We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Safari”
Review of Sentrim Amboseli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentrim Amboseli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I booked the dream of a lifetime for a safari it is something I have always wanted to do and Thanks to Trantrek Safaris this was made possible by there great rates and we stayed at this camp for a night that is I can only say breathtaking.

I would have been happy to stay there for the whole time but I am very pleased that due to the fabulous schedule that Transtrek Safaris put together we visited other breathtaking locations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordongwmatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Tents in the grass, wild animals around! It sounds like a scout camp.

But it is amazing paradise in dust savannah. Tents are like hotel rooms with all amenities. Rooms are very nice, clean and spacious.

The food was very good and there were plenty of choices. Staff are polite and helpful. Also cool pool area with bar and stunning views of Kilimanjaro.

Reasonable price drinks: beer 3 eur, bottle of wine 20 eur.

Absolutely the best lodge during our four days safari in Tsavo/Amboseli with Steve and Richard safaris. Overall very beautiful, cozy and safety lodge!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in December 2013. Since Amboseli National Park is a must-see and it's a bit off, you need a place to stay and this one's a good choice.

Prices are not higher than in any other hotel, and we booked early and got a (large!, clean!, comfortable!) tent with a morning view on Mt. Kilimanjaro.

Downsides: We felt much less welcome than closer to the coast (the welcome and much of the service was a bit cold, with the explicit exception of the bartender, he was just great). Also, they have this odd policy of turning off all the power about half the day, which is certainly okay during safari times but you need to keep that in mind when recharging your camera's batteries. Also, you will need the bottle of Doom provided, since the best way of getting rid of the mosquitoes, the fan, cannot be used all night.

Oh, and bring a flashlight if you frequently need to go to the washrooms at night!

Apart from that, expect a clean and cozy stay in the middle of the wilderness of one of the world's most beautiful places. We even heard elephants mating at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Wow. A proper safari isn't complete without a stay here!

The tent itself is amazing. Looks like your average tent from the outside, but as comfortable as a hotel on the inside - it's a tardis! There is ample space, and even has a proper dressing table, coffee table & chairs, and a cloakroom. The bathroom was a pleasant surprise, we wasn't expecting a top notch bathroom and power shower in a tent! It is also plenty secure and we didn't once have to worry about any bugs or creatures getting in. Fantastic!

The grounds are beautiful and it is lovely just to have a walk around in the light. There is a Kilimanjaro viewpoint and it can often be seen in the early hours and at sunset.

The restaurant and shop are great and the staff are wonderful, they are also not so 'tip happy' as other hotels and it is a much better environment.

The power is only on at select times, but they are more than adequate and don't hinder your stay. We were absolutely fine, that's even considering we had around 5 camera batteries plus phones and other electrical items that we needed to charge before bedtime! All these times are made aware from the start and is also shown in your bedroom so there's really no reason to get caught out.

The experience is like no other, and despite only staying there one night on safari; it's a night I'll'll remember forever. Be sure to go if you visit Kenya!

Room Tip: All of the tents are amazing, however it is easier to locate them in the evening if they are nearer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyKezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

During my safari tour, I was accommodated at Sentrim Amboseli. During 2 days and 2 nights that I stayed there, I was treated like a priced guest. Tents were as well furnished as any top quality bedroom. Cleanliness was beyond reproach. Food is healthy, tasty, in variety and authentically cooked. Service is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from swimming pools are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swamiji_drupad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

It was a spur of the moment to visit Amboseli for long 50th Kenya Anniversary Independance Weekend holiday so my friends & I decided to stay at Sentrim Amboseli.

I've divided the review of the lodge & park into headings.

Getting There:
We left at 7.30 AM in the morning from NBO and reached the lodge at 12 pm. The road leading up to the lodge is via main NBO-MBA highway. Roads are very good with exception of a few kms from the entrance to the Park (which is murram).

Lodge - the lodge isn't anything fancy but has a lovely rustic charm to it. The 1st impression upon reaching the lodge is sense of tranquility & relaxation. There's quite a no of rooms at the lodge, giving the visitor the option to select ideal one. It has nice pool, outdoor SPA, baby pool & Massage. There's well-equipped bar.

Rooms - Tent room is very spacious with comfortable, solid mattress to sleep on. Typically equipped with Kettle, fridge, beverages, mineral water.etc. Being a NP, electricity comes on for a few hours in a day powered by a generator.

Food - what i liked best about the Restaurant was Pizza/Pasta Station served during dinner ( & tasty it was too). There was Stir Frys, chapatis prepared fresh everyday as LIVE cooking. Like any other typical lodges, there's salads, soups, hot dishes like roasts/curries, fresh bread & desserts. You also have typical English breakfast. Overall, i found food quite tasty.

Service: The lodge, understandably, due to its location, has a high no of friendly masai staff.

Things to Do: Nature walk with experienced masai guide, visit to NP, swimming in the lodge pool / relaxing in outdoor SPA, visit to nearby real life masai village,.

Game: Testament to Amboseli being a Elephant Park, i saw herds & herds of mystic Ellies. Some came very close to the mini van as the pics prove to be the case. I also saw 2 lions, buffalos, giraffe, wildebeest, zebra & some herbivores. Although, Amboseli lacks the diverse range of game that is found at other popular NPs like mara & Tsavo, i was extremely excited & pleased to be "up close & personal" with Ellies. They came up so close to the Mini van, i could almost touch them !!

Overall: Compared to other popular hotel groups like Serena, Sopa,etc,,Sentrim is good value for money. I would recommend Sentrim Amboseli for a memorable safari trip. The downside of the lodge is the congestion of tents, they were close enough to listen neighbours chatting. Yep - that close !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEFANILARDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Sentrim Amboseli Camp is an excelent place to stay while visiting Amboseli National Park. Our tent was very big and clean, food is nice. Very good service and very friendly people. We could see Kilimanjaro from our back terrace!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylwia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
0.7 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
871 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
810 reviews
1.7 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
756 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
52 reviews
14.0 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#3 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Amboseli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Amboseli

Address: Amboseli National Reserve | P.O. Box 43436, 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: £112 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amboseli National Park lies immediately North West of Mt. Kilimanjaro, on the border with Tanzania. The park covers 392 km2 and forms part of the much larger 3,000 km2 Amboseli ecosystem. Large concentrations of wildlife occur here in the dry season, making Amboseli a popular tourist destination. LocationSentrim Amboseli, the latest in guest accommodation is located on the border of Amboseli National Park right next to Kimana gate. The entirely new 60 luxurious and comfortable deluxe tents are evenly spread out with fantastic view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, restaurant and bar lounge and a gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sentrim Amboseli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Amboseli Hotel Amboseli Eco-System
Amboseli Sentrim National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing