We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Honeymoon location”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Was there with my husband for 3 nights, and must say its Malindi's best kept secret!!
Unlike most hotels with block of rooms, ocean beach resort and spa are cozy cottages with splendid decor, jacuzzi and space... attention to detail.
From the warm welcome smiles at the reception-Mary with such great peoples skills- to the house keeping crew, its like living with family. Thank you Mary for our Malindi tour trip and horse ridding at the beach...Amazing!!
Personalized menus hats off Chef Luka for the tantalizing sea food dinner can still taste months later..he just kept them coming tasty to the last drop!!
It was worth every single cent spent, the spa experience just topped it all up to the relaxing mode.
Lastly a special thanks to the General Manager Mr. Harvey.. we shall definitely come back with our family and friends, it was so relaxing and peaceful.. We Loved it and shall be back..
Its a place once you enter, you dont wanna leave too soon...

Room Tip: Rooms near the ocean...lovely sun set and sun rise as you sleep away to the sound of the ocean breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceShakke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    30
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
35
63
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Varsavia, Warszawa, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Sometimes, very rarely, you end up in a place where literally everything is perfect.
You most definitely are surprised when this happens in Africa.
The SPA is incredible, the food would be gourmet in Milan, the rooms are gorgeous.
One experience not to forget, This is my second time here and surely not the last.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had a 2 nights stay at Ocean beach resort, and we left extremely relaxed. The suite was of very high standards, luxurious and comfortable. To be honest it was difficult to step out of, all we wanted to do was laze around inside. Their full body massages at the spa were absolute heaven, one of the best i've had so far and as for the food....Their Michelin star chef didn't disappoint, the food is excellent! Very good hotel in Malindi and worth checking out!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Was traveling with friends for a weekend and everything from the airport transfer to the check in was handled in an exemplary well. The rooms were nice, the suite had a jacuzzi. The best part however was the service from the staff, very warm, friendly and knowledgeable not forgetting the food too.
A return is definitely on the cards.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Had a short stay at OBR&S and I am still happy with the overall experience.
Harvey the manager called ahead of our arrival to ensure we were okay and yo confirm they were expecting us. The rooms as usual were immaculate, the meals and service were top notch.
I'm yet to find a hotel to beat it in Malindi.
Kudos Harvey & team!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdhiamboC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

the reason i said full control is because there are still no better words that can describe this mind blowing place.i was there last week on 18th and decided to come back again yesterday because i could not believe what ive just come across in this country.the service was great staff were friendly and the meals......am not even sure am going to eat anything as good as the meal ive just had here in a long time.Keep it up coz ill be coming back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank distancetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The 1.3km road leading to the hotel is terrible but it seems they now try and patch up a stretch, but that's the only thing bad about this hotel. The ladies at reception are very friendly and always try and make you feel at home, as a matter of fact, the guys & girls in the pub/dining room as well as the housekeeping girls all went out of their way to make live comfortable for me.

The food is good! No wonder, there's an Italian chef in the kitchen! Breakfast offered a small selection but good quality.

The rooms are always clean and tidy, the only complain I can think of is the poor channel selection on the TV. This is mainly a hoilday hotel and maybe management should consider giving the guests a bigger selection of programs. Some movie channels as well as sport.

The hotel is situated on the beach which makes it great for morning or late afternoon walks on the beach! Pity the gym is under renovation but in July these holiday hotels obviously get everything ready for the tourist season which starts in August.

A great hotel! If ever I'm back in Malindi I will most definetly book into this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob312613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
224 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
#21 of 28 in Malindi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Angel's Bay Resort
Angel's Bay Resort
#2 of 3 in Mambrui
143 reviews
3.4 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
2.4 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 28 in Malindi
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Golf & Country Club, Beach Road | P.O. Box 5296, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malindi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE STARS EXPERIENCE. Ocean Beach Resort is a superior deluxe five star hotel that takes hospitality back to its essence with its unique style of tropical early 20th century style with wooden roofs and elegant wooden floors. It is situated in the sand dunes beach two kilometers north Malindi Township. Malindi, the pearl of Kenyan Coast. This is the favorite destination for those whom are looking for something special. The hotel is on the beach, adjacent to the Malindi Golf and Country Club and only two kilometers north of Malindi Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing