We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mwembe means mangoes”
Review of Mwembe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mwembe Resort
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Reviewed 22 March 2014

One would think being a hotel without a beach front means unbearable heat and still air. However Mwembe grounds are filled with trees many being Mango and the cool shade and breeze makes sitting at the balcony pleasant. I counted 5 pools in total .... The rooms are amazing

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanja_Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Hello Wanja,

Thank you so much for your amazing review!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We recently made our way down south to the coastal town of Malindi for the grand opening of Mwembe Resort's new development "The Village". A collection of fully furnished 5 star 1 and 2 bedroom luxury holiday homes. The houses are truly a sight to behold for their modest size, they have a really sophisticated appeal about their interior design and furnishing. There is a fan in the lounge and two electrical AC's in the bedrooms(one in each), to regulate the room temperature which tends to be pretty above average at the coast. For those who love TV there is a wide array of satellite TV channels to choose from on the television sets(flatscreens I might add).While for the outdoor and active types their is a gym, spa, 4 state of the art swimming pools and an outdoor bar at the center of the development.The hospitality of the staff was heart warming, we were made to feel welcome and appreciated throughout our 3 day stay. The food at Lorenzo's restaurant was exquisite and quite exotic especially if your not a frequent sea food eater like myself. The only flaw with Mwembe resort is the fact that there is no white sandy beach within its vicinity, but the resort can arrange for a trip to the beach roughly 1.5 kilometers from the resort where lunch, boat rides and surfing can all be enjoyed at the guest's luxury. We took an open glass boat ride ourselves and swam with the fishes in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean just off the shores of the Marine Park. You can also enjoy a night out at one of Malindi's most exclusive entertaiment spots "Pata Pata" but come with deep pockets, drinks can be quite expensive there.

Room Tip: Go for the 2 bedroom holiday homes, their more spacious and have a great balcony area so you can soa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrRicoSlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Hello Mr.RicoSlick,

Thanks for your amazing review! We appreciate your kind words. We strive to serve the best to our guests. We are happy to help with whatever you need during your stay here.
Hope to have you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here as an RCI exchange for one week! This was our first time to Africa! We were amazed by the tranquility, human kindness and politeness of this place and the staff. The two pools were relaxing and never crowded. I frequently was the only swimmer and this was awesome!!!! So very relaxing!! There were wonderful people working the front desk. The fruit trees on the property are ripe and luscious. We had great shuttles to go into town. Our fridge and kitchen were quite sufficient for our needs. Thank you to all at Mwembe Resort!!!!

Room Tip: Absolutely any room is gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zebraroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Hello zebraroo,

Thank you for your amazing review!! We work very hard to make sure your stay is enjoyable & comfortable, glad you had an awesome time with us.
Hope to have you back soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My name is Bettie n we were there in march 2012. mwembe resort is a cool place outside town where u can have a good family holiday. we stayed there for about four days. the accomodation was good and the staff is very welcoming. we enjoyed every moment there. the gym is not that big n they should expand it alittle bit more. all in all we r looking foward to go back there in december. cheers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Hello Bettie b,

Thanks you for your amazing review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for being candid about the gymnasium, we are in the process of expanding it. I look forward to welcoming you again at our resort!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and we were very happy we did. We loved the fact that it was off the main drag because it was quiet!! There is a free shuttle into town or to the beach, but we were not inconvenienced at all by the set times- if you want to go at other times is costs only 100 Ksh to get anywhere in Malindi, which is only a little over $1. OR (during the daytime) you can walk 10 minutes into town down a mango-lined dirt road. We opted for this more often than not as it was such a pleasant walk!

I'm pretty sure we were the only people to use the pool while we were there although there were at least 20 people staying at the hotel during the week we were. (The pool was very nice- good temp. and long enough to swim laps in.) The apartments and bungalows are spread out throughout the property so it feels very private, like you've got your own little paradise!

As other reviewers have stated, the kitchen facilities are not much to speak of and though there is no dishwashing equipment provided the maid service does not wash dishes. Just don't plan on cooking while you're there.

The bed was kind of uncomfortable (in my opinion, my husband didn't notice anything) and the bathroom needed a bit of updating, but those are really our only complaints!

The staff was wonderful.

We highly recommend Mwembe Resort!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Hello rtav,

Thank you for the great review! Thank you for choosing Mwembe as your honeymoon destination. We are glad you had a great honeymoon. The suite’s bathrooms have undergone renovation and we are excited for you to see the new look.

Hoping you will visit us again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Mwembe resort is a good place located at a distance of about 0.8 km from the main road. One major dissapointment is that it is located far away from the beach. The fridges in the rooms are too small and there is also a lack of fundamental kitchen appliances eg sandwich maker,toaster,blender.etc. The kitchen is too small and the living room area also needs air conditioning. It is a quiet place, highly recommended for couples and not families. There are no joint activities for the members of the resort. The restaurant near the pool area is too ezpensive. However the two pools located in the resort are awesome. The staff are also very kind and the rooms are cleanly kept everyday. Access to the beach through the resort is not recommended since it is too expensive. The air conditioning in the rooms is excellent. All In all it is a nice place. However if the hotel management is reading this I would say there is a dire need for joint activities for resort members. This will 'bring back life' so to speak to the hotel members.- Ndonga Timothy

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timothyndonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Hello Timothy,

Thank you for the feedback on your stay. Thank you for your kind words. Because of our location, the management provides shuttle service to transport our clients to the beach and town center. The suites have undergone renovation and new appliances have been added to the kitchenettes. We are looking into accommodating various joint activities for our guests.

Hoping you will give us another chance by returning to our resort in the near future.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Our first trip to Africa was spent at the Mwembe Resort in Malindi, Kenya. We loved this resort! The atmosphere was relaxing as it was beautiful. Our villa was always clean with fresh flowers placed either on our bed, the table or near the TV almost daily. Although it is not on the beach, shuttle services was provided which gave us the opportunity to sightsee along the way. The staff were all accommodating, friendly and very hospitable. There's Sophia the Property Manager, Nassib the Residental Manager, Zuella the activities Coordinator, Emma, Hope, Jonathan and S. Jamuu. I listed everyone's name we had contact with so that I thank them for treating us with kindness. What we loved most was the Safari trip booked for us by Zuella. Do we recommend Mwembe, Absolutely ! Atmosphere, tranquilly and hospitality rated high with us. (Would love to post a picture, but can't with my IPad. Hopefully I can edit when I'm on my laptop).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amark11120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Hello amark11120,

Thank you for the great review of our resort! Our staff work very hard to offer the best to our guests.
We are glad you had a great time during your stay.

Hope to have you back soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
8.7 mi away
Angel's Bay Beach & Villas Resort
8.4 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
174 reviews
2.7 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
2.8 mi away
Kilili Baharini Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 28 in Malindi
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mwembe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mwembe Resort

Address: Mtangani Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range: £58 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mwembe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an oasis of a tropical garden within exotic plants and giant mango trees from which the name is derived, Mwembe Resort is a luxury experience. The artificial falls created in the main pool give you peace, beauty and tranquility in a breezy tropical garden. Our guests can relax at one of our 4 swimming pools, a bistro, bar or a restaurant. Amazing place for family holidays, weddings or even business conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mwembe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mwembe Resort Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing