We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondrous hospitality”
Review of B&B Mela's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Mela's
Ranked #6 of 37 Malindi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wondrous hospitality”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Wilma, Gianni and the staff gave us a quite magical experience. With a few thunderstorms during our stay, it was never an inconvenience sitting in the pillared living room with a Tusker. The food was wonderful as were the suggestions for local safaris and fishing - I caught a marlin!

The staff were attentive and friendly and the bedrooms cool and airy and Gianni and Wilma gave so much more than the average hoteliers when it came to hearing their life stories over freshly caught prawns and fish. A wonderful stay at Mela - I heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
10
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We would like to thank you for a wonderful plesant stay keep it up and looking forward to come back.. You could reach nearly every place in Malindi in about ten minutes with a tuktuk.Perfect place to relax for a way moments its very good.The grounds and pool were well-maintained. Our bedroom was clean and the shower and bathroom . We had a breakfast of toast, fruit, eggs, juice and sausage every morning.We had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed our stay.The owners are very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sound_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabrück, Deutschland
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Mela`s B&B is the ideal place to have relaxed days in Malindi. The bed- and bathrooms, the dinning place (outside) and the poolarea are lovely decorated and in a nice condition. The owners are very friendly. You could reach nearly every place in Malindi in about ten minutes with a tuktuk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatharinaCordes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

My husband and I are from the USA but now live in Nairobi. We came to Malindi to escape the craziness and relax which made Mela the perfect place for us. Giani, the owner made us feel very welcome and made suggestions for restaurants, bars, and beach parties. The grounds and pool were well-maintained. Our bedroom was clean and the shower and bathroom had modern amenities with great water pressure and hot water. We had a breakfast of toast, fruit, eggs, juice and sausage every morning. We had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed our stay. We would definitely come back and recommend it to friends. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afine32889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbmela, Manager at B&B Mela's, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your flattering comments. We really appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed there for 6 nights, it is a very nice place! Quiet surrounding, only a few minutes walk to the beach. A little bit far from town, but with a tuk tuk Malindi can be reached within 10 minutes. So it is a perfect place for a relaxed, private, easy going holiday. The pool is nice, and the compound is covered with a beautiful lush garden. The room and the bathroom are spacious, and always kept clean.
Staff is friendly and very helpful, and most flexible. Breakfast can be taken at any time of the day, as we like to sleep very long that was a fantastic plus! Breakfast fresh made at 1.00 pm - that is something you would not find in many places!
Best value for the money paid! Would definitely go back!
Only down: Change of towels only on request and aircondition in our room was not really cooling.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evaever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbmela, Manager at B&B Mela's, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear guest. Thank you very much for finding time to write a review about us. We really appreciated your comments.
Hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Mela's is a dream holiday that came true for my friends and i...top service and the welcome from Mary the manager and staff-amazing!!! Not forgetting the environment so cool.I want to come back to Mela's anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbmela, Manager at B&B Mela's, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
So pleased for what you wrote about us! Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Absolutely over any expectation. fascinating place to spend my holiday, everything cool. the charming atmosphere, the warm welcome by Gianni Bassi, the elegance and the attention on general service. Nice and comfortable swimming pool and not last the beach and seaside so close.
Why not get back there next time?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbmela, Manager at B&B Mela's, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you so much....We are happy we contributed to making your stay in Malindi a pleasant experience! Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden House Cottages
Eden House Cottages
#1 of 33 in Malindi
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 28 in Malindi
472 reviews
9.1 mi away
Karibuni Villas
Karibuni Villas
#3 of 3 in Mambrui
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
African House Resort
African House Resort
#1 of 37 in Malindi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Mela's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Mela's

Property: B&B Mela's
Address: Casuarina | POBox 5118, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along Casuarina Rd, opposite Kilili Baharini Resort, 100 metres from the main road. We offer Dstv, free internet, air conditioning and hot water in all rooms, swimming pool, top security and a specious tropical garden. Maximum comfort and privacy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Mela's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Mela's Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing