We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A jump out of time in untouched nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campi ya Kanzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Campi ya Kanzi
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A jump out of time in untouched nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

The team of Campi Ya Kanzi is fantastic and softly led us to discover the beauty of untouched nature. The territory is a symphony of amazing landscapes where wild animals are a plus, not the only beauty. The possibiity to walk in the wild nature (under the diligent monitoring and protection of the Masai tracker) allows the the real "feeling" of what surrounds you. Colors, odors, scents, song of the wind across the trees, warbling of birds, all surrounds and permeate the vistor. Campi Ya Canzi is the perfect complement to the wild nature with each tent fully equipped with all you need and a superb view of the valley that like a timeless carpet expands down to the base of Kilimanjaro.
Campi Ya Kanzi and its team have been the better way to get in real touch with the best of Tsavo West / Amboseli / Chyulu hills.
Three days and two nights of dream.

Room Tip: All rooms are "Perfect", with a direct view of the valley and of a pool where wild animals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G Lorenzo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
We are glad you feel that way :) We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mondsee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We spent beginning of January 3 nights at Campi ya Kanzi in an amazing landscape of the Chyulu hills. After coming from Masai Mara with big cats all days long - wildlife was different at Campi ya Kanzi. Less wildlife but exciting landscape, most friendly hosts and great locations. We enjoyed walks and sundowners on the smooths green hills as well as game drives (incl Tsavo NP). Food is best italian quality with lots of pasta and the whole team takes care all the time. Once we had dinner in the cave! Great time at Campi ya Kanzi!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Thank you!! Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

If you enjoy getting away from the crowds while still having a bit of comfort and cultural immersion, then Campi ya Kanzi is for you. I would recommend at least 5 days at Campi ya Kanzi to get the full experience. My wife and I spent a week at the camp and every day was different with a mix of activities that left us with a big smile. We had two guides that made the trip very special for us, Parashi and Sunde, and of course our host Stefano. It was a very personalized experience and we felt that we were part of a family at the camp and not just a guest. I would suggest that if you go you try the fly camping (and while at it offer to buy a local goat to share with your Maasai hosts - you will never forget the experience as simple as it sounds). The price for an African safari is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. I would highly recommend Campi ya Kanzi and hope to return someday soon. I've heard some reviews that it is difficult to see wildlife at the camp. We saw leopards, lions (right outside our tent), cheetahs, giraffes, buffalo, zebras, and dozens of other animals along with a tremendous variety of birds. The animals are difficult to see, but it makes the search for them more rewarding AND keep in mind that you will be the only people in sight which makes the experience more authentic and you can go at your own pace. You also have the ability to walk as you please with a Maasai guide by foot who enjoys sharing the secrets of this amazing continent. There is no price to put on being able to do this. In short, Campi ya Kanzi is a special gem of a place that deserves a visit. The people, accommodations, food, terrain and location are fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Amazing, we are happy you saw so many species of wildlife during your stay :) We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I just returned from spending our safari honeymoon in Kenya earlier this month. We traveled around the country and stayed at luxury lodges and other tented camps in many of the popular safari locations... and hands-down, without a doubt, Campi Ya Kanzi was our favorite. The owners, Luca and Antonella, could not possibly have been more gracious hosts. They really treat you like family, and get to feel a part of the remarkable work their doing working with the local tribe. The accommodations and food are also superb, but far more importantly, their staff is beyond compare. The guides and trackers were first rate, and made the trip one we will never forget. They really make you feel like you're their guest, and not just a tourist. We were invited to visit the local school and our guide's family's village - just unique experiences that allow you to get a taste of the local culture. The animal viewing is truly special as well, because the animals you are seeing are really wild. I know they're all "wild" at other camps too, but the animals you will see here do not see humans everyday, and you will not run into other safari jeeps full of tourists every time you see something noteworthy. There are no other camps on this land, so everything you see is private.

Bottom Line... if your only goal is to take pictures of animals, and you don't care how many jeeps are all around you all the time (full of other noisy tourists), you have a million options and this may not be the place for you. But if you're looking to experience wild Africa and see what's happening on the cutting edge of wildlife protection and habitat restoration in a truly luxurious way, don't hesitate... book Camp Ya Kanzi now. In fact, on our last night there my wife and I promised each other that we would come back to visit when we had kids old enough to appreciate it.

THANK YOU LUCA & ANTONELLA (and Stephano & Sunde)!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms (aka - luxury tents) are fantastic, with indoor plumbing, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drc1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
The pleasure is ALL OURS! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, Karibuni any time you like! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Perfect respite for us! Highlights were flights along Chyulu Hills with fab pilot Sarah, hiking in the Cloud Forest, hiking from camp to Pride Rock, visiting the MWCT office, meeting with the school head mistress & touring the school rooms, chatting with the doctor. Fortunately for us, although wildlife sightings in general were somewhat scarce in the immediate area, lion were mating near camp and we got some excellent photos. We found the camp setting to be magical and the staff most attentive. Dinners in the Tembo Lodge are gas lantern lit and incredibly romantic. We were there during the cooler winter time (some overcast skies and cooler temps in general which to me is a plus) so advise others to pack nanopuff jackets or the like. We left with many happy memories and hope to return sometime soon!

Room Tip: The tents closest to the waterhole are the most desirable. Fortunately we were relocated closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jboyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
It makes us happy that you enjoyed your stay here :) Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Campi ya Kanzi was just awesome. After we had just spent 3 nights in the northern Serengeti, we just didn't see how anything could be any different or any better. Well, it was!! The eco-friendly camp is spectacular!! The view from the lodge is beautiful, the staff is just so accomodating, and the food is 5 star. We saw great animals, including mating lions (I won't mention the 2 male lions that were having quite a "discussion" outside of our tent one night). I would HIGHLY recommend going to Campi ya Kanzi.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Asante sana!! We hope to share more days with you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Everything about Campi Ya Kanzi was special. The staff is superb. The facilities very comfortable. Attention to every detail and always concern for our well being. There were surprises which I won't mention in case you're lucky enough to go. The concern for the environment has earned them well deserved awards. We will miss our guide and tracker Parashi and Risa. They were fun to be with and taught us so much. Samson ran things beautifully while the owners were away during our visit. Don't miss Campi Ya Kanzi !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, 24 February 2016
Many thanks for your lovely words! Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli Eco-system
42.7 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
14.8 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
24.5 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#2 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
33.3 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#7 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
33.2 mi away
Tawi Lodge
Tawi Lodge
#9 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campi ya Kanzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campi ya Kanzi

Property: Campi ya Kanzi
Address: Mtito Andei, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campi ya Kanzi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campi ya Kanzi is widely recognized as one of the most unique and inspiring safari experiences in Africa. Situated at the foot of the legendary Chyulu Hills, Hemingway’s Green Hills of Africa, it is a luxury camp offering an incomparable combination of 5-star luxury, first class wilderness adventure, amazing wildlife, and authentic immersion in Maasai culture. This is truly the ultimate African safari.This luxury lodge has been built in partnership with the Maasai community of the 280,000-acre Kuku Group Ranch.Campi ya Kanzi has a unique commitment to community development and environmental sustainability: we are leaders in real ecotourism, engaging the local Maasai in benefiting from wilderness with thriving wildlife. Built from local materials, it uses solar technology to supply hot water and electricity to the six luxury cottages and two suites. In front of Kilimanjaro, with a Maasai warrior taking you on safari, among elephants and lions, you will experience your dream African adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Campi ya Kanzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campi Ya Kanzi Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing