We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet resort perfect to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilili Baharini Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice quiet resort perfect to relax”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I stayed at the Kilili in February and really appreciated the secure and secluded ambiance. Our room was great, very large with expansive balcony. Staff was accommodating and gave us exactly the room type requested. You find several pools on property and a spa. We very much enjoyed the food - mostly italian as the hotel is owned by Italians - having had trouble with food at other Kenyan resorts, it was reassuring to be able to eat what we wanted with being afraid to be sick. Security is present and helpful. The decor is very stylish and arabic with unique cachet. The only negative points are not about the hotel but rather about the situation in Malindi. Coming from America, we are not used to beach boys and locals following you continuously on the beach to sell you things or propose services. Very annoying although the Italian guests didn't seem to mind as much as us. I would not have gone to the town of Malindi on my own as it seemed not so safe but the hotel arranged for a taxi to take us around and guide us.

The hotel had entertainment at night but we just retrieved to our large room.

Room Tip: Rooms near spa are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motherof3teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    34
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
27
75
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Best food I've tasted in Africa, beautiful spa and wonderful staff and surrondings!
Pilipili beds on your private outside area, in the sitting room and by the beach. Most relaxed holiday ever. I am in love with Pilipili beds!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinkampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2011

One week at Kilili in the "low season" (end April) turned out to be blessed with "high season weather". All the way from management to staff the service and attitude are first rate. The food is good, the resort is picturesque and clean. The spa is amongst the best. We'll be back at the first possible opportunity! Greetings from Uganda/Norway.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STIGKampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2011

we were a group of 8 Models hosted at the Kilili Baharini who were co Sponsors of the Annual Casino Malindi Fashion show.
Service at the Hotel is unsurpassed, we were treated like Royalty Thanks to the Director Mr. Bomoni, great staff Dismus, Steve just to mention afew. Food was great and had variety to select from, the spacious rooms were sparkling clean ,well ventilated and well equiped, the private swimming pools were a great thought for those who want to take a breather from the beach .
We loved swimming in the main swimming pool over looking the sea while enjoying our drinks from the pool bar that was also very well stocked, and taking time to relax on the moroccan style beach beds.
At night we could spend some time relaxing in the private swimming pool outside the room reviewing the day's events and planning for the next day.
The Director Mr. Bomon ensured our safety and comfort for all the days we spent there ,when the stay came to an end, he shared a cup of tea with all the models and even came to see us off.

Thank you Kilili for being a great host.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinelibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This place is outstanding beautifull,Rooms with big bathroom,dining,bar,beach with plenty very comfortable sunbeds.Security on the beach so no hassle from beachboys.
This is a very relaxing and romantic start of your holiday in Kenya .Most off the quest are Italian .
Every morning you get your breakfast serviced in front of your room were you have a very comfortable seat for your own.You have to fill in a list with the time when you want it the evening before.The place is big so not crowdy anywhere.It is a little bit more expensive then others but worth every Euro.
We walked along the whole beach and Kilili is defenitely the nicest part.Every morning beach is cleaned from seagrass.When the tide is low is not posible to swim but there are 2 large swimmingpools.Go for it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Amazing place with huge rooms and friendly staff where you can relax and enjoy the atmosphere!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTCLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
224 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
275 reviews
10.7 mi away
Angel's Bay Resort
Angel's Bay Resort
#2 of 3 in Mambrui
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
1.0 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 28 in Malindi
472 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilili Baharini Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilili Baharini Resort & Spa

Property: Kilili Baharini Resort & Spa
Address: Casuarina Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#4 Family Hotel in Malindi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kilili Baharini Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilili Baharini is an exclusive complex surrounded by a botanical garden with more than 250 different spices of tropical plants. It has 29 comfortable air-conditioned rooms with large verandas, 3 prestigious suites, 3 junior suites, 5 pools, 2 bars, restaurant, the KILILI SPA MEDICALLIFE and the amazing beach with white sand, the ‘Silversand Beach”.Rooms: Each room is furnished with care, overlooking one of the pools and has a private veranda, where breakfast is served every morning in order to make a charming and unforgettable experience.All rooms are equipped with a split air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-bar (on request), safe, telephone, hair dryer, courtesy kit and mosquito nets. The decor is simple but gives a great deal of attention to detail and is inspired by great elegance and in African swahili style. The 3 junior suites and 3 suites are equipped with satellite television and an electric kettle for making tea & coffee '.Bar & Restaurant: Kilili Baharini offers ample space where you can talk and relax.Throughout the day, visit our Beach bar for refreshments, smoothies and fresh juices at a small fee.In the mid morning, we offer you tasty snacks on the beach. For lunch, a buffet is prepared fresh and stocked in the restaurant overlooking the beach or directly on the beach in front of the Ocean.In the afternoon, at the pool, you will enjoy tea and coffee with biscuits and cakes. In the evening at the main bar, we offer ‘appetizers’ to accompany your favorite cocktails (fee required). Dinner is served at the restaurant or in the garden near the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilili Baharini Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilili Baharini Resort And Spa
Kilili Baharini Hotel Malindi
Kilili Baharini Resort & Spa Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing