We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great safari in Amboselli”
Review of Satao Elerai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Satao Elerai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The second stop on our trip was to stay at Satao Elerai over near Kilimanjaro, and it did not disappoint. The view from our tent of Kili was fantastic, and the tent was first class, as was the fold and guide. Kilimanjaro was visible to us everyday, and it ws amazing. The food at Satao was excellent, with a blritish style to it, the fresh fruits, dinners and drinks were top notch. Our guide George was pleasant, knowledgable, and accommodating to our wanting to stop frequently to take pictures. As for Amboselli, WOW late June when we were there was prime season for elephants and we had to see 400-500 over just 2 days in the park.

We had the pleasure of getting a private sunset happy hour on a near by hill with our driver George, and what seemed like our personal waiter and the view was to die for !

Room Tip: As with any tented stay, the closer to the lodge the better, but they are all close so no real probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent three 2 nights there and so many great souvenirs for the whole family:the amazing view of Mt Kilimanjaro the morning, the walk in the surrounding dry river with a great guide, the sunset on the top of a surrounding mountain, the noise of the animals the nights.

Excellent food and warm welcome of the personnel fully adhering to this eco-system/community project.

The only regret is that we have not stayed longer...

Some tips:
-Ask Wilfried to accompany you for a walk of the camp surrounding. He is passionate, share his great experience of the jungle...The children really loved him!!
-Ask your driver to take the dedicated road from Amboseli park to Satao Elerai camp. The road is a bit bumpy but great experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frarou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent four nights here and enjoyed every minute. On the second day we were able to go into Amboseli Park (half an hour away) one afternoon and early the next morning using the same 24hr ticket. But we spent a lot of time just enjoying the camp's surroundings, by sitting on the terrace and watching the water hole 400m away and all the different animals that came to drink. At one time we had a herd of 19 elephants there. We love bird watching and spent hours watching the many species of colourful birds and identifying them. You can't walk outside the camp so our exercise was restricted to walking within the camp and swimming. But we also made a game drive (we had our own hired car) and saw elephant, kudu, giraffe and bushbuck just within the conservancy. Everything positive written by other recent viewers is true; the food is delicious and you get a choice; the service from all the staff is excellent and friendly. The main lodge is brilliantly designed and decorated; there is a lounge with a fire in the evening, a bar, an upper sundowner terrace, and of course the main dining area and terraces that have the vast views across the Amboseli Plains. The 7km track that led to the camp was extremely rough and uneven, and had to be driven slowly. I have driven on this kind of track before but would have liked to be warned before I arrived! Oh, the tent and it's facilies were top rate. Killimanjaro showed itself properly on our last day, so for this and many other reasons we were so glad we had stayed the four nights. If you stay only one night, as many people did, you may miss many a treat!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent one night here. Wish it could have been more. Wow. The architecture is amazing. The tents are something else. Clean, comfortable, power 24hrs. Woke up in the morning with a view of Mt Kilimanjaro! The tents are surrounded by nature, with guards to escort you to and from your tents. There were only 4 of us staying here at the time, staff and management were all accommodating and friendly. Food excellent. Took a nature walk with a masai guy which was very informative. Thank you to all staff and management for a great stay.

Room Tip: We had the tent at the end of the longest path which is totally surrounded by nature. Power 24hrs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had 2 nights here and I recommend anyone who is staying here to see Kilimanjaro to stay for at least 2. The whole first day and night the mountain was covered in cloud but afternoon on the second day it cleared right up to give us a perfect view.
The food was so delicious. Probably the best food I had at any safari camp.
Staff were very helpful and happy.
Our first breakfast here was made more special by some elephants that came up for a drink right next to the pool.
Also at our 2nd dinner there was some kind of cat/possum thing that was hanging around for food. It was so adorable with a long black and white tail.
The pool at Satao is amazing. I dont think there would be a better view from a pool anywhere in Amboseli.
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Satao Elerai was mine and my friends' choice for our 2nd night of safari at Amboseli...none of us had tried this camp bfore and we didn' t know what to expect. I must say that we been very lucky to choose this camp looking at it on internet (including tripadvisor) beacuse it is just incredible...it is deeply surraunded by nature and it is easy to see animals close to the restaurant..the tents are confortable,clean and beautiful..the food is good and Ryan the manager is v nice..i have to spend also a word for the staff which is very kind expecially a masai young guy who used to get us to the tents at night..tnk you!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jack87cn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed 1 night at Elerai Camp adjacent to Amboseli National Park. Flying in comfort and style with Scenic Air Safaris saved so much time and I was met with friendly faces and refreshments before embarking on a wonderful game drive seeing many groups of elephant and a large variety of other game en route to the Camp. Elerai is rustic, charming and my room was excellent; facing the mighty Kilimanjaro I could lie in bed or lounge on my verandah staring at that majestic mountain - breathtakingly beautiful. Make sure you include Elerai on your next trip. The lodge, the staff, the Masai, the wildlife, the mountain - nothing should be missed.

Room Tip: make sure you face the mountain - it is breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahaylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
5.5 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
377 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
871 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#3 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
345 reviews
12.6 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
756 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tawi Lodge
Tawi Lodge
#8 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satao Elerai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satao Elerai

Address: 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: £140 - £648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Satao Elerai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unsurpassed views in every direction, coupled with a truly unique camp designed and built from local materials, gives the discerning traveler the chance to experience the flavour’s and romance of real Africa at its very best. Satao Elerai aims to ensure that all its clients not only receive the perfect safari, but also experience a level of comfort and luxury that would be difficult to find elsewhere in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Satao Elerai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satao Elerai Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing