We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMBROSELI ELEPHANTS”
Review of Tawi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tawi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“AMBROSELI ELEPHANTS”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is a special place..
When Kilimanjaro came out to play - Outstanding..
Incredible visits from so many different animals at the watering hole.
Entrance to the individual Lodges with tent door a great twist on design - bathroom fabulous views.. We had hot water for the whole weekend...

Our wildlife guide LET was exceptional .... Such knowledge and patience..
This enabled us to listen to the wildlife story on what was happening or going to happen !
17 years of experience in Ambroseli working, knowing the names of some elephants, humbly mentioning rubbing shoulders with Cynthia Moss, Jonathan Scott(Big Cat Diary), Michael Palin, David Attenborough and deceased Steve Irvin!

Another highlight was a visit at our request, to visit a Maasai village... Let arranged for us to go to Lemongo Village .
It was informative and detailed, full explanations of the way they live... Lovely people living totally eco.........Great to do.
Thanks

Room Tip: All creative and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
65
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

woke up that morning and took a shower , good hot water , maybe another reviewer was just unlucky , opened the door of the batroom to the private terrace ....great view at the wonderfull Kilimanjaro , and a family of elephants at the wterhole 10 meters from me....what can i say more , probably spoiled a lot of water but took the most fanatstic shower ever.
breakfast , lunch , dinner , lets not forget the sundowners and the drinks at the open fire , i love the place .
you nearly forget you came here for a game drive.
when all the game you see around the lodge one could ask himself if you really wants to get out .
rooms perfect , service very good , wines choice exelent , gardens , cars ,staff , trying to find a minor thing to complain ..can`t find . ok the nature is less specacular than the Mara , but the lodge , the Kilimanjaro and the absence of thousands of tourists makes Tawi one of my favorit places in Keny.
Thanks Dominique , it was our second stay , will no be our last .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STONNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Tawi Lodge was a great start to our Safari. You can look out of your room and see giraffe, elephants,zebra & baboons at the watering hole, and Mount Kilimanjero, with snow on top. Wow. Good food and Phillip took us for a walk in the bush and we came around a bush and giraffe standing right in front of us. Thank you to the entire staff at Tawi for starting safari adventure, we hope to return again soon.

Kit & Gary

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Positives:
+ Amazing food
+ Wonderful location
+ Watering hole is beautiful
+ Rooms are very nice, with views of Kili

Negatives:
- Minor issue with hot water to rooms
- Pool was out of action while we were there - I'm not convinced by the organic nature of the pool with weeds etc growing in it...

Overall a fantastic lodge with great staff and guides - particularly good food!

Room Tip: Great location and rooms - amazing food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alibobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

An amazing place, you literally dont need to do game drives once there, the quantity and variety of game that visits the water hole 10m from the pool is amazing, pamper yourself and watch huge tuskers a few meters away while getting a massage! Its a seriously wonderful experience to be so close to animals while relaxing. The lodge itself is gorgeous, all baths/showers/toilets etc face Kili, and the morning views are spectacular, and due to the layout never seems busy, even when full, The food is excellent, and service friendly. Game drives are great, no need to go to the park itself, unless you really want to, morning game walks are wonderful, with plenty of game around.
I have stayed at the lodge 2x already this year and will return again, which is not something I can say about many lodges. I have become friends with the owners, as a result of me staying there, however its only because it is so nice that i returned, I would unreservedly recommend the lodge to anyone wanting a trip to Amboselli. see www.wildpix.net for shots.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wildpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
806 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Where to start... the rooms are wonderful with nice furniture, a large bathroom and a tub with a view of the Kili (at least Bahati) nearly all the time we had wonderful game view from our terrace (giraffes, elephants, zebras...)with the one caveat that in our room the warm water took a long time to come. You have a safe, a minibar (both included) nice bathrobes all in african colours. Very nice and relaxing.
The service was not fully professional but where it shone was in the personal attention. That was clear in comparison to Mara Bushtops where the professionalism is higher but not as personal as in Tawi.
The setting for the menus is wonderful, you have a perfect view of a waterhole where all kinds of animals come together, so game vieweing can be done while enjoying your meal. You can also do this having a swim in the pool (be careful, slippery) while one of the waiters brings you a beer or a glass of wine. The food is good but nothing special or fancy but they deliver even Thai cusine in the true style. And it is plenty.
They do have a conservancy right next to the place so the evening game drives had more or less a guarantee to see all kinds of plant eaters (no big cats) and it was wonderful to be driven and guided by a very knowledgeable and friendly Let and have a nice sundowner (food and drinks aplenty) surrounded by Giraffes, Elephants and Zebras. If you are there do not miss out Bahati, the tame antelope they have at the Lodge, it likes to be cuddled.
I stronly recommed staying at least three nights, to enjoy everything (including a Boma on one of the evenings) and have some time to relax. Some people say it is a disadvantage that you are not in the park so you have to drive to get in, imho the conservancy makes more than up for this.
Dominique, the manager was more than helpful, Swiss managed to lose one piece of baggage from us, she took more than good care and settled eveyrthing. A small lode with a wonderful personal service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

This lodge is the second run by husband and wife team - the other being in the Mara. They have clearly taken a lot of lessons learnt and experience when designing the layoutl. Relaxation has been approached with scientific discipline, with the environment engineered with German precision to ensure maximum enjoyment. As an example - every conceivable spot faces Kilimanjaro - from the shower which you can open to the outside park, to the view from your bed.

The lodge is outside the park - but is in a conservancy - meaning it is full of game - but the lodge is able to offer additional treats unavailable in the park such as safari walks and night drives (ask and you will be able to steer the lamp yourself). The park is a short drive.

The staff were excellent - dietary preferences were noted without any need for repetition; sundowners drinks were high class. Mealtime windows don't exist at Tawi - you get asked at what time you would like to take your meals and cater for you.

The location of the lodge to a watering hole, means that you have a elephants feeding from a water hole only 15m from you most of the day.

Get a booking in at this lodge - when word spreads (it is relatively young) it will be near impossible to secure a booking.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickeyKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
2.9 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
355 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
799 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
218 reviews
10.3 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
718 reviews
16.3 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#5 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tawi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawi Lodge

Property: Tawi Lodge
Address: Bush Street | P.O. Box 1206, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tawi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tawi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tawi Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing