We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great introduction to safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tortilis Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tortilis Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Barraba, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great introduction to safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Tortillas Camp was our first safari experience and was an excellent way to learn how safaris work.. The managers, the staff and most of all, the guides were wonderful - out and about our guide was patient, , knowledgeable, able to predict so much about the animals and their behaviour. The accommodation was great, with privacy and peacefulness helping make this a relaxing experience. The meals and housekeeping were extremely good - really tasty meals. Our trip to the Masai Village was fascinating and taught us the importance of bargaining. It was good to know Manuela and Andrea were meeting with the people to emphasise the importance of good business skills with tourists and good to know that whatever we spent was being shared in the group. Remember to bargain.

Room Tip: All tents are "down the hill" - all private and all with interesting wildlife experiences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write your review. We're very lucky to have such a great team here & we're all delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.
With best wishes
A&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    51
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
76
124
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My hosts Andrea and Manuela made me feel like part of the family. The tent, the grounds top notch. The food delicious. The staff in complete was incredible and my guide Alex, showed me so much. The bush breakfast, all all the animals.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebelMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for your great review - very happy to hear you felt part of our incredible family!
Best wishes
A&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We recently stayed at Tortilis Camp and am very happy to report that it is a wonderful place to stay....very welcoming staff under the discreet management of Manuela and Andrea. From the moment we were picked up by Alex - our guide for 3 days - we knew this would be a really enjoyable stay.

The really attractive asset that this camp has over others in the area, is that it is remote and indeed, has it's own exclusive access to a Maasai Conservancy, meaning, you're on your own. Travelling further east, back past the airstrip and Observation Hill, you re-join the sometimes, 'madding crowd', which does sometimes make you wonder what effect this is having on the wildlife.

We had room 1, closest to the dining and bar area - this has a fine view of the watering hole and on clear days, Kilimanjaro. The elephants came each evening, regular as clockwork for a quick drink, then off back in to the bush.

Even though the 'migration' was yet to return due to the prolonged rains, we saw plenty of animal life, including cheetah, hundreds of elephants - (always a relief), hippos, hyaena, gazelles, impalas, bird life a plenty, etc etc.

Do take time to take advantage of having a walk in the conservancy with your guide - opens up another aspect of your visit particularly when you learn there is a pride of lions that frequent the area (currently on vacation though, following the migration).

There is a lovely pool area - which we didn't use, other than to watch the birdlife skimming the surface for insects and the cheeky mongooses who live in and around the pool.

The 'sundowner hill' is a beautiful spot as you'll see in the attached photos.....

......if you're thinking about going, don't hesitate, you'll love it.

Room Tip: room 1 is closest to the central area but if you go to bed early (most people do) you can hear the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We feel very fortunate to be located in such a beautiful, exclusive area looking up to magnificent Mt Kilimanjaro. We hope you can make it back sometime - Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Tortilis Camp is very special. This was the third of four camps we stayed at and by far the nicest. The tents are essentially a tent motif with a wooden structure. They are really nice with all amenities including regular hot and cold running water and electricity. The Italian management is delightful, warm, and friendly people. Staff work together and provide the utmost hospitable feeling with great service. Reasonable disatnce, but not the most privacy we had ( Ol's Pejeta Camp won that).

I really admire their commitment to the environment including giving you refillable water bottles with plenty of places to refill them. They are involved in many commununity development and conservation programs in the area. Very cool.

The make a lot of homemade pasta, grow their own vegetables, and bake the most delicious food. The salad greens, gown in their own garden (small farm) where the most delicious I have had anywhere. Their Italian meals would be a treat in Italy. They served East African food the second night and it was good, but as good as other places we ate during the trip. You won't be disappointment though. Breakfast was the standard buffet, but everything was fresh and tasty. Good omelets. Made one with egg whites for me. Manga bene.

Our guide Joel was just great. He was perfect guide and a really nice guy. The other drivers follow him. We saw a lot of wildlife, many elephants. He treated us to a surprise sundowner that was just magnificent. We had great conversations. He kept us out of the mud when others were getting stuck and negotiated our way to Tanzania.

We visited a local Maasai village which is another great opportunity to learn and enjoy the people as well as the wildlife.

I recommend this place. It doesn't have that real bush camp feel, though the grounds are lovely, especially if you can see Mt Kilimanjaro. Except for the short uphill walk to the main buildings from the "tents", there are no rough edges. You can see see elephants, giraffes and just about any other beast for the dining room balcony and almost any tent at some point

If wanting a bush camp experience is part of fantasy, and it should, then Tortilis Camp may fall short because it is just too perfect. Your are going to like this place a lot. I would also recommend Ol'Pejeta (Nanyuki) and Duma Camps (Maasai Mara) to get the bush camp intimacy and "in the wilds" experience, while still maintaining creature comforts.

Have an amazing time.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong. We had room 1. Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GratefulDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a detailed review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the wonderful produce from our vegetable garden. We are lucky to have such a great team working here - we've shared your review with them and they are also very happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Asante sana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent only one night in Tortilis but we plan on returning. We had two children (9 and 5) and management agreed to add two additional small beds in our tent to accommodate our family. It was a little tight, which is to be expected, but still lots of space to move around and very cosy. We especially loved sitting in the small veranda outside our tent on the large comfortable sofas, looking out for elephants in the evening. The children enjoyed the swimming pool and we had even thought of bringing some marshmallows to grill on the campfire at night (if you are coming from overseas, carry them with you as marshmallows are one of the very few things that are hard to find in Nairobi!) The welcome by management was warm and sincere. The food was delicious (especially the fresh vegetables from the garden). A very classy place with outstanding views of Kilimanjaro and lots of animals. To anyone visiting Amboseli I would recommend combining a visit to Porini (the experience of a conservancy is very interesting -different animals, ability to drive off track, and the masai village visit more 'authentic' in my view) with Tortilis (spectacular views, closer to the Park, great food, beautiful tents). To me, the combination of both brings out the best of Amboseli. As another reviewer has mentioned, in the rainy season, Amboseli does not have large concentrations of wildlife but we still did see a fair amount of game and the green lush savannah was a sight in itself.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kasara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Tortilis - we'll keep scouting for marshmallows! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a wonderful camp, friendly managers and staff to greet you on arrival, an uninterrupted view of Mount Kilimanjaro, coffee and hot chocolate with our early morning call, a helpful, friendly and highly knowledgeable guide on the safari drives and the most amazing 'bush breakfast' experience ever! Everyone went out of their way to make us (a family of 4) welcome and we had a memorable and relaxing time. Its worth knowing that we are residents, and having gone on a few safaris now we weren't too stressed by the lack of game, but if you were coming for a 'once in a lifetime holiday' it would be worth checking for a dry season time when you would see more. Having said that, we saw plenty of ellies and were lucky enough to find lions thanks to our guide. The scenery was exceptional and I would highly recommend the (admittedly expensive) but well organised all inclusive package. It's well worth it, just for the bush breakfast alone!!!

Room Tip: family room is great, but the children are in a seperate tent, with no internal link... worried me s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaO634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We Spent 3 days with the family in Tortilis camp in December and loved our stay : the camp is in a stunning location, great views of Kilimanjaro, fantastic rooms and the swimming pool was a welcome relief at midday: our guide Ali was excellent and went out of his way to find the big cats (the game was a bit scarce apart from elephants) ; The visit to the Masai village was worthwhile but the pressure to buy jewellery was a little off putting; all in all a great place to stay and we would like to return at a time of year when the animals are more plentiful

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
14.0 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#2 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
18.3 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#7 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
49.5 mi away
Campi ya Kanzi
Campi ya Kanzi
#10 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortilis Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortilis Camp

Property: Tortilis Camp
Address: Amboseli National Park, 00517, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortilis Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amboseli is best known for its unrivaled views of Kilimanjaro and the local elephant population. There are over 1000 elephants in the park eco-system, featuring some of the largest elephants in Africa. Tortilis Camp is named after the flat-topped, umbrella thorn tree, the Acacia Tortilis, and is situated in one of Amboseli's areas of Acacia Tortilis woodland, with the majestic backdrop of Africa's highest mountain, and the World’s highest free-standing mountain, snow-capped Kilimanjaro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Expedia so you can book your Tortilis Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortilis Camp Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing