We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice & different”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at this place in July 2013 for two nights. Located outside the park but offers very good views of the Kilimanjaro from the dining room. The place is designed somewhat like a village with mud and bamboo cottages that give you a very nice feel of being amidst nature and not a commercial hotel. The staff is very helpful, welcoming and pleasant. Rooms are spacious, minimalistic, designed & furnished like a village hut. Hot water & electricity are limited but one doesn't complain. Food is fine. We were surprised to get amazing Indian food that almost tasted homelike.
Kids had a great time in the wilderness all around the room. You see a variety of birds inside the resort. There are monkeys too everywhere.
Only suggestion - they can place rechargeable light for night time black out. Complete darkness gets uncomfortable with small kids. Torch provided dies out & candles can be a fire hazard.

Room Tip: Rooms close to reception are easier to reach given the monkeys all around, pitch darkness at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    174
    57
    18
    2
See reviews for
120
158
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here during Christmas on our wonderful safari with JT Safaris and driver Tito. The lodge was a bit away from the park entrance, but had wonderful views over Mount Kilimanjaro in the 2 mornings we were there. The room was spacious, had 2 double beds with mosquito nets. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, bathroom was spacious and with good shower, had complimentary toiletries. Free water bottles were provided every day. Service was great and food tasty. We enjoyed the big swimming-pool with sun beds, there was even a sauna but we did not use it.
Electricity was cut off during the day and during the night from 12 till 5 a.m so you had recharge your batteries accordingly
It was amazing to have breakfast in the terrace with fantastic views over Mount Kilimanjaro on a clear day.
We will stay here again and will definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very friendly staff. A GREAT view of the Kilimanjaro mountain. The food is not great but remember that this is Africa. You are not going there to taste food. 20 minutes drive from the main park. One more eco friendly hotel.(hot water and electricity limited and that us the beauty of it)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlektra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Positives:

The lodge is well maintained and staff is very friendly.

Food is excellent. Recommended to stay. Good views of Kilimanjaro (weather permitting) Unfortunately we were not able to see it in our 2 days of stay.

Negatives:

Pool is not temperature controlled and no life guards on duty...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuhammadNauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naibori
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel was basic and really not up at par.
The power cut nonsense was really upsetting.You habe to charge your phone as soon as you wake up or past dusk as the power is cut most of the day.
Food was basic and really unpleasant.The pasta sauce the chef cooked was really just tomatoes through in a blender ..so was the "Pizza sauce".
Only positive was the view of the mountain and the pleasant staff :D
The maasai money was one greedy person asking for tips every time you take a photograph of him amd his attire.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at Amboseli sopa during my safari in Kenya, the environment is calm . the staff are brilliant and very helpful

I really enjoyed the meals and the accommodations, they look like mud cottages but under the huge trees around the place, there are several small animals around the compound that have become so friendly, sometimes i just think if you have time to lazy out you can stay by your cottage and take good pictures of the rodents and monkeys who have become residents of Amboseli sopa

In the morning during breakfast the time is never enough, as breakfast time is consumed by photo taking of the magnificent views of th Kilimanjaro ending forgeting that you have to proceed for our game drive or drive to another park

If you do not have the time to visit Kilimanjaro and you are in Kenya my suggestion is to visit Amboseli National park and overnight at Amboseli sopa the views will quench your thirst to see Mt. Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife and I just returned from Safari and stayed here one night. The place is very nice, a bit dated but still very nice overall. The nice thing about your room is that they are all individual, small round cottages so it is very private and quiet. The grounds are really beautiful and there are monkeys all over the place. They have a nice pool and the main bar is a very nice place to enjoy a cold safari or tusker beer at the end of the day. The food is sit down for lunch and dinner and a buffet for breakfast. The food was good, and they had many selections to choose from and were happy to let me take some food back to the room to my wife who was not feeling well. The staff was just great, as all of the great workers and staff we met on safari, We have been all over the world and we thought the African people were so nice and helpful and did a great job to make your stay enjoyable. I highly recommend staying here to enjoy Amboseli park, there are so many animals here to see. We saw elephants, giraffes, hippos, hyenas, flamingos, lions and many types of birds too and the views of Kilimanjaro are the best we had on our entire trip!

Room Tip: They all have the same view of the grounds and are all quiet and sit by themselves individually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brentsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
10.1 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
355 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
800 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
715 reviews
8.4 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
111 reviews
6.4 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amboseli Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amboseli Sopa Lodge

Property: Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Address: Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amboseli Sopa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, Jovago.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amboseli Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Sopa Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing