We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Probably the best place to stay in Malindi!”

Review of Himaya House

View across the pool to Silversands beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House Side view of the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House
Side view of the House
View across pool to guest wing
View across pool to main house
View at low tide from part of garden
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Veranda dining table
Entrance to the living room with veranda beyond
Bedroom in separate guest wing
Outside veranda on guest wing
View from Master bedroom window to pool
Looking down to pool from Guest wing
Looking back towards HImaya at far end on cliff
Walking along side Himaya at low tide - in the South Monsoon
Looking out to Marine Park
A sunset from Himaya
Storm over the ocean from Himaya
Fisherman out in May storm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malindi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Florian R
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Probably the best place to stay in Malindi!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Amazing stay in this beautiful house, incredibly well situated between the beach and marine park. Lissa and her staff were extremely welcoming and the service exceeded our expectations in every way. The food was delicious and varied, the setting pretty ideal. Just fantastic! Thanks so much and hope to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raza M
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Of all the homes and resorts that we experienced across Kenya and Tanzania, Himaya house was our favorite! Not only is the house beautiful and artful and the location overlooking the ocean idyllic, the people of Himaya are warm, genuine and generous. The owner, Lissa, went out of her way to recommend special experiences and to accommodate our every need . She even took our 11-year-old son under her wing inviting him to help her care for the injured bush baby that she was fostering. The staff too went out of their way to make our stay pleasant, helping with everything from laundry to negotiating fair prices for our excursions in the area. & never have we eaten as well as during our stay at Himaya! Sammy’s cooking is exquisite. Himaya is truly a sanctuary; beautiful, peaceful and pleasurable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff were just amazing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siana y
South Molton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful.”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Wonderful holiday and a wonderful week at Himaya. Could not recommend it highly enough.
So relaxing, friendly staff and very comfortable accommodation. Fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari S
Jinja, Uganda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Family Home for a Holiday”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of 3 adults and 5 children (ages 5-11) stayed at Himaya House for one month and it completely exceeded any expectation we might have had in every possible way. I cannot speak highly enough of what a joy all of our family had. We were in major need of a relaxing, peaceful time and we found that and more. The setting was beautiful and our kids had such a great time swimming in both the pool and ocean. We brought our own snorkel gear and were able to see amazing sea life just outside our private beach door. The amazing staff took care of our every need, but seemed invisible when they were not needed. Lissa was so helpful with all the details and even arranged to have the first lunch, dinner and breakfast taken care of so we wouldn't have to worry about it. The chef, Sammy, made incredible meals that even our picky 5yr old enjoyed. Town was just a short tuk tuk ride away for any food or supplies that we needed. We can't wait to travel back again and hope that Himaya will become a regular part of our children's memories for years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How easy it was to relax and the peaceful atmosphere
Liked least: When it was time to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris i
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday exceeded our expectations by a long way.
The house itself is airy and open with a breathtaking view; well appointed and stylishly designed - you don't just get a door jamb, but a hand crafted piece of work by a carver from Lamu!
Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious, but the staff make the place and the stay memorable - present, but not intrusive yet always ready to help.
All the staff are attentive, but Sammy the chef deserves a particular mention - his prawn curry, Swahili chicken and crab cakes were outstanding, and every meal he prepared for us was delicious.
Lissa was the perfect hostess, she knows everything and everyone; nothing is too much trouble to organise, and because of her local knowledge we actually felt part of the community, rather than just a fly by night tourist.
Look out Lissa - we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody U
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful, fantastic staff & food, on the beach.”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Himaya House is a beautiful and relaxing destination. The highlight would have to be the cook, Sammy, who was brilliant! It was great to have a full-time cook on site. We didn't really want to venture out too much at all because his cooking was so great! We had fresh seafood for seven nights straight, and opted for a change after that. The other staff are lovely, fantastic service, and certainly not too obtrusive, and only too happy to help you with what you might need. It was lovely to sit in the evenings and have a meal overlooking the ocean, very peaceful environment. We stayed for nine nights with our friends and their kids. Himaya House is well set up where we had quite separate sleeping quarters, so still felt like we had a bit of privacy. The pool was well maintained and very relaxing. There is a beach access door from the property, so you can walk straight out onto the beach. Only downside of the whole trip was that our sandals/flip flops were stolen on the first day. Soon learnt that quick lesson: don't leave anything on the beach (our own fault really for not being too careful). The beach also had a few hawkers and youths pretending to be your tour guide then asking for money; but the novelty of us soon wore off after a while and we could enjoy the beach in relative peace. It's a bit of a walk to town, so we took the local tuk tuks, very affordable and quite regular, to town. Lovely and relaxing stay - just what we needed! Would recommend again. Perfect for a group of friends or a couple of families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff and the food
Liked least: Conditions at the beach (sandals stolen)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OcenBen
Gulu, Uganda
1 review
“Best place in Malindi”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Quite, beautiful, friendly staff, with great food. Just what we needed. This is a great place for small groups or families. Everything you need for a pristine holiday on the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing