We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place ever!!”
Review of Kenga Giama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenga Giama Resort
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst place ever!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here in December. We had booked for 4 nights but left after the first night because it was so bad. One hour before we arrived the owner called asking if we were arriving that day and when I said yes he sounded very confused. We arrived about 3pm and we were given a room that overlooked the construction of another small villa in the garden. So we had the sound of hammers and drills and no privacy as the bathroom window faced right onto this site with no curtains on the windows. It was obvious we had been given a staff members bedroom at the last minute as there were clothes stuffed into a corner of the wardrobe, medicines in the bathroom closet and the bedsheets were not clean. We were not happy but we did not complain at that point. We just came from a very long journey and we were tired and hungry. We asked about having food and we were told it was not possible at that time so we went out to eat. When we came back I went to take a shower and noticed lots of big ants running around the bathroom floor and I realised they were coming from the closet under the sink. There was a huge nest of ants and some coachroaches in that closet. I reported this and the owner came and sprayed for more than 30 mins. There was no AC or hot water. There was only an old ceiling fan that was not rotating properly and looked like it might fall down any minute! I asked if we could change rooms but we were told that all rooms were occupied. I was shocked when the owner said 'anyways, you have the best room, it is the coolest and the biggest' !! She said the problem with the water was in all rooms because they were fully booked and the boiler is not big enough to accommodate the number of guests!! In the morning I found more bugs in the bathroom and there were no available sun loungers at the small pool. We told the owners that we wanted to clear our bill and leave. They immediately got rude and started insisting that we need to pay for all 4 nights that we originally booked. We threatened to report them to the tourist board and in the end we paid for 2 nights plus the evening meal (that meal was very overpriced at 40 euros pp - a high price for a meal anywhere Kenya!). They insisted we pay the second night as a penalty but this was unfair as we left because of the low standards and service we experienced. This place is cheap for a reason!! There are much better places to stay in the area for around the same price. Even the beach location is not good...they are 10-15 mins walk from the public beach (not 5 min as advertised). If you want to go to the good part of the beach you need to walk much further. If you want to enjoy your holiday then look for another place to stay! This place should not be allowed operate as a tourist facility!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennie1980_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KengaGiama, Proprietario at Kenga Giama Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Google Translation
Ci tenevo a rispondere alla recensione punto su punto:
1) La camera affittata ha ingresso indipendente con veduta sul giardino. Di lato si vede una piccola villetta già completata, pertanto nessun lavoro era in corso, tenuto conto che si trattava del 31/12. La stanza era completamente arredata, comprese le tende alle finestre di colore giallo, inoltre era stata ridipinta esattamente 5 giorni prima.
2) Le lenzuola erano appena state cambiate ad ognuno degli ospiti, nessun vestito o medicinale era presente nell'armadio, tutto era normalmente libero ad uso degli ospiti.
3) Le pochissime formiche sono state eliminate prontamente dal personale nel giro di pochi minuti.
4) L'aria condizionata non è prevista e come tale segnalata. Tutte le stanze sono dotate di regolare ventilatore a pala al soffitto e altrettanto regolare è il flusso di acqua corrente calda 24ore al giorno.
5) La piscina è dotata di un numero sufficiente di lettini per tutti gli ospiti.
6) Le prenotazioni devono essere regolate interamente all'arrivo degli ospiti e per tutto il tempo del loro soggiorno salvo cause di forza maggiore debitamente documentate.
7) Il prezzo della cena a base di pesce, aragosta, granchi ,gamberoni ed altro, era più che modico, considerato che si trattava della cena di capodanno.
8) La spiaggia del Marine Park dista a soli 5 minuti a piedi dal Resort ed è tra le spiagge più belle di Malindi e non solo, dotata di servizi ad uso degli ospiti.
9) Le recensioni su questo Resort leggibili qui, dimostrano ampiamente la qualità di questa ottima struttura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
11
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bjärred
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were having 2 weeks holiday with my family during Christmas and New Years Eve in Malindi Kenya.We were staying at kenga Giama resort which is an excellent resort in the close heart of Malindi. The warm welcome we got when arriving was exceptional.The rooms were fantastic and the service was more than excellent ,The staff was wonderful and the restaurant was one of the best you could find in the area of Malindi. kenga Giama is a homely place , relaaxing and a peacefull area with all the necessary things you need on an vacation.
The brilliant owners Francis and Ivana were the most friendly and nice people I have never met.
I cannot more than recommend the outstanding resort kenga Giama to all visitors in Kenya,
I can can guarantee you that you will not be disappointed with your stay !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rune W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KengaGiama, Proprietario at Kenga Giama Resort, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Google Translation
Grazie Rune sei per noi un amico eccezionale, e la tua famiglia, splendida, ci mancate molto e spero che la prossima vacanza a Malindi sarete da noi. Grazie della recensione e soprattutto grazie della vostra amicizia, Ivana e Francis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed at Kianga Giama while scuba diving on the coral reef of Watamu. I was looking for a peaceful place to relax after a two month stay in Nairobi.

I used matatu and motorbike taxi (pikipiki) to reach Malindi. Kenga Giama is situated in a quiet area south of Malindi town, together with several other lodges and resorts. Upon arrival I discovered that I was the only guest because due to low season. The room I got was above all my expectations and the service as provided by Francis and his employees was outstanding.

Sadly I never got to try the kitchen, as I ate in town the few days I stayed in Malindi.

I will definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a beautiful "get away"! It is not situated directly on the beach, but it is only a short walk away. There is something about the atmosphere of Kenga Giama that is hard to describe, it is beautiful without being too posh or luxurious. It has a personal touch.

Room Tip: The family room (nr 2) close to the reception is spacious and nicely furnished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismcquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

this cozzy hotel is located in a very nice residential area with beautiful villas around, very close to the beach, namely marine park, wonderful place to visit. The hotel is quiet, chilly, perfect for family vocations and not only, the owners of the hotel are very friendly and helpful. Amazing italian cuisine and the italian hospitability make this hotel worth of staying! I definately enjoyed my stay there!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed there with another 2 friends and I have to say this was the best of our stay in this town. A nice house, but the best of all, good people there :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flaviusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KengaGiama, Owner at Kenga Giama Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
This person was here with us and what he said is very true he stayed here with his to friends and they enjoyed their stay as he said hope the will come back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
1.1 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
224 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
#21 of 28 in Malindi
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden House Cottages
Eden House Cottages
#1 of 33 in Malindi
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marine Holiday House
Marine Holiday House
#5 of 33 in Malindi
111 reviews
10.0 mi away
Karibuni Villas
Karibuni Villas
#3 of 3 in Mambrui
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
African House Resort
African House Resort
#1 of 37 in Malindi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenga Giama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenga Giama Resort

Property: Kenga Giama Resort
Address: Casuarina Road | opp.Crocodille Farm, Malindi 1790, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect atmosphere for your vacation in Malindi, Kenya. The resort is approximately 200m from National Marine Park. We have a beautiful salt water swimming pool also ideal for children. The resort also boasts natural splendid garden of plants and tropical flowers. Our Italian kitchen prepares delicious Italian specialties which includes fresh seafood. We also make Continental food. Our rooms are all en-suite and maintained to highest level of cleanliness. The resort is only 2/3kms from Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kenga Giama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenga Giama Resort Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing