We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porini amboseli camp review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Amboseli Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed as a family of 4 with 2 teenagers 16 and 18 for 2 nights in July 2014. We wanted a small scale authentic and responsible experience of the conservancy and amboseli. Everything was excellent. Warmth of welcome, luxury tents and no Mosquitos, excellent vehicles.. The Masai guides could not be faulted. Their knowledge was encyclopaedic and they bridged cultures with a genuine warmth. I recommend this trip for its richness in animals and birds which are abundant in this natural environment. One highlight and bonus was our guides picked up lion tracks and pursued them until they found 2 male lions guarding a recent kill. Elephants in amboseli will blow your mind and all in the shadow of Kilimanjaro. Don't miss the opportunity to visit one of the Masai villages which benefits from the conservancy income. Our thanks to Tony Jonah and julius for their hospitality. Not cheap but every dollar spent was worthwhile and benefits the Masai, the animals and ourselves.

Room Tip: All tents are great. Don't worry about animal sounds at night. All safe and well protected
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at 3 Porini Camps over 6 nights, Amboseli was our first stop. Had a great first day in Amboseli National Park, saw many elephant, which our main reason for visiting Amboseli. After that we headed to our camp, it was quite a long drive to the camp. The staff were great and Tony, the manager was very attentive, he dined with us and was very interesting to talk to. We were unfortunate not to see many animals the next day in Selenkay Conservancy, I think we were just unlucky! Visited the Masai village, really great to see Porini helping the local villages. The tent was spacious, a very quiet and relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LisaDmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Porini Amboseli was our first of 4 camps (3 Porinis and one non-Porini) visited on our 2 week safari in Kenya. This was our first trip ever to Kenya and first time on safari so we had no idea what to expect. My husband and I originally wanted to do the Porini Adventure Camps, hoping to avoid too fancy of a camping experience, but that camp didn't open until July, so Amboseli it was. SO GLAD we ended up here! Porini Camps are amazing, just the right amount of comfort without being fussy. Of course the animals are amazing, which is why were on safari, but everyone at the camp was so lovely! Great big thanks to Tony for such a great experience, your camp is lovely!! And Wilson and Julius...couldn't have asked for better guides! The four of us (we were lucky to have the jeep to ourselves) watched a cheetah family eat and also watched two groups of elephants come together and in both situations (as well as all of the others) Wilson and Julius were just as into the experience as we were. It's not just a job, they really loved watching too!

Back to the camp...the eco-friendly commitment is alive and well here. No cardboard boxed lunches when eating out on safari. All reusable plates, cups, utensils, etc. Everything came back to camp with us...very little waste. This is the way we live at home and it was wonderful to have the same consideration for the land here on vacation. The care and concern for the environment, the animals and the people really shows at Porini.

Porini Camps also have the best jeeps! All open sided, none of those closed in mini-vans! Phew!! I didn't go across the world to sit enclosed in a minivan...I want to be as close as possible (w/out being eaten!)

Could go on and on, but will just say that when we go back (really want to take family), we will be staying with Porini Camps!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kim98115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

When we drove to the camp through rather arid terrain we were apprehensive initially but these were put to rest quickly by the sheer variety of wild life we encountered and the exclusivity we had to the conservancy as Porini Amboseli guests. The camps were spacious with all amenities. Quality of service was high class. The walking trip in the conservancy was memorable with the guides having incredible knowledge. Another highlight was the visit to the Maasai village. The place grew on us as time passed and we wished we we had booked for a few days more.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinayagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Steve from Gamewatchers was very good at responding quickly to any requests and assuring us regarding personal safety and at no time did we feel insecure. Wilson and Julius were great guide and driver. We saw a very cute elephant calf playing in the mud, the conservancy was great, heaps of animals and the visit to the Masai village very educational. Porini do things really well, we had a great time. Thanks heaps.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WillForrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here in January 2014. What a great time! We were pretty much the only people there, but the safari experience was fantastic. Wilson, our guide, was great - very knowledgeable. The long day going to the base of Kilimanjaro was great - we got the iconic photos of the elephants crossing in front of the mountain. My daughter got sick and the staff were so helpful. Would definitely recommend it over the busy lodges we stayed in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omnitrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our whole experience with Porini was brilliant. Well thought out with excellent viewings, freedom to do what we wanted under the expert guidance with the wonderful staff. The food and accommodation were excellent. The fact the camps cater for small numbers ensured personalised service, nothing was ever a trouble and the staff were so friendly and knowledgeable.
We are planning on going again and taking the remainder of our family so they can witness for themselves this wonderful country and it's beautiful people and of course the brilliant animals.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmumford11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
23.8 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
398 reviews
22.6 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#2 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
362 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Maasai Simba Camp
Maasai Simba Camp
#1 of 2 in Amboseli National Park
47 reviews
19 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
837 reviews
21.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Amboseli Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Amboseli Camp

Address: Selenkay Conservancy, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: £560 - £920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porini Amboseli Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Selenkay Conservancy lies a few miles north of Amboseli National Park, is an important dispersal area and rangeland for wildlife migrating out of Amboseli. The number of tourist visitors is limited to eighteen per day. Accommodation is at Porini Camp. The facilities include 9 spacious tents, comfortably furnished with en suite bathrooms and solar-powered electric lighting. Game drives in open 4x4s with qualified guides, bush walks, sundowners and night game drives are all included ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amboseli Porini Camp, Selenkay Conservancy Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing