We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the best trip of a lifetime!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Amboseli Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For the best trip of a lifetime!!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our whole experience with Porini was brilliant. Well thought out with excellent viewings, freedom to do what we wanted under the expert guidance with the wonderful staff. The food and accommodation were excellent. The fact the camps cater for small numbers ensured personalised service, nothing was ever a trouble and the staff were so friendly and knowledgeable.
We are planning on going again and taking the remainder of our family so they can witness for themselves this wonderful country and it's beautiful people and of course the brilliant animals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmumford11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
138
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was fortunate to enjoy another special safari experience thanks to Tony and his Porini team. The sight of elephants marching with the backdrop of Mt Kilimanjaro is truly special, and the conservancy was also rich with varied wildlife to enjoy. Tents and food - as always with Porini - was excellent. Maasai guide Jonah and driver Shadrack were excellent company and very helpful finding the best angle for my snaps. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Quiet, comfortable, good food, excellent guide and driver (Jonah and Julius). Range of activities, superb opportunities for wildlife sightings. Several hours up close to the elephants of Amboseli National Park - outstanding!!! Probably a good time of year to go to this National Park as other tourists were few and far between.
Only slight downside, this camp is particularly tucked away and enclosed so no views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safarimaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Porini Amboseli Camp (PAC), our first stop in a whirlwind 7-day safari, delivered the best service I’ve ever experienced. In fact, I hesitate to call it ‘service’ as it felt more like camaraderie. Immediately after our visit to a very welcoming Maasai village, it rained for a solid 6 hours. We didn't really mind as it gave us an opportunity to recover from the long journey to Kenya. The next day, at the crack of dawn, we were on our way to Amboseli National Park with not one, but two Land Rovers of Maasai warriors in tow. When we saw the muddy roads, we understood why we needed back-up. What’s normally a quick drive turned into a 5 hour-long adventure. At one point we counted 17 people pushing our vehicle along – all with smiles on their faces. Although they could’ve quite reasonably modified our itinerary, the Maasai team, led by Julius and Dennis, remained 100% committed to the challenge.

The best part of the day - heck, of the trip - was not seeing the elephants on the other side (though they were breathtaking!), but rather, the time that we shared with these inspiring young men. Their perseverance was a much-needed reminder that "life is a journey, not a destination". Endless thanks to Tony – you run a tight ship!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I traveled to Africa for the first time this last January, and this was the first camp we visited in Kenya. Julie from Gamewatchers organized our entire 3 week trip and we could not have been happier. At Porini Amboseli we had an outstanding camp Manager (Chloe) and game drive guides (Jonah and Julius). We visited a local Maasai village, the Amboseli National Park (so many elephants!!), and saw a fantastic array of wild life in the Park and in the Selenkay conservancy. Everyone at the camp was so friendly, and daily activities were well organized, from having coffee brought to our tents in the morning to daily game drives and "sundowners" (drinks during sunset at a waterholes where wildlife would gather) in the evening. The food was delicious and they were very accommodating to our individual preferences. Overall, an outstanding beginning to our safari trip. Gamewatchers is a truly professional company and we will definitely be using them for future trips to Africa!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We booked all our travels incl. Porini Amboseli camp through Steve from Gamewatchers safaris in the UK, which was all very well organized.

We had an excellent guide for the game drives in Saruni (Andrew). And a visit to a surprisingly authentic Maasai village. The Selenkay Conversancy is well worth a visit for its birds, lions, elephant, as well as more rarely seen animals such as the bat eared foxes, the cervet cat etc. And also for the relative quiet surroundings as Amboseli park itself is more busy with other cars. Of course you will visit Amboseli for its stunning views and close views with the big herds of Elephant.
In the Porini camp (only 9 tents) you are well taken care of by all staff. All staff are mostly Maasai which shows in part how the camp contributes to the local people. Also the relatively low eco footprint of the camp was for us something positive. The camp is very safe, though unfenced which gives an extra edge to your stay. We went early in January, which offers very good weather and relative quiet stay compared to High seasons, so definitely recommended.

We alltogether loved it and hope to come back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James290774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

What a great way to start our Kenya safari. We started by booking with Julie from Gamewatchers, who was so patient with all our concerns and always got back to my emails or phone calls promptly. So a big shout out to Julie! We are a family of 8 so I was very nervous- but fears were nonexistent the second we hit the ground in Nairobi. Everyone was exactly where they were supposed to be, and we were never left wondering what's next. At Amboseli we were greeted by Tony who introduced us to the beauty of the Masai people and who prepared a very special surprise anniversary dinner for my wife and kids- one we will never forget. The chef and food were excellent, especially since we drove them crazy with all our dietary restrictions, but never did we hear a complaint or a "no we can't," it was always "you are our guest and we will take of it , as it is our pleasure!" The sleeping accommodations aka "tents," are anything but. If these were the tents used by Lewis and Clark, they wouldn't have come back. Luxurious is an understatement. You feel as though you are part of nature but you've left the mosquitoes behind. Running water, fully functional toilets, spacious, and very, very comfortable beds- CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN! More inviting than some 5 star hotels I've been at. But remember the room is just a great place to freshen up in comfort as the real excitement is outside. The Masai warriors took a special interest in the kids, teaching them about their culture and the flora and fauna. We were able to manage lots of alone time, all the while knowing the kids were in great hands. Game drives were excellent, each time something new and fantastic. The guides were amazing, spotting, naming, and teaching about the various things we were seeing, all the while taking into account our over all demeanor and interest is a talent! Elephants and giraffes - lots of 'em! Spending time with the Masai people was eye opening and educational to the entire family and really allowed for a better appreciation of a culture so different than ours. Evening tea/coffee/hot cocoa by the fire or out in the bush was always a special touch and looked forward to. If you get a chance WALK! The conservancy has so much to offer by foot, that we almost missed the beauty of the land by not doing it the Masai Way." (We then transferred to Porini Mara and Lion Porini which brought the whole experience to it's peak. I've reviewed them separately.) Taking the level of service, value of the staff, the guides and spotters, quality of the food and accommodations - 5 stars! Definitely recommended for an authentic experience in the African Bush. BTW, if you can bring educational stuff for the kids, notebooks, pencils, stickers...

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galapointernational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
23.8 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
19.0 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
29.0 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#8 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
22.6 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#5 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Amboseli Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Amboseli Camp

Property: Porini Amboseli Camp
Address: Selenkay Conservancy, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porini Amboseli Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Selenkay Conservancy lies a few miles north of Amboseli National Park, is an important dispersal area and rangeland for wildlife migrating out of Amboseli. The number of tourist visitors is limited to eighteen per day. Accommodation is at Porini Camp. The facilities include 9 spacious tents, comfortably furnished with en suite bathrooms and solar-powered electric lighting. Game drives in open 4x4s with qualified guides, bush walks, sundowners and night game drives are all included ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amboseli Porini Camp, Selenkay Conservancy Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing