We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with incredible views!”
Review of Sentrim Amboseli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentrim Amboseli
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice stay with incredible views!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Sentrim Amboseli is located right outside the park gate, maybe a 4 minute drive. I was initially worried about us being far away. When we arrived at the camp we ended being put up in one of the 2 bedroom family houses. It was a very nice upgrade from a tent. We even had a fantastic porch facing Kilimanjaro. The food here was pretty tasty, they had the normal buffet, but they also had 3 stations making things to order every meal. Usually the best food was found at the station. During meal times there were a lot of birds to be seen, which was a real treat. There were even a couple of Hornbills. The grounds were nice, there was a short trail that lead to an incredible viewpoint of Kilimanjaro. The only issue I had with our stay here was there were NO BUG NETS in our room at all, there were also no screens on the window. Needless to say we got bit a lot! Also the power here is generated so there are some "no electricity times." They were while you would be sleeping though. I could see this possibly being an issue if it was really hot out and the fan shut off, but it wasn't hot at all while we were there. One upside for the power being shut off is that it is pitch black at night and you can see an incredible amount of stars. I highly recommend taking a peek after lights out!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    147
    41
    7
    6
See reviews for
77
182
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fougeres, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed one night at Sentrim Amboseli when we went on a four day safari organised by Transtrek Safaris early in December 2013. Sentrim was excellent. The accommodation was 'tented', which gave you the feeling of adventure, but with all the luxuries of a top class hotel. It was very clean and comfortable, and the food was great. It was in a beautiful setting, and the animals were close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

very good camp located just ouside the amboseli national park, with excellent rooms with many facilities. pool, exhaustive buffet.
and most of all the nature surrounding you on the view on kilimangiaro

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agogi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I booked the dream of a lifetime for a safari it is something I have always wanted to do and Thanks to Trantrek Safaris this was made possible by there great rates and we stayed at this camp for a night that is I can only say breathtaking.

I would have been happy to stay there for the whole time but I am very pleased that due to the fabulous schedule that Transtrek Safaris put together we visited other breathtaking locations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordongwmatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Tents in the grass, wild animals around! It sounds like a scout camp.

But it is amazing paradise in dust savannah. Tents are like hotel rooms with all amenities. Rooms are very nice, clean and spacious.

The food was very good and there were plenty of choices. Staff are polite and helpful. Also cool pool area with bar and stunning views of Kilimanjaro.

Reasonable price drinks: beer 3 eur, bottle of wine 20 eur.

Absolutely the best lodge during our four days safari in Tsavo/Amboseli with Steve and Richard safaris. Overall very beautiful, cozy and safety lodge!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in December 2013. Since Amboseli National Park is a must-see and it's a bit off, you need a place to stay and this one's a good choice.

Prices are not higher than in any other hotel, and we booked early and got a (large!, clean!, comfortable!) tent with a morning view on Mt. Kilimanjaro.

Downsides: We felt much less welcome than closer to the coast (the welcome and much of the service was a bit cold, with the explicit exception of the bartender, he was just great). Also, they have this odd policy of turning off all the power about half the day, which is certainly okay during safari times but you need to keep that in mind when recharging your camera's batteries. Also, you will need the bottle of Doom provided, since the best way of getting rid of the mosquitoes, the fan, cannot be used all night.

Oh, and bring a flashlight if you frequently need to go to the washrooms at night!

Apart from that, expect a clean and cozy stay in the middle of the wilderness of one of the world's most beautiful places. We even heard elephants mating at night.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Wow. A proper safari isn't complete without a stay here!

The tent itself is amazing. Looks like your average tent from the outside, but as comfortable as a hotel on the inside - it's a tardis! There is ample space, and even has a proper dressing table, coffee table & chairs, and a cloakroom. The bathroom was a pleasant surprise, we wasn't expecting a top notch bathroom and power shower in a tent! It is also plenty secure and we didn't once have to worry about any bugs or creatures getting in. Fantastic!

The grounds are beautiful and it is lovely just to have a walk around in the light. There is a Kilimanjaro viewpoint and it can often be seen in the early hours and at sunset.

The restaurant and shop are great and the staff are wonderful, they are also not so 'tip happy' as other hotels and it is a much better environment.

The power is only on at select times, but they are more than adequate and don't hinder your stay. We were absolutely fine, that's even considering we had around 5 camera batteries plus phones and other electrical items that we needed to charge before bedtime! All these times are made aware from the start and is also shown in your bedroom so there's really no reason to get caught out.

The experience is like no other, and despite only staying there one night on safari; it's a night I'll'll remember forever. Be sure to go if you visit Kenya!

Room Tip: All of the tents are amazing, however it is easier to locate them in the evening if they are nearer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyKezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
0.7 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
825 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
770 reviews
8.1 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
112 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
47 reviews
5.6 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Amboseli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Amboseli

Property: Sentrim Amboseli
Address: Amboseli National Reserve | P.O. Box 43436, 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amboseli National Park lies immediately North West of Mt. Kilimanjaro, on the border with Tanzania. The park covers 392 km2 and forms part of the much larger 3,000 km2 Amboseli ecosystem. Large concentrations of wildlife occur here in the dry season, making Amboseli a popular tourist destination. LocationSentrim Amboseli, the latest in guest accommodation is located on the border of Amboseli National Park right next to Kimana gate. The entirely new 60 luxurious and comfortable deluxe tents are evenly spread out with fantastic view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, restaurant and bar lounge and a gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sentrim Amboseli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Amboseli Hotel Amboseli Eco-System
Amboseli Sentrim National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing