We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but could be even better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandies Tropical Village
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Malindi
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stayed here for 6 days recently and enjoyed my stay. The rooms are clean, spacious, good A/C and nice bathrooms BUT there are no TV's, tea making facility or internet in the rooms which was very disappointing. There was only one TV available and many different nationalities vying to watch their own programs.The hotel itself is beautiful with grass roofs and drapes on the balconies making it look really nice. The pool is very clean and well maintained and the staff are very helpful and polite. The animation team are very friendly and fun guys and did their best to help and amuse everyone. The hotel is only a 5 minute ride from the town centre with small supermarkets, banks and restaurants as well as some souvenir shops.
The hotel restaurant had some real negative points. The biggest one is allowing smoking and non smoking guests in the same areas. The restaurant has 2 clear sides to it so why do they allow this when it is easy to divide them. Being a non smoker it was not nice to be sat surrounded by 3 tables that all smoked. The restaurant has open sides to it but the air does still not circulate. Also when I asked for fresh juice I was surprised to find that all the juices on offer in the hotel are a powdered mix and NOT fresh at all. The starter and main course options were good but the desserts were more or less the same every day and the fruit was not of the best quality. The beach boys can be a nuisance but if they try to sell you boat trips or safaris then just tell them you already did it. Do not carry money with you on the beach and then with the rest trying to sell you stuff you can just show them empty pockets. The prices are much cheaper in the town anyway. If you enter into any conversation with them you will be plagued by them. They also have Diamond Dreams Hotel 5 star next door. It really is nice if you can afford it. Overall I would go back. It was very relaxing and staff pleasant, especially the lady doing the ice creams.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights whilst visiting relatives in Kenya recently.

About the hotel:
Service: friendly staff who try hard to please. Although we did come across the occassional grumpy barman or waiter, overall most staff tried hard to please and gave us good service. Staff at the main bar were very friendly and gave good service. Also, the beach and pool beds staff were very helpful. On a couple of occassions, the gardener even brought us fresh coconuts at my request (all nicely decorated!). We had forgotten one of our chargers and staff in the diving centre went beyond call of duty and lent us their personal charger.

Beach: There is a reef further out and so it is safe to swim in the sea here (hotel is on the beach). There were some areas in the sea with no weeds and you can swim here (if you dislike the weeds). Water is relatively calm and warm (we visited at one of the colder times of year - 25 degrees C during the day). This isn't the best beach in Kenya - there are better beaches on the South Coast (e.g. Diani area), but it wasn't bad. There are beach boys here (more than I have seen on the South Coast), but if you apply normal precautions and don't talk to them they will leave you alone. Other tourists encouraged them by giving them business daily despite the hotel's advice and so they continued to hang around, staring into the hotel from the beach. We did not talk to them and so did not have any issues. There is hotel security where the beach beds are (and a clear separating small wall between the beach and where the beach beds are). Compared to other beach hotels in Kenya, the security staff here were not as proactive clearing off the beach boys hanging around although I didn't feel unsafe. Security could have done a better job.

Rooms: we stayed in the Deluxe room. Rooms are basic. All rooms are garden facing rooms. There is no TV and no kettle in the room. But we didn't mind this and we were not too far away from reception if we wanted tea/coffee. Room has a fridge which is restocked (and included in the all-inclusive package). Water bottles are also included in the all-inclusive package. There was a fan and airconditioning, although it was rather cold having the air conditionining on at night as it was directly above the bed (if we didn't leave it on we'd be too hot). Bed was ok, although not the most comfortable. We did have an issue when we were first showed the room - the room had not been used in 3 months (hotel had just reopened), there was the smell of fresh paint (which bothered us on our first night but was fine afterwards) and there was a single bed with a double mattress parked on one side of the room (we only needed the king sized bed that was already there). Housekeeper eventually agreed to remove the single bed and large mattress after we argued a little. Also, we had to request more pillows (2 small flat pillows provided for a super large king sized bed) but these were provided promptly. Deluxe room had a nice large verandah with day bed (and evening sun) overlooking central large garden.

Sports: limited sport activities. The animators preferred to play volleyball with the Italian groups and excluded others (unless they were good). Archery was ok, although not exciting. Not much else.

Night entertainment: we have seen a lot of similar entertainment at other hotels in Kenya and so don't tend to watch the night entertainment - we just had early nights in.

Food: Chef went out of his way to accomodate our special dietary requirements and on most nights prepared a special dish for us (best to give him some notice as you'd expect in any hotel). Happy with the fish offering (grilled, baked, etc.). Also pasta and pizza on the menu for lunch and dinner. Overall, I think the food was good (although not the best I have ever had). In line with what i would expect from a 3//4 star hotel. Drinks - wine and beer are included in the all-inclusive during the day and from 6pm onwards cocktails are also included.

Pool: clean pool with a large deep end.

Reception area: there is a really nice open air lounge near the reception area where most guests had pre-dinner cocktails and socialised. Free wifi all day.

Airports: We flew in and out from Malindi airport (about 15 min by car). You can barter down the rate from the airport to the hotel to around ksh 1000 which is the standard rate (although way overpriced for the distance).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sachlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

4-hr bumpty bumpty Kenyan road transfer , clutching my confirmed accommodation voucher, check date & time : ok

entrance gate closed & locked !

closed for 2 months already...... no review !!!



looked so-so through long-grass,distant beach

Room Tip: make sure IT IS open !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank strandloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The Rooms and Hotel is great.
But Useless Staff in the Dining and Bar.
Service very poor.
No Refills at the Buffet Counters, limited dessert and food.
No Vegeterian variety and food apart from pasta.
Nonveg for four days seemed recycled lobsters and calamari and octopus. no fish and chicken was served.
staff are theives mobile phone got stolen from the dining table.
Sea club activities not to par to other hotels that have sea club.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeepeeDodhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My family and I recently stayed at Sandies for four nights. I didn't expect much reading some of the reviews , but I was surprised ( in a good way ) when I got there . The place was beautiful ! It's not the Hilton or the four seasons , but that's not what we were looking for . If you just want to get away for the hustle and bustle of the city - it is the perfect place to stay . Pros : free wi-fi - it's available all day everyday :) the staff - they are very friendly. The food : the fish was defiantly a highlight , grilled ,baked , fried - it was amazing . There's only one tv ( yes it's a pro ) this makes for spending quality time with your family . The beach is within walking distance - well the resort is on the beach . there's a spa right next door ! There is security on the beach - it is really safe . There's a minibar in the room - full of water and drinks . It is restocked daily .

Cons : the drive from Mombasa is two and a Half hours - the roads aren't that good either . The beach boys - yes they are there , but didn't annoy us , although lying on the beach when someone is watching you is Awkward . I'm guessing they re-did the bathrooms , but the water out the shower is saltwater.

Things to carry : sun block - lots of it
Mosquito repellent
Overall I rate this place 4.2 /5

Room Tip: Get an expensive suite - you get what you pay for !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Priyanka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have just spent a wonderful 7 nights/8days at Sandies. We were a bit sceptical at first because of a few bad revues - however, this proved to be totally unfounded.
This is a 4 star resort with 5 plus star treatment. The pro's and cons as follows:
Everything from the rooms to food, entertainment, staff, location, value for money - 5 star.
Cons - the famous Malindi beach boys - BUT not the hotel's fault.
Special mention must be made to one of the managers, Mr Allan Ochsner, who went the extra mile to make sure our stay was PERFECT. Well done, Allan, keep up the good work!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindy541303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

the biggest asset to Sandies Tropical Village is surely their staff! From the checking in procedure for a group of about 50 right through to meals, entertainment, crisis management, all was handled extremely proffessional! it is a lovely drive from the airport to Malindi, giving you a nice view of the rural coastline. It is ideal for families, if you want something quieter i will suggest Dreams of Africa. Rooms are very basic, but spacious enough, would maybe grade it as 3 star rather than 4, that is compared to South Africa's grading system. The food is good enough, but be aware that precautions should be taken as a lot of people on our trip got sick. The staff was amazing when I was sick and send a doctor out. The only real negative thing is the Beach Boys, I read the reviews here and thought it can't be that bad....it is bad! You can basically not put your feet on the beach without being harrassed, we did the beachwalk with them on the first day, which was very informative, but they are just so persistent that it becomes extremely irritating. Everything they sell is either the same prize or cheaper at the hotel. The diving on the glass bottom boats is a MUST DO, book with Rodgers at the reception desk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
0.2 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 29 in Malindi
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angel's Bay Beach & Villas Resort
8.9 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
10.2 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 29 in Malindi
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 29 in Malindi
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandies Tropical Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandies Tropical Village

Address: Casuarina Road, Malindi 68, Kenya (Formerly Planhotel Tropical Beach Resort)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
Price Range: £65 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandies Tropical Village 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandies Tropical Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Tropical Village Hotel Malindi
Planhotel Tropical Beach Hotel
Planhotel Tropical Beach Malindi
Sandies Tropical Village Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing