We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Congratulations for owners and staff!”
Review of Scorpio Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scorpio Villas
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Besides we were the only guests from Poland we could feel cosy. You can have a real rest in this place: in our room, at our tarrace, at the pool and, in the evening, while listening to the black live music. The special atomsphere was created by amazingly well-cared greenery and the staff made their best to guess our wishes. We are looking for the next summer to come back with our family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bożena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Would have loved to have stayed at this hotel. Booked with Cosmos for a stay over Christmas. However with less than 48 hours notice we were told by Cosmos that they were no longer sending clients to this hotel. Ended up at another hotel just outside Mombassa which was unsatisfactory to say the least. If you have a booking with Cosmos for this hotel you may wish to check with them that you will actually be staying here rather than risk a last minute change or cancellation. I personally will not be booking any holiday with Cosmos again after this shoddy treatment.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
Thank Coopell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

A superb value for money hotel. Excellent food, superb choice. Excellent bar prices on a par with local bars. The whole complex spotlessly clean. Rooms simple but functional and spacious.Pool areas are well maintained too.
The hotel owners are very much in the forefront making sure everything is just right but the staff seem on the ball anyway and are all very pleasant and courteous.
Some balcony areas outside the rooms are in deep shade but that might be a welcome respite from the heat of the sun. Some rooms involve a fair few flights of steps to negotiate especially those furthest from reception and the bar areas, so beware if you have walking problems.
Then there is the thorny question of prostitution.Personally it didn't bother us one bit. You wouldn't even notice if it were not for the fact that a few couples are a different colour . It probably goes on in most hotels around the world, but not as noticeable for that reason. Everyone was otherwise discreet and impeccably behaved. If you are troubled by what is going on around you I suggest you spend more time looking at your partner in stead of someone else's.
Highly recommended hotel although personally I wasn't impressed with Malindi

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveinNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel during our trip in Mid-December 2011. This resort is not too big and doesn’t get crowded. There is four large pool and close access to the beach. There is a guard on the beach to avoid some of the hassle coming from the beach boys trying to sell you their wares. The beach wasn’t the nicest when we were around due to the river overflowing and mud being drag on the beach (not that this is management fault in anyway). The breakfasts offered were very diverse with quality food. The rooms were clean and the staffs were accommodating. The only issue is if you think you want to go to bed early you better get rooms further from the bar as there is a good bland playing but they are quite loud.

Room Tip: Avoid room by the bar if you are planning to go to bed early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boutip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Well have stayed in Scorpio Villas many times and very much intend to return in March 2012.

Always feel safe as sometimes be alone, enjoy food and close to Malindi, its safe to walk during daytime alone and no-one bothers you. Problem this year Cosmos not doing holidays there so ha e book direct and this way guess no return if for any reason unable to go. Paid deposit and March the rates get less. Safety is No 1 to me and this is everywhere in world not just kenya!!

rosemary/Ireland

Room Tip: All rooms are fine especially if able to climb some steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unga007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I Latifah got married over there but then I lost my wedding pix; when I came to Nairobi.
Nevertheless, everything was great!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Latifah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

this was our 3rd visit it just gets better the food is very good a very large selection and well prepared and very good quality the staff throughout the hotel are fantastic with regard prostituts no problem if any come into the dining they and their friend keep to themselves we have travelled the world but the scorpio is among the best we will be back again in spring.

Room Tip: just go and soak it up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barrythe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
233 reviews
9.6 mi away
Angel's Bay Beach & Villas Resort
1.7 mi away
Dorado Cottage
Dorado Cottage
#14 of 28 in Malindi
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
9.3 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scorpio Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scorpio Villas

Address: Mnarani Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#6 Family Hotel in Malindi
Price Range: £55 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scorpio Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scorpio Villas is an attractive Small Resort where guests stay in Lamu-style, thatched cottages, furnished with hand-carved furniture including a large four poster bed. Every cottage has a large, shady terrace and the dining waiter will serve breakfast here every morning (on your request, or you may wish to dine in the restaurant). The villa accommodation is interspersed with four swimming pools around which you'll find sun beds and chairs. It is only 50 metres, along a path, to the white sands, private Beach With Umbrella & Sunbeds. Only 1.5 kilometres from the centre of Malindi. This hotel is conveniently situated and is popular with repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scorpio Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scorpio Villas Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Resort Malindi
Scorpio Villas Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing