We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety of birds to view”
Review of Falconry of Kenya

Falconry of Kenya
Ranked #8 of 23 things to do in Malindi
Attraction details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good variety of birds to view”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable.

Lots of birds to view, we were allowed to touch the falcon, owls, and the giant tortoise.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    12
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Surely fun :) Somehow must see if you are already there. I have been long time ago, August 2011, and out guide was quiet friendly and ready to share things we wanted ti know. Also, it was very lovely ti touch the turtle and birds :) I really enjoyed reptiles and just everything. Place was not in perfect condition ( I don't know about now! ), but somehow it was really nice for me. I liked it! <3

Helpful?
1 Thank Nera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great surprise!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The first few minutes of our visit did not look too good. As we entered the premises, it was clear that the local pub still was not yet closed, although we were there at 9am Sunday morning. After a few minutes wondering whom to ask and where to go, the manager greeted us and started the tour with a 120 years old turtle. After feeding the turtle and learning all kinds of details about the species, we moved on looking at Nile Crocodiles and all kinds of different snakes. It was amazing all the information we were given about the different species, where and how they live and what they eat and how often. Then we started on the main reason for our visit to the centre, the birds. It's quite impressive when the first bird that greets you are not only one but two Verreaux's Eagle-Owls! We learned that one of them were injured and would never return to the wild. Because of this, they found a mate, so they could breed. They have been doing this for the last few years and the chicks are released into the wild after 2-3 years. All birds they have follow this project if they can not be released into the wild, they will do breeding. All the birds seemed very content and happy, with nice and clean feathers. The bird handler also seemed very professional and was all the time considering the well being of the birds. Normally I do not like to visit places like this, as you always leave with the feeling of being helpless, without power to help these injured/rehabilitated raptors. But this time, I left without this feeling and was very confident that these birds had a good life and was taken well care of. We were told that the birds were never used in any kinds of shows, but they did use them for educational purposes at the centre. We left a nice donation and encourage everyone that visit this place to do the same.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Festblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disgusting - Don'T Go!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This "attraction" is completely disgusting! The snakes are kept in deplorable conditions, living in their own feces and without any water. When I asked why the snakes had no water, was told they get water from there food, as a reptile and bird keeper, I can assure you that this is completely deplorable and inhumane. The guide is poorly informed and has very little real knowldege of either birds or reptiles.The crocodiles are kept in an overly populated enclosure, where fighting over food has caused one small crocodile to loose part of his snout. Also the birds are not rehabilitated and set free, but rather caught for the purpose of tourism. The birds live in unsuitable enclosures and show signs of stress. The giant tortoise is used to give children rides, why parents would allow their children to subject the tortoise to this, is beyond me. Don't support this place, don't waste your money and give it a skip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CynthiaG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice visit if you have kids”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Guide was very friendly and really took the time to guide us around. It's nice for kids to be able to see and touch animals.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VGSHTairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Falconry of Kenya also viewed

Malindi, Coast Province
Malindi, Coast Province
 
Malindi, Coast Province
Malindi, Coast Province
 

Been to Falconry of Kenya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing