We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
African House Resort
Ranked #1 of 37 Malindi B&B and Inns
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Retreat”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Fantastic hidden retreat 10 mins outside of Malindi. Just 4 or 5 rooms so there is terrific privacy. The pool is lovely and atmosphere is very relaxed. There is wifi, but not in the rooms. The service was outstanding. Would highly recommend this hotel.

There are a few areas that could be improved upon. It would be great if the wifi could be extended to the rooms, though it is available around the pool. The prices in the restaurant were a little too high (especially when compared with the best restaurants in Malindi, the Rosada and The Old man and the Sea). Also, some international TV channels would have been nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeDee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This place is hidden gem in Malindi, but still in a good location. This very small hotel has very luxurious feel to it, especially for that price. The decor is grand and fantastic, rooms are huge. Food (including breakfast) is prepared a'la carte to Your liking. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the dogs and a cat makes every animal lover smile.

Room Tip: There are two villas and rooms in the main house. If You are looking for very-romantic, book a villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kätrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

African house is a fantastic place hidden behind all the other beach resorts. Me and my girlfriend was blown away of how beautifull and nice this place was. The resort has a lot of african arts and funitures, which gives the place a personal and cozy atmosphere. Friendly people and the service was great. And its cheap as well. We truely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbrinchmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda-Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Jm Mario Huijbregts from the Netherlands and J wilwrite some thing about African House resort
J bean there for 2 weeks there and it was so biutiful Hotel,very nice rooms and a very nice staf they help me with every thing wat J want the do,J travel a lot n all this years and visit a lot of 5 star Hotels but for me s this the best Hotel where J visit,its very nice when you looking for pravitsie and also luxery than s this the best Hotel n Malindi, J wil also thanks Nelly from the reseption wat she have done for me and here advise arround the hotel and the information about Malindi town, wel thanks for all and when j come agains J wil visit your Hotel agains
Best regard Mario Huijbregts from the Netherlands

Room Tip: every room are excelent to stay your Holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

There are so many good things to say about African House Resort that I don't know where to start. I will start by saying that if good service is high on your list of requirements when choosing a hotel for your vacation then African House Resort is your place.

First, the service was outstanding. Fredrick, our waiter, took care of our every need. He was available to provide service for anything we needed during our stay, and that service was superb.

Second, the decor is outstanding. After our quick check-in, the owner escorted us to our private cottage. It contained a huge bedroom, with over-sized bed, large bathroom with shower, sick, toilet and bidet, and a very large changing room with lots of storage. The room was quiet, clean and very comfortable.

On the covered veranda was a very large, comfortable daybed and a lounge chair. We spent most of our evenings sitting out there relaxing and enjoying the beautifully landscaped grounds. There is also a very large pool with lots of lounge chairs and several day beds. We swam in the pool one night as well. It is not too deep but very large. I got a good swim and did some water aerobics in the pool.

There is also a restaurant that was steps from our cottage. You can schedule your breakfast during the time frame that breakfast is served, and it will be ready at that time. Our breakfast consisted on eggs (your way) toast, chicken sausage, juice, coffee and fruit.

The evening of our arrival, we had dinner at the restuarant. The food was delicious.

African House is located on a quiet residential street. It is within walking distance to the main road and the beach.

I would highly recommend staying at African House, and I cannot wait until my next visit there.

Room Tip: View the pictures on the website and pick a room that is suitable for you. There are several to cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmaven_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The African House Resort is a magnificant little piece of quiet royalty nestled between swaying palm trees and thatched roofs. When you walk by the pool, you're greeted by a pair of stone dolphins and head to your rooms up a magestic staircase. It's all like something out of a palace in the 1900's but the wireless internet, helpful staff, and Italian hospitality of the owner all provide a warm, inviting and modern feel.

A quick walk to the pristine ocean, its is wonderfully situated. You can't go wrong! We enjoyed our stay immensely!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and there is a plenty of open terrace space for lounging, reading or using y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hparwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
0.6 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
#21 of 28 in Malindi
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 28 in Malindi
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
0.2 mi away
Eden House Cottages
Eden House Cottages
#1 of 33 in Malindi
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marine Holiday House
Marine Holiday House
#5 of 33 in Malindi
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African House Resort

Property: African House Resort
Address: Mahogany Road | Casuarina Area, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — African House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African House Resort, a jewel of its kind within the coastal region with 7 superior double rooms only featuring columns and art, sits on a very quiet and peaceful 1.5 acres. African House Resort is immersed in a beautiful tropical garden dotted with tall palms and beautiful plants. There is a special relaxing atmosphere where you will feel spoiled and enjoy the comfort and privacy of a friend's home. The African House, run by an Italian owner who has lived in Africa for many decades, stands out for its attention to detail. The resort fuses love of African culture with Italian taste and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your African House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African House Resort Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing