We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lodging and Guide!”
Review of Tawi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tawi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed there in August 2012--it is absolutely charming. The cottages are so wonderful with enclosed showers and bathroom--you just have one step down to the tiled services with two sinks and lots of space.... The bed area is great although the bed is a bit hard if you are not used to that type of feeling. Still I loved it--it has electric lights where you sleep, bath, and in the main lodge where you dine or hang out. (some lodges do not)

Ron, the manager is charming and interested in pleasing the guests. George (Ambe) our guide and driver was probably the best guide we've ever had. He goes the distance and then some. He anticipates your needs, is a great spotter--always gets a great position quickly where the animals are so you can get the best photos. He shows an amazing attention to detail -- so unusual in this day and age. I can't say enough about him.

Then only thing that could use improvement is the food, although both lunches we had--the grilled NIle Perch the first day and the spinach ravioli the second day was great--the dinners were not that good. The chef needs a bit more excellent meals that are fresh and not too salty or spicy. We needed to say "No salt" to most of the food throughout Africa--where the custom of using A LOT of salt is prevalent.

The BBQ was ok, but if there are vegetarians at the lodge--it is probably not a great idea to make the pasta with eat--the more vegetarian side dishes everyone can eat--the better. The same with soup--if you are making a tomato soup--why not use vegetable broth base instead of meat so everyone can have the same soup? It's silly to have to make a second soup for a few people...just a bit of home economics and common sense. I asked for more lettuce at the BBQ--many of the sides were empty bowls--and it took fifteen minutes to get some more. I think food should be a bit more plentiful on a buffet and sit down dinners should have a few choices in case someone does not care for the menu.

The staff is excellent--they make sure you get what you need and have wonderful personalities.

We had a great time --if they step up to increase variety and amount of food on their buffets and add some more meals with fresh, healthy non-salty choices for dinner--this place would be the number one choice in Amboseli! And I think it will happen, because they really care about the guests!

The grounds are lovely and the pool with lounges, is next to a fence where the other side is a watering hole so you get to see many animals up close as they drink--giraffes, zebras..etc....

And from your hut, by the pool, or eating in the dining area you get a wonderful view of Mt. Kilimanjaro--nice!

This camp is small, personal and wonderful!

Don't miss the opportunity to experience this place.....and Amboseli, before going on to the Mara.

Room Tip: All of the huts seem lovely......there aren't many, and they are in a row so I'm sure it do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

Located just outside the park. Fantastic place. You will enjoy a kilimanjaro view from your luxury lodge in tastefull African style. Giraffes, elephants and zebras will be seen from the lodge as well. Service is very good and friendly. Food is good. Three out of four in our family is vegetarian, this was not a problem at all. All four of us have eaten very well. We were there with two kids age 5 and 7.
Ron is an excellent host. He and his excellent staff will make you feel special and vey welcome.

Park Amboseli is great, and an unforgettable experience.
Family de Krosse
The Netherlands

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank markd985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Tawi lodge has a great location (outside park on a private concession, you actually don't want to stay in the park since traffic can get too busy) and very helpful staff. Each cottage has amazing views of Kilimanjaro which is a nice touch to already fascinating game drives. The lodge offers high level of comforts, very good guides with open vehicles that make your game drives very different experience from most of the other park visitors and you will soon notice that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeljka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

First of all a very nice resort. Exellent staff, wounderfoul cabins. Very butifull sorundings, with the best view to mt. Kilimanjaro. A place to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I visited the Lodge in September on a two-day trip to Amboseli. This was a luxurious, well-run lodge with, as other readers having described, the elephants and other animals present directly in front of the lodge at a watering hole. Rooms were gorgeous, the guide knowledgeable. Dominique, the Swiss manager of the lodge, was very responsive to my emails in advance of my stay. I would strongly recommend a stay here if traveling to Amboseli, which I would recommend (in addition to the Masai Mara).

Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
4  Thank Seth20005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is a special place..
When Kilimanjaro came out to play - Outstanding..
Incredible visits from so many different animals at the watering hole.
Entrance to the individual Lodges with tent door a great twist on design - bathroom fabulous views.. We had hot water for the whole weekend...

Our wildlife guide LET was exceptional .... Such knowledge and patience..
This enabled us to listen to the wildlife story on what was happening or going to happen !
17 years of experience in Ambroseli working, knowing the names of some elephants, humbly mentioning rubbing shoulders with Cynthia Moss, Jonathan Scott(Big Cat Diary), Michael Palin, David Attenborough and deceased Steve Irvin!

Another highlight was a visit at our request, to visit a Maasai village... Let arranged for us to go to Lemongo Village .
It was informative and detailed, full explanations of the way they live... Lovely people living totally eco.........Great to do.
Thanks

Room Tip: All creative and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nichola618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

woke up that morning and took a shower , good hot water , maybe another reviewer was just unlucky , opened the door of the batroom to the private terrace ....great view at the wonderfull Kilimanjaro , and a family of elephants at the wterhole 10 meters from me....what can i say more , probably spoiled a lot of water but took the most fanatstic shower ever.
breakfast , lunch , dinner , lets not forget the sundowners and the drinks at the open fire , i love the place .
you nearly forget you came here for a game drive.
when all the game you see around the lodge one could ask himself if you really wants to get out .
rooms perfect , service very good , wines choice exelent , gardens , cars ,staff , trying to find a minor thing to complain ..can`t find . ok the nature is less specacular than the Mara , but the lodge , the Kilimanjaro and the absence of thousands of tourists makes Tawi one of my favorit places in Keny.
Thanks Dominique , it was our second stay , will no be our last .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
2.9 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
392 reviews
16.3 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#3 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
352 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
930 reviews
28.4 mi away
Great Plains Conservation ol Donyo Lodge
Great Plains Conservation ol Don...
#9 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
149 reviews
10.3 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tawi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawi Lodge

Address: Bush Street, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: £491 - £503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tawi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tawi Lodge consists of 13 en-suite cottages all situated to face Mt. Kilimanjaro Each cottage has its own wooden-deck veranda and a fabulous view of the highest mountain in Africa, even from the comfort of your bed or your bathtub. Double or twin cottages, all have ensuite bathrooms fitted with both a bath and shower. A fireplace and a minibar for those very special sundowners will make you enjoy even more your stay. Lighting and water systems are powered 24h thanks to solar power, this system is backed-up by a generator to ensure you will always have total comfort All bathrooms have hot/cold water, flush toilets, bath and shower and shampoo/conditioner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tawi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tawi Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing