We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maasai Simba Camp(Amboseli National Park)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ambokili Lodge(Amboseli National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Latoli(Kajiado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Borders Creek(Kajiado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Teule Guest House(Oloitokitok)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
185
205
66
19
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
205
66
19
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount kilimanjarohemingway barhot waterindividual cottagesbumpy roadlunch boxvervet monkeysmosquito netcertain timesstayed here for nightsswimming poolmasai warriorpark entrancegame drivesno electricityearly morningday safari
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Together with my friend we chose the road less traveled from Nairobi to Amboseli. Instead of taking the new road between Emali (on Nairobi - Mombasa Road) to Mbirikani - we chose the old road which basically meant we felt like on a Paris-Dakkar Trophy. So after surviving this, the arrival to Amboseli Sopa Lodge - was like entering the paradise... It is mostly due to its perfect location - outside of Amboseli National Park but with a perfect view of Kilimanjaro. The huts were guests stay are really cosy and nice - although really not luxurious. The staff is extremely friendly and the food is really good. Why to go there? To take a dive in the pool with a great view on Kilimanjaro - unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elysium1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were welcomed and shown to our lovely room, very quaint, clean and just perfect, most inportantly quiet at night. We loved the added touch of candles and matches by the bedside for use when the electric was off, so romantic. The food was lovely and the service excellent as were the well maintained gardens the resident monkeys were fun also many other local animal residents to see.The bar area was devine as was the view of the elusive Mount Kilimanjaro.The pool was clean and looked good but soooooooo cold! I went in up to my knees but worried about full emersion for fear of cardiac arrest. We would definately recommend Amboseli Sopa Lodge, simple, clean, excellent service and welcoming.

Room Tip: Not sure if there's a choice!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puma50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at the Amboseli Sopa Lodge for just one night. We were given a 'hut' quite a walk from the restaurant area. A lovely big circular room with a terrace and a large walk in shower in the bathroom. Having stayed in 2 other lodges this was the most dated and shabby. The room was dark, the mozzy net had holes in it, the towels were thin and shabby and had seen better days and the decor dated. We had no hair dryer in the room nor a kettle but there was a safe. There was no hot water for a shower until 6.30 pm which was disappointing.
However, the restaurant was welcoming and the food good and free wifi was available near reception. There was a nice bar area near the restaurant and a market for souviners - but be prepared to haggle. All a bit disappointing but I think we were spoilt at our other lodges.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyRabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Friendly and comfortable lodge with a beautiful view of Mt Kilimanjaro out the dining room windows. The food was excellent and the pool was a great way to cool off after a hot day on safari in Amboseli Park. Not in the park, but close enough. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lastkahuna52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 for 2 nights as part of a 6 night safari and cannot fault the place one bit.
Yes the accommodation was basic, but everything you need is catered for. All of the lodges are detatched around the gardens of the 'complex' and you are not overlooked by any other lodge. They are clean and well kept, yes there were a few small flaws such as gaps around the shower fittings, low level lighting, but nothing to get excited about, remember this is Africa, and at the end of the day you only sleep, change and shower in the lodges, there is far too much to see and do at Amboseli!!!
The facilities on the complex were excellent, a couple of bars (limited opening) good restaurant, little shop, mini market for souviner shopping, a lovely pool all in the shadows of Mount Kilamanjaro - Breathtaking! All clean, well maintained and full of friendly staff.
So this place isn't flash with extra luxuries and 24hour power but the staff, location and general atmosphere of the place gives you the feel of where you are - on safari, in Africa. Would reccommend to everyone and anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazzapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews