We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amboseli Safari”
Review of Tortilis Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tortilis Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Tortilis Camp in the Amboseli NP. What a fantastic way to relax from the hectic Nairobi city live. The Tortilis is very idyllically located. The tents are comfortable with all the luxury provided. We sat on the porch with a majestic view to the Kilimanjaro while Dik Diks were grazing a few meters away. The food was excellent with an Italian touch. All staff was very nice and accommodating. Special praise deserves our guide Joseph who knows everything about the animals and geography too. And he found a Cheetah with 3 cubs. See the picture.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterSchilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

So pleased that had a good time with us. The cheetah are still around and growing very fast - you must come back, we're not too far from Nairobi!
Warmest wishes from Andrea, Manuela, Joesph and the whole team at Tortilis Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Tortillis was my first stop on a life long dream of Safari trip to Kenya. It could not have been a more perfect beginning or a more welcoming experience in terms of comfort, terrific food, warm and charming managers, and the very experienced and thoughtful guide Joel, who educated us along the way. The entire staff were so very helpful and accommodating, all with the winning smile that made us feel so at home. We felt both spoiled and pampered and in disbelief at finding ourselves in the midst of Amboseli and Mt. Kilamanjaro and the majestic creatures in our midst, even as we ate dinner at the camp watching the wildlife at the watering hole. We are so grateful for the entire experience and a very warm greeting and thanks to all, especially Andrea and Manuela for making our trip beyond our wildest expectations. A beautiful place, a perfect beginning.

Karen P

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We're delighted to read our little camp contributed to your life long dream! Warmest wishes from Andrea, Manuela, Joel & the whole Tortilis team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Wow, what a fabulous place to stay didn't want to leave. The tents are really really nice and comfortable with everything you need, the location is brilliant, the views wonderful, the food is great and the staff are so helpful and really make your stay everything you want it to be. If you are using their guides for the safari, i can't praise Leperes Pilot enough he goes all out to show you everything and more, his knowledge and understanding of the animals and the enviroment is second to none. Thank you Leperes you were brilliant and brought tears to my eyes when you got us so close to the elephants and breakfast on the hill - wow, best day of my life. Hope to be back sometime. Tina and William Thomas. Tent 3 - 16/4/14 - 19/4/14

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TST59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review. The elephants are definitely missing you! Leperes sends a huge "Jambo" to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We started our Kenya safari with a short stay in Amboseli and really enjoyed Tortilis Camp. Upon arrival at Tortilis we were greeted by the very friendly relieve management couple Allan and his wife, and introduced to our home for the night.
Unfortunately it was cloudy, so we could not see Kilimanjaro, but one can imagine how spectacular the views are of the highest mountain in Africa, from the restaurant and bar area of the camp.
The tents are rather basic, but spacious and very comfortable. The en suite bathroom with double basins and shower is just right. Electricity comes from a generator, hot water from solar geysers. all environmentally friendly and working perfectly.
The afternoon saw a big storm coming through, which blew away most of the clouds and allowed us partial views of the snow topped Kilimanjaro during our afternoon safari. Wonderful to see elephant, giraffe and zebra with “the mountain” as backdrop.
Generally I thought that the game viewing was very good; we saw plenty of elephant and plane's game, but also stacks of hyena and some lions. The terrain is very flat and barren, but then you get the lush areas they call swamps, full of hippos and water birds.

Meals at Tortilis were very good, with lots of fresh produce from the camp’s own vegetable garden, prepared in simple, but very tasty ways. Lunch was buffet, and dinner a plated 3-course meal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to write your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & also that the mountain made an appearance - she's quite temperamental!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A friend and I recently spent three days at Tortilis Camp. It was the first camp of our first safari, and we couldn't have had a better introduction to the safari experience. Managers Manuela and Andrea extended the warmest of welcomes and were unfailingly gracious and helpful during our stay. Joel, our guide, was simply the best and filled our daily game drives with magical animal sightings. One day we watched spellbound as a herd of over two hundred elephants emerged from the woods and filed right past our safari truck in a seemingly endless line into the sunset. It was a primal and emotional experience. As for the camp itself, one of the things that distinguishes Tortilis is the meticulous attention to detail: In the elegantly appointed tents and spacious bathrooms all of the accessories are carefully and tastefully chosen. The wake-up breakfast trays come with delicious homemade cookies in beautiful beaded baskets and your beverage of choice kept piping hot in small thermoses. The chef at our surprise bush breakfast was attired in immaculate whites complete with tall chef's hat (and he whipped up an omelette of ethereal lightness - out in the middle of nowhere!). I could go on and on. On the last day of our stay, my friend and I looked at each other and said, "What else can go right?" As if to answer that question, the snow-capped peak of Mt. Kilimanjaro, which had hitherto been stubbornly hiding in the clouds, made a dramatically lit appearance for our farewell sundowner. Tortilis Camp is an all-round winner!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Anne,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It was a pleasure meeting you both and hope you decide to come back one day.
Big hug to you both!
Ciao! Manu and Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just few reasons why this is the best option in Amboseli: 1. Location - far away from the main entrance and big hotels, with access to private sanctuary allowing for less formal approach to animals; 2. size - smaller than other lodges, with better atmosphere and individual approach; 3. staff - friendly, constantly present, 4. facilities - the most comfortable accomodation (try the family tent!) and the most comfortable, open vehicles, 5. cuisine - perfect! Maybe not the cheapest, but woirth every penny! Thank you for all!

Room Tip: Family tent offers seclusion and the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryszard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review - very happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After spending over 2 weeks in Kenya and Tanzania, it is very evident that Tortillis is something special. The staff was extremely welcoming from the start. The camp manager Pieter and his wife Daniella were amazing - really meant a lot how great they were. The bartender Freddy was great too, always smiling and after a couple of times just brought us what we liked. The food was surprising delicious; we really didn't have many expectations and we were blown away after the first meal. This Italian food was big city quality in the middle of the bush; you'll be very happy!

This is the only permanent camp that we stayed at and tent #9 was great as it had a great view of Mt Kilimanjaro where we were able to sit and have coffee that was delivered in the morning. Our guide Josep was one on our highlights. This camp has open vehicles which we LOVED and when we head to safari again, it will be a must. Josep is extremely knowledgeable, friendly and shows that he truly loves what he does and makes it his duty to make sure we had a great time. He is truly an asset to the camp!

Now, one of the most memorable things was that they have access to a conservancy that only Tortillis has access too. As this was our first safari and first camp, we didn't know what to expect, but after spending a week at two camps in the Serengeti with vehicles everywhere, you realize just how special this camp is.

And as many others said, the animals and mountain are breathtaking. Lastly, don't miss this camp, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilsen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review - & for coming to visit! We were so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Our conservancy really is a gem!
With our best wishes
Daniella & Pieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
14.0 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
383 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
887 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Tawi Lodge
Tawi Lodge
#8 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
164 reviews
6.0 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
769 reviews
18.3 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortilis Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortilis Camp

Address: Amboseli National Park, 00517, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: £337 - £589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortilis Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amboseli is best known for its unrivaled views of Kilimanjaro and the local elephant population. There are over 1000 elephants in the park eco-system, featuring some of the largest elephants in Africa. Tortilis Camp is named after the flat-topped, umbrella thorn tree, the Acacia Tortilis, and is situated in one of Amboseli's areas of Acacia Tortilis woodland, with the majestic backdrop of Africa's highest mountain, and the World’s highest free-standing mountain, snow-capped Kilimanjaro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Jovago.com so you can book your Tortilis Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortilis Camp Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing