We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still, the best hotel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still, the best hotel in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Have not been to the country in 6 years, but this is still a nice hotel - rooms, breakfast, spa, location. Liked the service as well (definitely improved, since my last visit a long time ago). Will definitely go back, if my travels bring me to Kazakhstan again.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for mountains view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bus_leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    164
    38
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
28
32
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marina Del Rey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights here and it was a delightful experience. For our second evening evening the concierge got us tickets for the ballet Red Giselle, at the opera house. Mesmerizing! And we had great seats. From our arrival, we relied on the hotels' cars instead of taxis. We did plenty of walking also, but there was a heatwave while we were there so we were glad for the air-conditioned comfort of the hotels' luxury cars and the safety of their drivers. A previous reviewer noted the safety of the hotel and now I know what he meant. They take a lot of security precautions there and it does feel safe.

Every staff member was helpful and courteous and friendly. The gym was excellent; just what I needed. I was pleased that there were coffee and tea making facilities in the room. I don't like to wait for my morning coffee. Also free bottled water and the mini fridge to keep it cold.

As I recall, the Wi-Fi reception in our room with rather weak and I had to go to the central atrium area to get a good connection. I don't recall if that was only occasional or if it's the way it was during our entire stay. But it was only a minor annoyance for me. It probably wouldn't be an issue for the rooms closer to the elevators. Aside from that, I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed by this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to submit your comments and review of your recent stay at InterContinental Almaty Hotel and for recommending us.
We are grateful to you for pointing out tea and coffee set-up in the room, health club, staff and service.
All your kind comments regarding Wi-Fi internet are greatly appreciated and very important for us in further improvement.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental hotel during your next visits to Almaty, Kazakhstan.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, MA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and kids and I lived in Almaty in the mid-1990s. I am on an extended assignment now in Aktau, at the other end of the country, but when my wife came to visit we went to Almaty for the weekend to visit old haunts and experience some greenery and cooler weather. The InterContinental opened just after we left in late 1996, though it was then the Ankara Hotel (built and owned by a Turkish group) and I think it went through a subsequent incarnation as the Regent. It is now actually the Intercontinental Ankara in Almaty, to give it its full name, and there is a little bit of a Turkish vibe, including the Efes beer garden and a Turkish restaurant, which we did not experience but is certainly something for a subsequent visit.

It is everything one expects of a hotel of this standard and price, but does not always get. The check-in and front desk/concierge service was courteous and efficient. The room was spacious, clean, and well-appointed, with first-rate toiletries. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Our room looked out on the Tien Shan mountain range as well as the in-town Koktobe hill with the radio/TV tower. After months in a hot, arid climate, the view of green hills and cool, snow-capped peaks was a tonic. I used frequent flyer miles for our stay so don't know what it would have cost. Certainly the in-house bars and restaurants are not cheap, but they're not breathtakingly expensive either.

The hotel is situated just off Republic Square, within pretty easy walking distance of much of the town - and Almaty is very much a walker-friendly city, with wide and shaded sidewalks. We did not experience the gym or pool or spa, since we spent our time going up into the mountains and walking around the city, but I imagine they are at least acceptable, if not stellar. It would have been nice if there had been an outdoor pool, but that is the only fault I can find.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking Republic Square and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckrakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Also we would like to thank you for rating our Front Desk and Concierge service as courteous and efficient and for recommending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I only stayed for a very short night, but the experience was awesome! From the welcoming with the option of tea/coffee and pastries, to the excellent breakfast variety. From the comfortable room to the cozy reception. From the friendly staff to their profesional service, everything was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a great review of our hotel.
I sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are so happy to see you touched on all the points we pride ourselves on.
We hope you will be back soon and give us the opportunity to provide you the great service again.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very comfortable hotel with great staff, always with a smile and greeting. Had a lovely room with a view of the mountains, superb way to wake as well as end the day. Enjoyed a couple of relaxing evenings in the outside bar - very nice. Handy to central Almaty, I walked pretty much everywhere. Great breakfast selection, hot foods, cereals, breads and sweets. Room service was prompt and couldn't fault the Club Sandwich I'd ordered - very tasty. Well equipped gym downstairs and indoor pool is a decent size. Yes the hotel is showing signs of middle age, but in no way did it detract from my stay. Would have no hesitation to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains. If they have available they can assign it for you. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your delightful review and for recommending us.
We are so happy to see you touched on all the points we pride ourselves on.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is a 5 minutes walk away from the main street.
Has all the facilities needed to make your stay comfortable and relaxed.
The spa center is really nice and offers a great pool, messages, sauna and Turkish baths free of charge.
The hotel has a few great restaurants and the service in all, including the lobby, is great.
The rooms are a bit outdated but still very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieBirman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending us here on TripAdvisor.
It was indeed pleasing to know that you enjoyed our SPA centre, restaurants and service.

Thank you once again and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit.


Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for as night and was pleased with the service. You need to get the views of the hills from the rooms you stay in. Staff were attentive with quite good English. Rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Certainly one of the best hotels in Almaty

Room Tip: Get as high as possible to get the mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your comments regarding your stay our Hotel.

We are happy that you are pleased with our service.

We will be glad to welcome you back again.



Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
1.0 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 72 in Almaty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#10 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
1.7 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#6 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Tulip Almaty
Royal Tulip Almaty
#9 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Almaty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Almaty Hotel

Property: InterContinental Almaty Hotel
Address: Zheltoksan St., 181, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Almaty Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 277 well-stocked deluxe rooms and spacious suites provides a breathtaking range of guest services and plenty of space to relax. Stylish, contemporary decor complements deluxe amenities, including luxurious bedding with feather comforters and cotton-rich linens. In your room: tilt-open windows, individual climate control, electronic "Do-not-Disturb / Maid" call system, LCD TV, pay-TV, mini-bar, tea & coffee facilities, in-room safe with a recharging plug, umbrella, iron and board. Telephones with voicemail allow direct dialing both internationally and locally. Each of our rooms has a large desk and high-speed Internet access, so you're able to be productive away from the office. Spacious suites are ideal for guests who need a bit more room to spread out, each with a separate sit-down beauty vanity counter and a separate living room with comfortable sofa and LCD TV. Guests staying in Club rooms benefit from access to the Club Lounge. Marble bathrooms are supplied with weight scales, hairdryer, magnifying cosmetic mirror, bathrobes, slippers and deluxe bath amenities. A separate shower cabin is a feature in every suite. All guests staying in the hotel have a complimentary access to The Ankara Spa. GUEST ROOMS - 203 Deluxe rooms - 49 Club InterContinental rooms - 13 Junior suites - 9 Exclusive suites - 2 Presidential suites - 1 Wheel chair accessible room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Almaty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing