We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Elena House is a stunning Villa great for family beach holidays and relaxing too
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elena House is a stunning Villa great for family beach holidays and relaxing too
Elena House at sunset The Pool is a wonderful place to relax set just off the main downstairs veranda.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Elena House is a stunning Villa great for family beach holidays and relaxing too
Elena House at sunset
The Pool is a wonderful place to relax set just off the main downstairs veranda.
The cool small bubble pool is set under a canopy of trees is fun and ideal for adults and children.
Indulge yourself on the lower patio while the cool Indian Ocean breeze sweeps through
Relaxing on the sunbeds
DSTV is an option in the comfort of a spacious living room to watch your favourite programmes
The upper quiet balcony offers time to reflect and is the Spa Zone for massages.
All double bedrooms have 4 poster beds and are light airy and modern with an authentic coastal theme
Upper bedrooms with a view to the pool and gardens
All the bathrooms are modern and light and equipped with rain showers
Kililini Beach Spa offers Elena House guests daily membership to the beach resort 5 minutes by car.
Kililini Beach Resort 5 minutes by car or tuk tuk from Elena House
Beautiful Beaches
Casuarina Beach 6:30 am. 5 mins walk from Elena House
Great Fishing
Dow rides in the Bay
Great Wildlife
Beaches South of Malindi
Lamu Archipelago, Manda Island, Kenya Coast
Malindi Flats Mayungu, 20 minutes by Boat from Elena House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Malindi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
SarahAMay
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Elena house for approximately 2 weeks with our kids (8 and 11) and father (7). It was great - close to the beach (not far to walk), easy to catch a tuk tuk into town (a bumpy 15 minutes or so - part of the fun). The house was fabulous - the pool was used extensively and there was so much space. The staff were great - John an experienced italian chef treated us to a lot of great food despite the poor quality and range of kitchen utensils and appliances - he took care of the grocery shopping and menu planning, Alex took care of our every other need and the rest of the staff were fine too. My dad totally indulged and enjoyed all that was on offer - the kids had the pool and after some arranging access to TV for 'down-time'. It would have been more comfortable at night if we had had air-con and the beds weren't great. it isn't that close to the better swimming beaches, but it was easy to organise transport - nb. not cheap as too far for Tuk-Tuks. But minor details really, we were on holiday after all - and we really liked not having WiFi!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and staff service and attention were great as was the house in general.
Liked least: The beds.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiskersg...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“HARD TO BEAT”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed for nearly 3 weeks - 4 men 50+ on a fishing holiday, catching Marlin and Sailfish mainly.

This is a wonderful staffed villa, with an excellent, shaped 10 ft deep swimming pool, filled with mildly salted water from own well. There is a small kids pool as well. Lovely water temperature.

The place was clean, neat and tidy, and kept that way by the three excellent staff - Alex, John and Francis. These guys are great fun and nothing was too much for them. Organise your food anyway you want, and they will make arrangements, and cook you a lovely meal.....laundry as well - no problem.

Plenty of communal areas for relaxing or having a sundowner. We were not too bothered by mosquitos, compared to some other places in Malindi (we go there every year) And the security is very good - maybe even over the top.

The house is located in a residential area, away from the town centre, restaurants etc, and so at the start of the holiday, get a taxi number, and negotiate a regular price to and fro - 500KS per trip (£3.50) You can be collected any time of the day. Tuk tuks are everywhere and are 200KS for up to 3 persons for the journey into town.

Eat out a few times - Karen Blixen has wifi; I love Pizza; Old man and the sea; Oriental; Bao Bab.....and you must try the nearby air conditioned Billionaire's Club Casino. You can have a mild gamble or enjoy the atmosphere at reasonable priced drinks. Naomi was there when we were there. There are many other places.

The spacious rooms had large beds enclosed in excellent mosquito nets, and mostly with fans. I must say, we would have really liked air conditioning in all the rooms. Plenty of drawers and hanging space. Adequate sockets - square UK style for phone charging etc, but regretted there being no wifi.....really a growing requirement nowadays.

Take a trip down the coast to Watamu for the day - Ocean Sports or Hemmingways - fantastic atmosphere - have lunch. Track down Hassan and he'll take you there in a minibus, stay with you, and take you back again - for £35......a great day out.

And try the fishing....you can arrange trips from the Malindi Fishing Club - Kingfisher Boats or Lady Nana - both on the front. Prices from maybe £300 upwards for the boat for the day - up to 4 anglers - top class fishing.

All in all, you can have a quiet relaxing holiday at the pool every day, or be as adventurous as you want - it's a great place, and will be hard to beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: No air conditioning or wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaR1
Nacka, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, beautiful house, and wonderful pool (s)”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights, 3 families, and enjoyed every minute of it. The big pool is amazing and big enought to swim laps, with nice salt water. Upstairs veranda with table tennis, which the kids liked a lot. Downstairs veranda with large dining table, and relax beds swahili style. Comfortable rooms with double och twin beds. Took a while for us to discover the A/C in inner bedroom upstairs, which was needed since it is just under the side roof (ie hot). We never used the outside bedrooms, but they seemed fine too, and had A/C. Very nice and helpful staff. Wonderful food by chef - and good help to buy sea food. Tuk tuk to Nakumatt to buy other groceries. Owner says they will change night guard to a security company, which would be good, although we felt perfectly safe in the house. We can really recommend a day on the boat with Ali - to go snorkeling and to Magic island - which was truly magic. One evening we ate at "The old man and the sea", which we also can recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisydunn...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic House in great location”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Four adults stayed at Elena House in October 2013 for one week. The house was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Despite the many bedrooms there were also 3 very large communal spaces so plenty of room to relax away from the pool too. The pool was large and warm and the garden full of flowers and birds - and all very well kept. The staff were completely fantastic and made our stay wonderful with their local knowledge, charm and sense of humour. The cook Kalu made delicious food every day including amazingly delicious fresh fish ordered for us in the morning by Alex the caretaker. (Alex I believe is permanent but I would suggest requesting Kalu!) The property is only a short walk from the beach and a 10 minute tuk tuk ride from the centre of town. If I could make an improvement it would be to swap the DSTV (which we never watched) for wifi which would be really helpful. Other than that I loved it and would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was gorgeous but the staff made it even better!
Liked least: lack of wifi, and if you did want to go into town at night, you needed to think about transport in advance.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpatTrvl...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and wonderful staff!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

There were four adults and one child that stayed a week at the Elena House. I read a lot of reviews on tripadvisor so will focus on what I like to read when I'm researching a place.

Pros: Two pools (one small cooler pool and a large warmer one), mosquito nets provided, the house is beautiful, the house comes with staff, who were all lovely and helpful!

Cons: it is not on the beach (but very few homes are located directly on the beach anyway) and only two rooms have air conditioning, but all have fans. The only other con for me was there was no wifi (but that's about par for the course in that region)

We felt very safe Elena House and would rent that property again. The owner was very nice and made it easy to organize, which makes the whole experience that much better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wonderful satff and great pool!
Liked least: lack of air con in all rooms and no wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very pleasant break”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Over Christmas and the New Year we enjoyed a really lovely break with family and friends and take away many happy memories. The staff were excellent and helpful, especially Alex who went the extra mile to ensure we were well looked after. He kept the house clean and secure, helped with our laundry was able to advise re shopping and managed to purchase some excellent fish and prawns. We really appreciated Samson’s help with the cooking and washing up and Francis did all he could to help with the chores and keep the outside area clean and tidy.

The outside areas are spacious and well laid out and we enjoyed relaxation time around the pool and the open areas upstairs and downstairs.

The property would benefit from additional air-conditioning and an upgrade to kitchen equipment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outdoor areas
Liked least: lack of air conditioning and dated kitchen equipment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleBan...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacularly Sepctacular”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I went to Elena for my birthday weekend and it was the best 4 days I have spent under the sun. The owner made arrangements for us to be picked up at the airport so we did not even have to worry about directions. The house is cozy and the house staff are so warm...I felt like I had lived with them my whole life...the cooked and cleaned and treated us like royalty...the even went to the fresh fish market everyday and would bring whatever we wanted to eat. I say everyone should go there. The house is a short walk from the marine park where you can hire a boat (and crew) and head out for a day in the ocean (swimming, snorkelling, lunch...). It was fabulous!

Pack a bag ASAP and head out there to unwind

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff and the food
Liked least: The warm pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing