We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food, But...”
Review of Baobab Restaurant

Baobab Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 60 Restaurants in Malindi
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Food, But...”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We visited Baobab with family friends who were also staying in Malindi over the Christmas period of 2013. We were 2 families, 4 adults and 3 kids. We went to Baobab for lunch after swimming at the Malindi Marine Park in the morning. When we got to Baobab, on the 26th December at around 2, the waiters were ready to take our orders, however we had to wait for more than an hour for our food to be brought.
Advice: Don't go to Baobab if you are very hungry or if you don't have time on your hands, much less if you have hungry little ones.
The food when it finally came was good, and the place has a nice ambiance and setting with a nice view of the sea.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edmond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    43
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
“It's awesome”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

It's a perfect hotel in malindi with beach view at a perfect price. Service is awesome at the same time food is great.wud definately visit again n suggest for medium budget traveller a great place to hand out

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandeep_gurap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and nice place for lunch outs”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The location of their dining area facing the ocean and the diverse cuisine was great. We got there during the mid day high temperature and we were directed to the outdoor area to enjoy a cold breeze before our meal was ready,a Cold beer did us great. Baobad Restaurant is a great place mostly to those on a roadtrip and want a quiet relaxed meal

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“They understand food service”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

It is always a pleasure to be back at Baobab. I first visited the restaurant over ten years ago and I always make a point of having at least one meal here any time I visit Malindi. They never disappoint with their wide variety of Continental, Italian and Swahili dishes. The portions are generous and the staff can take you through the menu knowledgeably and with ease.

During my last visit, I have a friend from Britain who had never been there and was apprehensive, however, by the end of the outing they were hooked on the food. The seafoods are done well and even local dishes like Samaki wa Kupaka are authentic.

I look forward to my next visit eagerly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmworia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jumbe2010, Director of Sales at Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
The staff and management of the Baobab Restaurant are happy to make your Malindi trips something to look forward to and we are honoured by your encouraging comments. We also eagerly welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

If you want to experience some traditional African food this is the place. Located almost on the beach with a superb view while you are dining. An extensive menu at very reasonable prices. Service is excellent as in most Kenyan restaurants. Try the beef or chicken curry, it is superb.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jumbe2010, Director of Sales at Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Your continued support and patronage has enabled us to keep up with your desired services and we shall endevour to raise the standards even higher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baobab Restaurant also viewed

Malindi, Coast Province
Malindi, Coast Province
 
Malindi, Coast Province
 

Been to Baobab Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing