We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the real deal”

Selenkay Conservancy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Masai-owned conservancy and safari camp near the Amboseli National Park.Selenkay Conservancy shares the same eco-system as Amboseli National Park and is established on land leased from the local Maasai by Gamewatchers Safaris & Porini Camps with the aim of protecting the wildlife habitat and encouraging wildlife conservation as an alternative to farming as a means for the local population to earn a living. Migrating species from Amboseli previously killed or driven off land set aside for farming are now able to make the conservancy their home. Recent years have witnessed a significant increase in wildlife numbers with elephants returning to Selenkay after a 20 year absence.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“This is the real deal”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I had always wanted to go on a real safari, and the conservancy model allowed me to do that without getting caught in a crush of tourists. At Selenkay, our vehicle was the only one we saw for three days. We saw lots of animals, and they were not stressed at all. When you see a dozen giraffes loping freely, you know you have really hit the jackpot.
The guides were really the key to the whole safari experience. Really expert, good teachers, with a sense of humor. They knew it all at a glance.
i would recommend either the Selenkay or Ol Kinyei experience to anyone who want to see the real Africa. It's still there. Go and see.
Jim F, London

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A quiet, exclusive conservancy.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We saw male Wildebeest fighting, many giraffe and much more from beautiful high viewing points over gina and tonic at sundowners/

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whirlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downderry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How to Celebrate your 70th Birthday”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This, really was the Holiday of a lifetime

Our party consisted myself, my son & daughter in law & my grandchildren of 12 & 10. (Jenny had her birthday there)

We spent 2 nights in each of our chosen camps -Selenkay, Mara Porini camp & Porini Lion Camp. Each very different, but equally wonderful.

Everyday gave us one fantastic wildlife experience after another & we all felt so amazed at everything we saw.

Each camp was first class & all the staff , especially our drivers & guides became extended family. Food was freshly prepared no good being on a diet whilst you are there!

You can read all the reviews & everyone says the same thing. Jenny's 10th birthday she will never forget as she got to be Copilot for the trip between camps (not really of course) & had her own Masai celebration in the evening with all the staff at camp + the Chocolate elephant cake ,quite wonderful.

During our visit we asked to go to a local Masai school, where we learned that children have to pay for their education (often a great hardship for parents) & that they all walk often as much as 15kilometers each way to get to school .We joined in the mornings classes & were overwhelmed by the childrens' zest for learning when all they have is a tiny notebook & a pencil & very dedicated teachers. They are desperate for easy reading books(in English) so could I make a plea to anyone going in the future please just take with you one (or more if you can) very simple book with lots of pictures. They are so needed.

I will happily give anyone more details.

It really was the trip wonderful , my grandson has promised to take us all back there when he has enough money!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrismarysouthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma CIty, OK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A small conservancy but full of wildlife”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Porini camps I believe are the only camps using Selenkay.
Because of this their vehicles are allowed to travel anywhere on the Conservancy bringing the wildlife closer for viewing. Due to a lack of water during certain times of the year, only the area closer to the camps have good wildlife viewing. The camps provide watering holes within 15 minutes of the camps which keep the wildlife during the dry season near by. If you are a bird watcher this is the place for you. I've never seen so many species of birds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank okietraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Eco camping with lots of wildlife watching.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Porini camping is eco-friendly, with amazing and enthusiastic staff. Not only do they cater for visitors excellently, with welcome drinks and flannels, you get 3 course meals, tea and cakes etc. The wildlife watching is unsurpassable. The jeep provides a great view with open sides, standing room, and the staggered seats mean you can also see out the front. It's also far more comfortable than we were led to believe. They provide a driver and a second spotter, and we were so lucky to see all the big five, including a family of 5 cheetahs. We had time to observe the animals behaving naturally e.g. grooming, hunting and mating as well as cubs playing. It was great to fly onto the second campsite, as the roads are quite bad, and take a lot of time from your safari otherwise. We also had 2 sundowners, with a night-drive return to camp. The tents were very comfy, and it was a great adventure having a 25l bucket-shower with it's own cubicle. Flushing loos, a deep mattress made up with sleeping bags, made it a very comfortable experience. After witnessing some of the other vehicles around, we realised it's so important to have a 4x4 JEEP and the ability to see and photograph everything.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank verneEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Selenkay Conservancy also viewed

Amboseli National Park, Amboseli Eco-system
Amboseli National Park, Amboseli Eco-system
 

Been to Selenkay Conservancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing