We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves all its stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deserves all its stars!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had a 2 nights stay at Ocean beach resort, and we left extremely relaxed. The suite was of very high standards, luxurious and comfortable. To be honest it was difficult to step out of, all we wanted to do was laze around inside. Their full body massages at the spa were absolute heaven, one of the best i've had so far and as for the food....Their Michelin star chef didn't disappoint, the food is excellent! Very good hotel in Malindi and worth checking out!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    30
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
62
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Was traveling with friends for a weekend and everything from the airport transfer to the check in was handled in an exemplary well. The rooms were nice, the suite had a jacuzzi. The best part however was the service from the staff, very warm, friendly and knowledgeable not forgetting the food too.
A return is definitely on the cards.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Had a short stay at OBR&S and I am still happy with the overall experience.
Harvey the manager called ahead of our arrival to ensure we were okay and yo confirm they were expecting us. The rooms as usual were immaculate, the meals and service were top notch.
I'm yet to find a hotel to beat it in Malindi.
Kudos Harvey & team!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdhiamboC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

the reason i said full control is because there are still no better words that can describe this mind blowing place.i was there last week on 18th and decided to come back again yesterday because i could not believe what ive just come across in this country.the service was great staff were friendly and the meals......am not even sure am going to eat anything as good as the meal ive just had here in a long time.Keep it up coz ill be coming back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank distancetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The 1.3km road leading to the hotel is terrible but it seems they now try and patch up a stretch, but that's the only thing bad about this hotel. The ladies at reception are very friendly and always try and make you feel at home, as a matter of fact, the guys & girls in the pub/dining room as well as the housekeeping girls all went out of their way to make live comfortable for me.

The food is good! No wonder, there's an Italian chef in the kitchen! Breakfast offered a small selection but good quality.

The rooms are always clean and tidy, the only complain I can think of is the poor channel selection on the TV. This is mainly a hoilday hotel and maybe management should consider giving the guests a bigger selection of programs. Some movie channels as well as sport.

The hotel is situated on the beach which makes it great for morning or late afternoon walks on the beach! Pity the gym is under renovation but in July these holiday hotels obviously get everything ready for the tourist season which starts in August.

A great hotel! If ever I'm back in Malindi I will most definetly book into this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob312613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is one of Malindi's best kept secrets. I stayed at the resort for two days. Although I was on a business trip, I loved it and will definitely visit again. Its perfect for honeymooners or just to get away for RnR. Friendly and professional staff, who take every detail into account. The rooms are overly comfortable and they have a spa that has a variety of packages on offer. Too bad I didn't get to try it! Breakfast is served outside facing the ocean, and you get to personalize your menu. Great place, I'd recommend for anyone looking for quality comfort and top notch service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kakene_Nzuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great. Relaxing. Superb. Everything was done very well, suites, pools, spa, food, service, everything.... A truly beautiful place to be and would go time and time again.....The attention to detail in the design of the place merged with the quality service... Gobsmacked. Cant wait to return

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naseiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#3 of 28 in Malindi
219 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
#20 of 28 in Malindi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
7.0 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
166 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#2 of 28 in Malindi
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Golf & Country Club, Beach Road | P.O. Box 5296, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malindi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE STARS EXPERIENCE. Ocean Beach Resort is a superior deluxe five star hotel that takes hospitality back to its essence with its unique style of tropical early 20th century style with wooden roofs and elegant wooden floors. It is situated in the sand dunes beach two kilometers north Malindi Township. Malindi, the pearl of Kenyan Coast. This is the favorite destination for those whom are looking for something special. The hotel is on the beach, adjacent to the Malindi Golf and Country Club and only two kilometers north of Malindi Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing