We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, fantastic view and super...”

Review of Himaya House

View across the pool to Silversands beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House Side view of the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House
Side view of the House
View across pool to guest wing
View across pool to main house
View at low tide from part of garden
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Veranda dining table
Entrance to the living room with veranda beyond
Bedroom in separate guest wing
Outside veranda on guest wing
View from Master bedroom window to pool
Looking down to pool from Guest wing
Looking back towards HImaya at far end on cliff
Walking along side Himaya at low tide - in the South Monsoon
Looking out to Marine Park
A sunset from Himaya
Storm over the ocean from Himaya
Fisherman out in May storm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malindi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DenmarkLo...
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, fantastic view and super friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed 5 days in this lovely house. The house has a perfect location on a coral rock. That both give the house and the garden/pool a fantastic view over the ocean but also a natural “protection” from the beach boys. The villa itself is beautiful, well maintained and very clean. All the rooms are hugs and from everywhere in the house you have a fantastic view.
The owner Lissa is extremely helpful. Airkenya Express changed our flight time last minute and because we didn’t get that information we didn’t catch our flight. But Lissa called the airline office and convinced them to put us on another flight. What a service 
Lissa also did all the food shopping for us, so we didn’t have to go to the town but could stay and relax at the pool.
The staff in the villa is super friendly. Sammy the chef is amazing. He cooked delicious food for us 3 times a day. We didn’t even try some of the restaurants in Malindi as Sammy’s food was so delicious. There is also a pool boy that clean the pool 2-3 times a day, a friendly guy that did all our dirty laundry from the safari and a security guy that look after the house as night.
The house give you the perfect setting for a relaxing holiday.
We can warm recommend to stay in this wonderful villa and would love to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constance...
Nakuru, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - a piece of paradise”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As a family we have been to Himaya several times - and always trying to come back. It as an outstanding place indeed - beautiful rooms, stunning views from everywhere and lovely staff taking care. For a real relaxing holiday this is the perfect place. With a clean and big pool and the acess to the beach - but still having the privacy as the house is located on a cliff. The chef is preparing amazing local and international dishes. All the staff are very friedly and very decent. The contact to the manger has always been good and fast in response.
If you are looking for a very special place at the coast: This is it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location, rooms, views, food
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aggie g
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect spot overlooking Malindi beach - we will be back!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Through a carved Lamu door in the cliff face on the beach, up the winding stairs through tropical gardens including two magnificent baobab trees - and you are looking out over the white powdery sands and the warm sea. Himaya is a lovely house - spacious and airy with arched verandas and three large double bedrooms each with en suite bathrooms. The master suite is above the main house with a magnificent view over the ocean and huge bathroom with enormous bath, shower and double basins. The other two suites are set above the swimming pool with lovely verandahs and views of the beach.

Kick off your shoes and lie back on the swahili day bed in the shade by the pool and watch the fishermen sail out to sea in their wooden boats or idly watch from your secluded position above the beach. Utter peace and tranquility. If you want some action you can always ask for a passing tuk tuk to take you into Malindi town and explore the backstreets with shops selling brightly coloured kikoys and kangas, beaded sandals or the sweet cardoman halwa. And then drop by the seafront for a delicious Italian ice cream... Feeling guilty? Then if LIssa is there she can help you ease the strains by doing yoga on the verandah overlooking the ocean. A wonderful place to organise a yoga detox retreat with friends.

We all came back relaxed and fit after being well looked after by Lissa's team - Sammy who can cook up a dream, Silas and his lovely helpers who keep the place ship shape, and Charles the wonderfully attentive security guard to make sure you are safe and secure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position, place and people
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaG5
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Awesome way to celebrate my birthday”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at the Himaya house in early November and we had an amazing time. The location is fantastic, high above the beach (a private entrance to the beach, just follow the steps from the garden). The view from the master bath was spectacular! The kids (13+15) loved to play in the pool (no shallow section, you have to know how to swim). The staff looked after us very well. The chef Sammy prepared all our meals and we did not even bother to visit any local restaurants. Grandma and Sammy set the menu every day. It was easy to get into town by grabbing a tuk-tuk in the street behind the garden. We went into Malindi for sightseeing and shopping. My daughter and I went horseback-riding on the beach a couple of times (it was almost more fascinating to see a hippo where the river met the sea than the ones we saw during our safari!) and our family also went scuba-diving (one day in Malindi and one day in Watamu). Lissa, the owner arranged for our transport to and from Mombasa (2,5 hours). Our vacation could not have turned out any better and it was an awesome way to celebrate my big birthday!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obazma
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise - for total relaxation look no further”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent a week here in October. A ten minute tuk tuk drive from the airport. Himaya is blessed with stunning views of the beach and sea with direct access to the beach. We had daily sunrise walks / runs on the beach or swims in the sea, followed by a dip in the pool and breakfast expertly prepared by Sammy, the house chef.
Himaya House has a team of 5 hardworking, courteous guys who go out of their way to make it a special time. All meals are prepared and the repertoir is vast. We pparticularly enjoyed the fresh sea food. All our clothes were washed, ironed and folded daily. We were truly spoilt.
Despite their being 5 people going out of their way to keep the house clean and food prepared they had a knack of hiding out of the way so you never felt you were stepping over each other.
The owner, Lissa Ruben is very welcoming and has great advice on local places to visit.
Highly highly recommend.
We will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne P
Nanyuki,Laikipia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate beach house”
Reviewed 23 May 2013 for a stay in April 2011

For me Himaya house is the only place to stay in Malindi for several reasons, being up on a coral cliff you have your privacy, wonderful sea breezes keeping you nice and cool in an otherwise hot and sticky environment. Himaya has some magnificent trees in the garden including ancient baobab trees, lush green lawns and lots of very beautiful tropical plants, the pool is a sensible size perfect for cooling off and safe for families with small children.
Because you are right on the beach the fishermen come right past in the season and so you are almost guaranteed fresh fish (seasonal), Sammy knows how to cook fish so well he is an extremely good cook. Lissa is a wonderful hostess making sure all your needs are met and usually goes way beyond what is required of her to make sure you are making the most of being in Malindi. I do highly recommend that you visit Malindi and stay at Himaya so that you can really revel in the joy of being beside the sea , enjoy.......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so close to the sea yet up a bit so felt totally private
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott-Ida...
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“Wonderfu!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 for a stay in December 2012

My wife and I traveled to Kenya for 3 weeks in December, meeting our son who was on a break from Peace Corps. We spent a week at Himaya House, providing a respite for not only us but also the troop of PC volunteers that travelled with us. The House is split between two actual houses either of which would be magnificent alone. The master suite is an house itself, with a wonderful bedroom with open windows that look out across the ocean and the beach. The other house had beds that slept at least 6, and is equally nice, open and airy. The pool is cold, big enough to actually swim in and has a definite deep end. The grounds were beautiful with plumaria and dozens of other plants in bloom. We were serenaded by bush babies at night, and even saw a small hedgehog wandering around at night. I can't adequately describe how beautiful Himaya House and the yard and gardens are. But any reviews would be incomplete without mentioning Sammy. A true chef, versatile and willing. He didn't hesitate when we were invaded one night with extra guests. He made apple pie, a true delight for us and for the PC volunteers. But I remember the fish he prepared most. Each day he would arrange delivery of fresh fish that he prepared any way that we wanted. We certainly had not expected such service and incredible ability when we first made the reservations. And Lisa. Our Peace Corps companions are obviously interested in local events, country wide politics, and history. We had several long discussions with Lisa covering all of these topics. She is a very gracious host--sorry again Lisa for the extra guests. She has a wealth of information about the local customs and events, about the Kenyan parks, and about other areas that should be, and were made part of our trip. I can't recommend Himaya House enough. Visit it--you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$266
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing