountains from the front rooms. Club rooms are very spacious and modern with access to a club lounge on the top floor. Service is excellent (as you would expect). Hotel offers a car transfer from the airport - but again this is expensive (approximately £25 each way)

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stays with us.
Also we would like to thank you for rating our service as excellent and recommending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

After some real dodgy hotels in other parts of Kazakhstan we could have retreated into the western style comfort of this hotel for a whole month, and not just the single night we had here. Room was immaculate, very modern, staff were incredibly attentive and couldn't have done more to help us, even with a tricky visa problem. Plenty of choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel and even it's own chocolate shop! Massive choice at breakfast, as you would expect from Intercontinental. It's a little way (maybe 15mins walk) from the main centre of Almaty, but there is a modern shopping mall nearby, as well as a big supermarket too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsKirbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your delightful review and for recommending us.
We are so happy to see you touched on all the points we pride ourselves on.
Your comments will be shared with our employees.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
1.0 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 72 in Almaty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#9 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
1.7 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#6 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Tulip Almaty
Royal Tulip Almaty
#8 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Almaty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Almaty Hotel

Property: InterContinental Almaty Hotel
Address: Zheltoksan St., 181, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Almaty Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 277 well-stocked deluxe rooms and spacious suites provides a breathtaking range of guest services and plenty of space to relax. Stylish, contemporary decor complements deluxe amenities, including luxurious bedding with feather comforters and cotton-rich linens. In your room: tilt-open windows, individual climate control, electronic "Do-not-Disturb / Maid" call system, LCD TV, pay-TV, mini-bar, tea & coffee facilities, in-room safe with a recharging plug, umbrella, iron and board. Telephones with voicemail allow direct dialing both internationally and locally. Each of our rooms has a large desk and high-speed Internet access, so you're able to be productive away from the office. Spacious suites are ideal for guests who need a bit more room to spread out, each with a separate sit-down beauty vanity counter and a separate living room with comfortable sofa and LCD TV. Guests staying in Club rooms benefit from access to the Club Lounge. Marble bathrooms are supplied with weight scales, hairdryer, magnifying cosmetic mirror, bathrobes, slippers and deluxe bath amenities. A separate shower cabin is a feature in every suite. All guests staying in the hotel have a complimentary access to The Ankara Spa. GUEST ROOMS - 203 Deluxe rooms - 49 Club InterContinental rooms - 13 Junior suites - 9 Exclusive suites - 2 Presidential suites - 1 Wheel chair accessible room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Almaty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing