We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
153
0
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
0
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horseback riding chyulu hills the managers game drives guide james landing strip a special place bush breakfast morning ride an experienced rider every guest hours watching first stop their efforts fabulous stay fantastic wildlife unique experience
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Our family has visited Ol Donyo almost every year for 15 years now. I lead groups of Americans over to the area to work at a local school. We spend 6 nights at Ol Donyo and then always visit several other beautiful lodges. Every year, Ol Donyo simply takes everyone's breath away. The rooms are magical and extremely stylish. The setting is stunning and the staff are remarkably well trained and charismatic. The drivers and guides are knowledgeable and become great friends swiftly with all the visitors. There is no way to describe how wonderful this lodge is. Timothy the Cook heads up a fabulous staff that turns out imaginative and delicious food. Amy and Sean, the managers are the some of the best in the business. They welcome every guest in a warm fashion and no request is too large. They are truly incredible.

One other fabulous thing about Ol Donyo is the way they work with the community in so many important ways. Great Plains Conservation, the group that owns the lodge, works to provide education to the local community , important jobs and training for Conservation and is a real leader in Wildlife Conservation in East Africa. A part of every room fee collected goes to support these programs. Do yourself a favor and visit Ol Donyo for the incredible experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank al3057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Ol Donyo is a special place in so many ways and we would encourage you to select this location as a part of your next Kenya safari. The rooms are amazing and all of them have a wonderful view as the lodge is up in the hills looking onto the plains. There is a viewing blind a short walk down the hill. You sit for hours watching the animals come to the watering hole 10 yards away from the blind. The large male elephants that gather there are particularly impressive to watch. Shaun and Amy, the mangers, were excellent hosts--always there to greet you when returning from a drive or coming in for a meal. This is an extremely well run camp compared to other excellent properties we visited. The guides are excellent and found great animal sightings for us. The food was delicious and their efforts at sustainability are outstanding. We had an extended family group and they made a special effort to create private dinners for our family which we really enjoyed. The outdoor dining "boma" behind the wine cellar was a highlight! Shaun and Amy--thank you for such a memorable experience!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay in a truly beautiful location!
The drive from the main road can be tricky if there has been heavy rain, this mainly due to mud!
The lodge is located on a slope with a stunning wiew towards south or south west towards Kilimanjaro.
All rooms ar beautiful with individual small swimming pools and roof terraces. Food is great on full board basis. Everything is included, game rides, horse back riding, mountain bikes etc including guides and rangers if needed.
We went out twice on horses with lovely cantering between zebras and wildebeast.
The morning ride became perfect when we found the lodge chef under an acacia preparing our breakfast....
Super staff, great rooms and stunning views.
Simply gorgeous!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Micke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Perfect end to our Kenya safari”



First class camp with a stellar staff. Professional in every regard. A truly caring team of individuals that are focused on the client having the best possible experience. We felt at home as soon as we arrived. Our safari guides Konee and Moses were excellent. A special shout out to Amy and Sean- true professionals and hosts. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jordynyc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We decide to drive our way to Great plains Oldonyo, It took us five hours but we many two stops. on our arrivals Shaun and Amy gave us a warm welcome, enjoyed the cool towels on arrival, they escorted us to our lovely rooms, fantastic views to the water hole and great having a pool next to the rooms, our Guide James was great he took us around the conservancy and got to see a lot, from one tone which is the only elephant having the biggest tusks in that area, The brother cheetahs who we were lucky to see them on horseback thanks to Jo Jo and the team.we enjoyed our time in the kitchen with Chef Tim and his team who prepared wonderful dishes all day during our stay. we look forward to be back again. keep up the good job and keep up the Relais & chateaux standards.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephmacharia06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews