We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very beautiful laid back place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simba House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simba House
Ranked #4 of 38 Malindi B&B and Inns
Nairobi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very beautiful laid back place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Simba house for the weekend and it was such a great place. Terry was very welcoming and she really made us feel at home. The house is gorgeous and every time we went out and went back it always felt like going home. Even though this is also where Terry and Carlo live, the manage to make you feel at ease with no intrusions at all.
Thanks Terry & Carlo for having us at your home. if looking for a lovely quiet place to stay this is definitely it!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
26
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 3 beautiful days at Simba House in July. Terry and Carlo, the owners, made us feel home from the very first moment we stepped in. The B&B is extremely clean and enjoys an enviable location, being situated 150mt away from the Marine Park. The great attention to detail, comfort, Carlo's stories and the three dogs made the staying perfect. I must admit that I cried when we left Simba House. Terry and Carlo - ci rivediamo presto!! E grazie di tutto!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Sometimes when places look great on the net, they fail to live up to expectation and you are left thinking how talented the photograper was to make it look so good. Simba House does not come in to this group - looks great on the web IS brilliant in the flesh.

Don't expect to be fawned over, you are staying in their house but you will feel like a family friend by the end of the first day. Beautiful house in Swahili coastal thatch style, no real walls in the main living room, who needs them?! They would stop the bats & bush babies from coming in at night.

Carlo & Terry very unobtrusively live there and are very keen to help and make sure all is as it should be. We stayed for 4 nights this January and could not have been happier. You can hear the waves crashing on the nearby beach and you are a 100 Shilling Tuk Tuk ride from the "centre" of Malindi. The pool there is a lovely way to properly wake up before the fruity, healthy breakfast.

Room Tip: there are only two - ask for the on with air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

An amazing house in a beautiful compound, green, flowers, fresh, quite. The pleasure of being waken up in the morning by the birds singing! The owners are a really nice couple that from the very first time made us feel at home. Full of little details, such as tea with cake as a welcome afternoon, super nice breakfast, beautiful rooms, super clean. The staff working there were also very nice and welcoming. Only 10 minutes walking to the marine national park and easy to go to Malindi city center and other places by tuk-tuk. Good quality-price. We would definitively go back! I really recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
0.2 mi away
Dorado Cottage
Dorado Cottage
#12 of 28 in Malindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#3 of 28 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
African House Resort
African House Resort
#1 of 38 in Malindi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.4 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
0.8 mi away
Eden House Cottages
Eden House Cottages
#1 of 32 in Malindi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simba House

Property: Simba House
Address: Crocodile Road | Casuarina, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes away from the Marine Park's entrance, where you can go on boat trips, walking distance from the Snake and Crocodile Farm, where you can admire all types of reptiles of Africa. We are located in the Casuarina area that offers the most beautiful and trendiest beaches of Malindi. Visit our web site to discover our special offers and all the holiday packages prepared for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Simba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simba House Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing