We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Amboseli Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our first trip to the Porini Amboseli Camp and it was very different from the other Porini camp we visited (Porini Lion). First off, it's surrounded by bushier, wilder foliage. It's very dry in the Selenkay Conservancy and Amboseli.

The food was good and the tents in good shape. The manager, Tony, is incredibly welcoming and knowledgable. He really made the experience for us. We were at the end of our safari and kicked back in the camp a bit more, which was wholly relaxing (campfire, G&Ts, great conversations).

In comparison to the staff at Porini Lion, the staff seemed to have a little less English and were slightly more reserved. Our guide was kind and knew everything about the animals and birds - and was happy to take questions.

Amboseli is actually an hour drive away, but you go through interesting Masaai country (villages, animals grazing). In Amboseli you can't leave the roads, so there is more waiting for the animals to come to you. There's also vastly different ecosystems in the park, which makes for an interesting drive. It is very dusty though - take something to cover your nose and mouth - we had bandanas which were so helpful.

The nature walk on our final morning was such fun - a great chance to stretch our legs after several days spent in vehicles.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from Kenya with a 2 night stay at the Porini Camp. What a privilege. I can't speak highly enough of the staff and accomodations. The animals were everywhere. The room comfortable and the staff were over the top great. My children are 11 and 13. We couldn't have made a better choice. So many animals. Amboseli and the Selenkey Conservancy were far better than we could ever expect. The visit to the Masai Village was an added treat. We felt like royalty. Andrew, Daniel and John were the perfect hosts. This is an excellent choice especially if you don't want to compete with multiple other camps to see the animals.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmberOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed two nights in Porini Camp. The camp isn't very big (nine large accomodation tents plus the central tent for reception and restaurant) but the hospitalty was so much bigger. We have hardly felt as welcome as here, The tents are big, comfortable and clean. The bathroom is perfect and the manual operated shower works perfect. Excellent safari i Selenkay Conservatory and Amboseli.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoerenSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We started an 8 day honeymoon safari with two nights at Amboseli Porini Camp. Our experience FAR exceeded our expectations. The tent was comfortable and clean, the bathroom facilities were more than adequate, the safari shower was great. The food was very good and the service was excellent. Toni, the camp director, was welcoming and accommodating. We were even welcomed with a bottle of champagne in our tent! We picked Gamewatchers in part because of the alliance with the Maasai people and were so very happy that we did. The guides were superb and we saw everything we had hoped to see. I would highly recommend the company and the camp. We are already planning to go back for our tenth anniversary!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgibson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a two night stay at Amboseli Porini Camp. Having done a brief stay at Nairobi Tented Camp it was our first introduction to rural Kenya. The Selenkay conservancy is fantastic both as a concept and a location - we felt so privileged to be observing these animals up close in what is essentially your own private game reserve, guided by the Maasai who are not only brilliant at locating the animals but also at explaining their behaviour. They also provide a great gin and tonic sundowner!
We read of previous guests driving to Selenkay - we flew which was a very quick and comfortable route in to Amboseli. We were immediately met off the plane, given refreshments and taken on a drive before heading in to camp. The manager of the camp (Tony) has assembled a great team who could not have made our stay more comfortable. A day trip into Amboseli National Park was fantastic for seeing the vast plains of wildlife, in particular the elephants, but also highlighted to us how much better the Porini conservancies are for safari by not being restricted to roads or surrounded by lots of other tourist vehicles.
The whole stay at Amboseli was wonderful - we were asked how it could be improved and couldn't think of anything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a two night stay at this camp. Tony, the camp host was very nice and surprised us wit a bush dinner one night. The food was very good for all meals and they did a very good job of accommodating a gluten free traveler. We had a wonderful picnic lunch in the park. The camp is set in a very pretty area but Amboseli is very very dry. We really enjoyed the bucket shower to wash the dust off. The tents are very comfortable and the staff is anxious to please. You will see lots of elephants and so much more.Our guide was always trying to get us that great picture.
We had a very informative visit to a Maasai village. We really felt like we experienced and appreciated their way of life.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at Amboseli Porini camp for three nights and it was an utterly stunning experience. This is eco friendly safari, staying in tents and using solar energy for any lighting or hot water. The tents and beds are though luxurious (+ ensuite shower!) and you couldn't wish for better attention from the Masai, discretely in the background but always there if needed.

This safari had everything from walking on foot with the Masai for protection (and visiting their village), through the more standard game drives in landrovers to wonderful 'sundowner' and night drives.

Yes, you can get a more luxurious experience in a bespoke lodge/hotel with swimming pool but this is so much better for the environment and the experience (having also done the former) is also so much the better for it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
23.8 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
386 reviews
22.6 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#4 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
349 reviews
19 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
899 reviews
29 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
246 reviews
23 mi away
Tawi Lodge
Tawi Lodge
#8 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Amboseli Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Amboseli Camp

Address: Selenkay Conservancy, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: £577 - £949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porini Amboseli Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Selenkay Conservancy lies a few miles north of Amboseli National Park, is an important dispersal area and rangeland for wildlife migrating out of Amboseli. The number of tourist visitors is limited to eighteen per day. Accommodation is at Porini Camp. The facilities include 9 spacious tents, comfortably furnished with en suite bathrooms and solar-powered electric lighting. Game drives in open 4x4s with qualified guides, bush walks, sundowners and night game drives are all included ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amboseli Porini Camp, Selenkay Conservancy Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing