We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tenting Paradise”
Review of Kibo Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kibo Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our reception was remarkable: met with refreshing hot towels and ice cold lemonade! Extremely helpful staff. Tents are luxurious: two single beds each enclosed in its own mosquito net; shower and washroom in the tent separated into a room behind the sleeping area. Beautiful rough hewn solid wood furniture. This is what I call camping. My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Thorough explanations given about dining, lights out and other procedures. I noted a fire extinguisher attached in a tree (very safety conscious). I did not see any monkeys (we were warned about them and suggested to keep the tent zippered up) . Absolutely seamless process. All delicious meals included as well as a boxed lunch for the journey home.

Maasai dancers entertained. Mount Kilimanjaro was visible in the early morning.

Would we come again? IN A HEARTBEAT!! Thanks for the memorable stay.

Room Tip: This was early winter in Kenya: bring a sweater. Slept like logs!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursua O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOTEAM, Manager at Kibo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us,and appreciated all that we have to offer in such unique location,kindly share this with all your friends and look forward to having you back again at Kibo one day. Have a Great summer back home as we slip in to our winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
There are newer reviews for Kibo Safari Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very friendly camp with splendid view towards Kilimanjaro and an elephant saying hello. Very friendly staff and good meals. The tent was splendid. The tent was nicely furniced and the bathroom was just behind. Slept like logs

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOTEAM, Manager at Kibo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to write this review,it means a lot to us and your satisfaction of stay as mentioned clearly gives the message of the 5 star facility we offer,hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Was looking for a holiday destination out of town when a friend mentioned Kibo, I went ahead and tried it and boy, wasn't that a paradise?
From the reception, the spacious rooms, the meals and then the biggest of all,,,,, its the only camp in Amboseli Ecosystem where one can see the magnificent Kilimanjaro.
I so look to going back there during my next holidays in August
Their prices are also out of this world, pocket friendly!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riogi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOTEAM, Manager at Kibo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review,we are all so glad that your stay was perfect in every respect,kindly share this with friends so they can all experience what you did,a once in a life time magical experience and naturally we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a wonderful experience at the camp. The new tents are amazing, spacious and beds are larger. Family room ideal for families. Service is above the rest and lastly but not least the food is great. Would return to Kibo anytime

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOTEAM, Manager at Kibo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you taking time to review Kibo Safari Camp,the Jewel of Amboseli unmatched to all other Lodges and camps in the area.We are happy that you enjoyed your private stay at the camp. we look forward to having your group with us again.Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was at kibo over the weekend for an overnight trip....i dint feel like leaving the next day. my stay was Awesome..kudos to the chef for the delicious fresh food that you cooked for us, my trip organizer Gadise thank you for the great opportunity to visit Kibo............this definitely is not my last time i will be back very soon.

Room Tip: ask for the new rooms they are super great
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOTEAM, Manager at Kibo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review,we are all so glad that your stay was perfect in every respect,kindly share this with friends so they can all experience what you did,a once in a life time magical experience and naturally we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I wish i could sleep there every night,the place is Superb with wonderful Management.Clean Rooms,and everything was running smooth and the staffs there are really Organized.
This is my 4 time i went to Kibo Safari Camp, for Business and with friends. Keep it up,You are the best Camp In Amboseli National Park.

Room Tip: All Rooms are good,but the room i loved was room No 7.If you are inside it,you can feel that you are...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odera431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOTEAM, Manager at Kibo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review,we are all so glad that your stay was perfect in every respect,kindly share this with friends so they can all experience what you did,a once in a life time magical experience and naturally we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Kibo safari camp is just the place to be....last week when i visited kibo...honestly, i didn't know what to expect! i was received warmly by two wonderful friendly ladies...offered refreshments...shown to our tents and ooh boy the tents were superb! Had an amazing view of Kilimanjaro from the poolside where i was busking sipping my drink :) ...The epitome of it all was at the bonfire where there were Maasai dancers...i enjoyed every bit of it!!!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the perimeter are the best...there are higher chances that you might spot wild anima...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIBOTEAM, Manager at Kibo Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review,we are all so glad that your stay was perfect in every respect,kindly share this with friends so they can all experience what you did,a once in a life time magical experience and naturally we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
0.7 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
372 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
788 reviews
7.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#3 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
338 reviews
2.1 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
117 reviews
10.5 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#7 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibo Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibo Safari Camp

Address: 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: £158 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kibo Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kibo Safari Camp is a luxury tented camp located 1.7kms from the Amboseli Kimana Gate. We would like to be listed among the specialty lodges in Amboseli National Park to enable our clients to understand that we are right at the Park entrance and they can sometimes even see the animals from within the lodge as they occasionally come grazing near our boundary fence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Kibo Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kibo Safari Camp Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing