We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marine Holiday House
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed at Marine Holiday House for 10 days during a recent trip to Kenya. The room and en suite were spotless and very large, the grounds are beautiful with a lovely pool, and the walk to the beach is delightful. The staff is very kind and helpful---and they have some great cook/s. The owners are a kind Italian family, and there is a family atmosphere with two children and two pet dogs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillianwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

The setting is similar to a tropical paradise, beautiful but simple rooms, cosy bar/pool are (although we never used it) and excellent food and really nice service staff... however, the managers were a quite arrogant and not very helpful... I don't know if it was because we were almost the only ones at the time after a busy high season, but it could have been a much more pleasant experience if the management was more professional... when asked for WIFI they first negated it but then gave us a stick which didn't work... TV/video never worked (even though we didn't go there to watch TV!)...
The hotel is walking distance from a beautiful natural reserve beach in front of the barrier reef from where all the local colourful boats depart... beach is a bit small for the amount of people that goes there... nonetheless, the coast is beautiful.
It is a hotel with better setting for families with small kids (like the management)... although the rooms are well set for couples!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Welcomed by a drunk, arrogant, smoke puffing manager Luca, Pamper holding wife on one hand, crying baby on the other.
We wondered if we had arrived at the wrong address. Very unprofessional behaviour with taps on the shoulders, maybe due to the fact that the manager was drunk .Soon after another property on another location that we had not booked, was mentioned to be our destination. We declined as we had not booked at the other place.

We opted to have dinner here as we were tired. Pasta turned to be noodles- overcooked soggy and no taste. Fish was not fresh and i mean rotten taste... and my Goodness, the following day we were paying our choice not to change properties. DREADFUL FOOD POISONING which left us very scared. Staff informed the arrogant unprofessional managers who did not say one word or check on our health during our whole stay. We stayed away from anything to eat from them. We lay in bed for days suffering from food poisoning and from awful very DIRTY, SMELLY DELUXE ROOM. LET THE PHOTOS THAT I ATTACH SPEAK FOR THEMSELVES.

We counted days to leave this horrible place AS WE GOT VERY SCARED DUE TO THE FOOD POISONING. For 2 days, time would not have been longer waiting to leave.

Our passports were held and we had to ask for them the day after.

This couple have nothing to do in running a hotel establishment. They make you feel like they are doing you a favour by staying in this deadly place.If it their house, it would be rather good for them not to open the doors to strangers if they treat them badly.The lady was very concerned that i had understood some very bad things she was saying in Swahili, she asked me if i had understood and YES i had

RESTAURANT .. Non existant...

WIFI- even though on their website, it is mentioned to be available all over, actually it does not exist- we asked why it was mentioned while not available and the lady said they were still to install it.

The photos on the website are not the reality.The beds are smelly and quite dirty and a health scare as we could still smell the sweat from the past occupants on the pillows.

The staff are good and very polite, no wonder the grounds are good

STAY AWAY- ACHTUNG- ATTENCIONES- EVITER QUE LA PESTE

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PASDEQUOI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

It is incredulous that trip advisor can give this place a certificate of excellence for the last 2 years. Did they stay there at all ? See the photos I have attached. This was supposed to be a deluxe double room !The place is unhygienic and badly run by the management .
Customer Care from the management was poor. On arrival we were asked to stay at a different location with the promise it was the same. On inspection it was even worse than the resort. On departure we settled the bill with no enquiry from the management about whether our stay was enjoyable. Maybe they knew the answer.
From the photos you can see some of the bad hygiene : smelly stained pillow ; unprotected mattress; dirty slippers; smelly dirty bathroom; mould in the shower and on the shower head. ; no stopper on the very dirty sink plug hole; stained towels with holes, etc
Not surprisingly, we got very bad food poisoning from the first time we ate at the resort.
Although the general staff were sympathetic, we had no reaction from the management.

I ask myself in hindsight why we stayed longer than one day or even paid the bill at the end.

Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelsafe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This place is very nice, very quiet and relaxing
clean rooms and nice staff ,specially Anthony
10minutes walk to the beach
foods are perfect compare to their prices
the only problem was internet
dont lose your chance to stay in this place;)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saeed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The place is really nice, very well located for touring around Malindi. The closest beach is walking distance from the hotel and is the National Park. Although is very beautiful, it is small and a bit crowded (at list when we went).
The place is clean, the rooms are spacious, the food is great. Yet, my main complain is the managers of the hotel. I do not pretend to be hosted with high standards, but yes to be welcomed with a smile (and not with a cigarette in the mouth and a baby crying in the hands...). Even if they provided a good service, the managers were arrogant and noisy. We asked for the possibility of using the internet, and after 3 days they provided us with a stick. After 3 hours of trying why it doesn't work, the manager told me: "ah, so it seems it doesn't have money inside". I mean, she could know that in advance before wasting our time...

In summary: great place, but we really enjoyed much more speaking and mingling with the people doing the service (cleaner lady, the cook, the door man) rather than with the manager...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The single best hotel/resort/B&B I have ever experienced. I'm not exaggerating. The accommodation is flawless, the meals are perfect, the hosts are incredibly nice. Such a wonderful experience, would recommend to anyone ever traveling to Malindi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
1.5 mi away
Silversand Residence
Silversand Residence
#19 of 28 in Malindi
41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
235 reviews
11.6 mi away
Angel's Bay Beach & Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Eden House Cottages
Eden House Cottages
#1 of 37 in Malindi
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenga Giama Resort
Kenga Giama Resort
#4 of 37 in Malindi
67 reviews
11.3 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Holiday House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Holiday House

Address: Dolphin Road, Malindi 20100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Malindi
Price Range: £23 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marine Holiday House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Holiday House is a resort located in Malindi, Casuarina area, a few steps from entrance of the Marine Park. The resort rents 3 private villas placed in a beautiful tropical garden with private pool. The larger villa includes 6 spacious rooms all with private bathroom, 1 kitchen and veranda, it can hold up to 15 people. The second villa has instead of 2 rooms with private bathrooms, a kitchen, a dining room, living room and large veranda overlooking the pool for a total of 4 beds. The third structure is a new 2 storey boungalow equipped with 2 rooms with private bathrooms, 1 kitchen and 1 veranda facing the pool for a total of 6 beds. We also have ample parking and relaxation area equipped with umbrellas and chairs. Safety is guaranteed H24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Jovago.com so you can book your Marine Holiday House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Holiday House Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing