We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely place, lovely management” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tawi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tawi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely management”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Tawi. From arrival to departure, everything worked perfect. Ron, the general manager, gives a figure to the lodge. He was friendly, explanatory and made our stay a memorable one. Panian, our maasai guide, was a lovely personality. We had wonderful walks around the lodge with him. As an advice, if you have a maasai village visit, don't return to lodge with the car and have a walk with Panian from the village to the lodge. Our guide, Dominic, was also great. We had near perfect game drives with him. He was respectful, helpful and knowledgeable. We had nice chats during our game drives with him. Titus, the headwaiter, was helpful and friendly. The food was great. All the staff made their job very well. The rooms were comfortable, all facing to Kilimanjaro. There was a busy waterhole just front of the main building. Nearly every time there were some animals at the waterhole, including elephants, zebras, giraffes etc. There was a small natural swimming pool. We wanted to swim with the fishes in it, but the weather was cold, so we couldn't. Maybe this was the only disapointment for us about our stay. The lodge is in a conservancy near Amboseli NP. İt takes 5-10 minutes from the lodge to the gate of Amboseli. But as there is no fence around the park, you can still see some animals on the way, especially giraffes and ele's. It is an ecofriendly lodge. Also some part of the money you paid is going to the community and conservancy, which means you are being a part of conservation of the wildlife. This is a good thing to know, as all african wildlife, especially elephants, is in great danger because of poaching. As a last word; what makes a place memorable and great, is the management and the staff. Tawi proved it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
64
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Tawi Lodge is beautiful, the grounds are amazing, the staff is superb, ready to offer every convenience and comfort. As mentioned by others, the emphasis on environmentally appropriate practices and accommodations sets this lovely property apart from other lodges. A welcoming manager, Ron, and friendly staff made this property a wonderful introduction to Kenya for us. Our guide Julius was delightful, knowledgeable, and shared our wonder at the sights of Amboseli, its animals, birds and ecosystem. The food was outstanding (as we told the staff, we thought it rivalled many excellent restaurants in San Francisco). Welcoming touches included coffee, hot chocolate or tea delivered to our room in the morning, and chilled white wine in the rooms. We were treated to a wonderful "sundowner" experience with Julius, a highlight of our trip, along with the nature walk by another Julius, introducing us to spoor, plants and hiking among giraffes and baboons.
We recommend Tawi Lodge without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago/Midwest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent two nights at Tawi Lodge and even though Kilimanjaro was fogged in we enjoyed our stay immensely. Tawi is a beautiful, comfortable, amazing property. It is made even better by Ron, the manager. He greeted us immediately upon arrival and made us feel like we were long lost relatives. We felt welcome from the opening minute. The little cottages were cozy and comfortable and the grounds were beautifully landscaped. Each evening we had a beautiful fire in the fireplace in our cottage. The food was delicious. On the second night of our visit, dinner was in the Boma. It was beautiful with all of the lanterns burning, candles on the tables, and native dancers from a nearby village. A traditional feast was prepared by the chef.
If we were to return to this area of Africa again I would certainly make sure to stay at Tawi Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cahodk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Tawi Lodge in January.
The service was excellent, the rooms are beautiful.
Our guide George was very nice and helpful.
The private breakfast with view of the Kilimanjaro and also the dinner beside the fire: just wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at Tawi Lodge for 2 nights and wish it was 2 weeks (or may be 2 months). Tawi is an Eco-friendly lodge which is a VERY different approach than the "big-chain" and dime a dozen accommodation offerings in Kenya such as Mada Group, Sopa hotels etc. Their concepts are very refreshing; for example they use soaps, shampoos etc that are made out of Thyme, sage, lavenders and other herbal products. The Swimming pools has real live fishes in it and it gives you the feeling of swimming in a real stream vs. a chemical-soaked bleaching tub.

My honest word of advice is that if you are looking for a big buffet spread, 3 swimming pool, 3 to 4 restaurant style accommodation then Tawi Lodge may not be your “thing”. They bring freshly cooked 3 to 4 courses of meal (smaller portions) out and that’s what you get to eat….. The staff gets a strong commandment too. They pay a lot of attention to the needs of their guest and are very accommodating.

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing view of Kili
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Trvlr1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

A 2 night stay in a very comfortable lodge - very large and luxurious rooms with wonderful views of Kilimanjaro. Set in its own conservancy, an eco-friendly lodge with a very attentive and enthusiastic host, Ron, who helps you to get the most out of your stay...an ex chef himself, he has a keen eye on the food and our first night barbecue was excellent. The morning walk at 7am in the immediate area with Julius, the Masai warrior, was quite magical as he pointed out the footprints and habitats of the all the wildlife.....a wonderful start to the day which I can't recommend highly enough (and it is included in the price!) George was our guide on the game drive in the Amboseli park and he clearly cared about the preservation of this special place - we came across some hideous human behaviour in neighbouring mutatus whilst watching the magical behaviour of cheetahs....he agreed that we would move on and leave the human 'animals' to it, and we sought a quieter place...........tis a pity that Amboseli is getting so popular and the number of vehicles crowding around the cheetahs was a bit disturbing, but George led us to quieter and more beautiful spots.....it was lovely to return to the lodge and enjoy the more local wildlife in the peace and tranquility that it deserves....well done Tawi lodge for preserving this special place - long may it continue!

Room Tip: All are good, but choose ones a little further from the main building to get a more peaceful environ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We had an amazing stay as we were the only two guests. The day we left they were expecting more guests and were going to be full at the weekend. Ron and his staff could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome.

The cottages were beautiful with a large bedroom and bathroom with separate bath and shower. Each cottage has a beautiful view of Mount Kilimanjaro and we were lucky to see it every day.

There is a waterhole in front of the main dining area and frequented by elephants in the morning and evening.

I celebrated my Birthday and it was no problem to have dinner on our veranda. To finish the evening, the staff presented me with cake and sang Happy Birthday in Swahili

James (chef) was very keen to show off his culinary skills which were excellent but we found there was too much food as we did not require a cooked breakfast, three course lunch and dinner. This was not a problem and he catered to our needs. Abel, our waiter was a lovely man who spoke about his family with great pride.

The morning we left, we were given a packed lunch for our onward journey which was a special touch.

Jonas our guide was very knowledgeable and tested us each day on what we had learned the day before.

We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
9.9 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
10.3 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
9.9 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#2 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
6.2 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
8.7 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#8 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tawi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tawi Lodge

Property: Tawi Lodge
Address: Bush Street | P.O. Box 1206, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tawi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tawi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tawi Hotel Amboseli National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing