We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money, lovely place to stay”
Review of Scorpio Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scorpio Villas
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I booked this directly over the phone and was given a very good rate. Malindi is a lovely town and the villas are beautiful. The grounds are lush and green and the way it is spread out across the different swimming pools makes for a quiet and private environment. The staff are friendly and the rooms are big. Some of the bedding and towels are a bit 'old' and could do with replacing but everything is very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing one of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda_and_Gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    118
    34
    17
    11
See reviews for
56
209
64
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 2 week visit to Kenya and chose it mainly based on previous reviews and for being located within Malindi itself as we like to be able to walk into town and see a bit of the local surroundings.
We liked it so much we checked out of our hotel in Watamu (TBBC) a day early so we could go back to Scorpio Villas for another night before returning home!
It's great value for money and it has a really relaxed feel to the place - it was also lovely and quiet compared to the kids clubs and animation teams at TBBC! (which I will review separately)
It's easy and cheap to get into Malindi - you can walk or get a tuk-tuk for just 100 Ksh
It was low season when we went so I guess will be different in August but I would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willow572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed at Scorpio villa while on a business trip to Malindi. The staff are really nice. The rooms are lovely, they have four clean swimming pools, the scenery at the hotel is wow! The price is just right! There is really not much to complain about while at Scorpio villas.
A little advice though, if you are staying for a long period do not pay full board or half board just pay bed and breakfast and then go into town and have some great Italian pizza and pasta. The food at the hotel was good but after some days it became boring because it was the same menu EVERY DAY! Maybe it is because I was there during low season. Probably this changes during the high season.
At dinner there is a live band of 2. They are great but then again it gets boring after some days as it is the same songs same people every day. They are lovely though if you do not mind monotony!
All the same I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed at Scorpio Villas for a long weekend. Early June - still off-season, so there were very few guests. No compromises on the quality of hospitality though: the buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner were MAGNIFICENT - comparable to 4 or 5 star lodges elsewhere in Kenya. The managers are very friendly and our kids played with theirs on the beach for the whole duration of the stay.
The resort is nice, building quality is OK but local standard. The rooms are a bit dark, but roomy and there are comfy swahili-style daybeds on the large terraces. Swimming pools are great, there is even one that is close to 20m long for swimming laps.
Only real disappointment was the lack of water sport facilities. The resort depends on neighboring places that were all closed off-season - so no windsurfing or kayaking this time of the year!

Room Tip: Room 9 is a very large family room with two king-size beds in separate areas. A bit dark, but perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Hi ALL

Scorpios villas was recomended to us by our tour guide- I know i praise him in all my reviews but he was excellent-anyway. where to start about this place.....

i cant remember if they bargined on the price i just remembered being satisfied with the price. We have three small kids 1.5/5/6 years old. They adored the place, it has 3 pools so they had one pool to themselves. it right near the beech so that was an adventure but most of all they loved the range of food in the all you can eat buffet. The staff there got to know the kids so they felt really special.

One of the nights I went down to reception and asked for a doctor for my son, the staff jumped to attention and had a doctor there within 20 minutes. They even showed me bakc to my room because I was afraid to walk bakc alone in the dark.

The hotel was imaculatly clean. Had great airconditioning. Nice toilet/shower in the room and interesting local design beds.... really intricate wood work

I cant wait to go back.
Dont hesitate to email for info

A--Ireland

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadaqa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Lovely hotel, great facilities, amazing beach, tasty food

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingusiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had very good communication over the net and via telephone in and were received warmly by their excellent staff. The rooms were excellent with working AC and a fan and warm water and a lot of food. The rooms were very spacious with DSTV.

I can recommend everyone to go there. Their swimming pools, yes pools...3 of them...maybe the fourth is up and running....are clean and well maintained. They are also private with very warm and fluffy cushions all over the four or five chilling out areas.

My wife didn't like the bathrooms very much....and at times, we had to wait for something to happen to get warm water but given our patience, we always got the warm water. Nice service.

They have a nice band almost every evening and there were lots of free cocktails and bitings just before dinner. They also have a lovely and cute access to their private beach which was periodically well maintained. The beach is not crowded and they provided towels on request.

The girls at the reception were excellent. We could have left more tip if only we had stayed one day less......My wife was given a hair dryer after she went swimming and her cap let in water....

I think Sarah and Simeone are the owners and they are also the best hosts you can ever have. Sarah gave us a very good deal which we couldn't refuse.

The waiters were well dressed, very friendly, courteous and for were ready to assist. Very good at meal suggestions, quick to respond, my wife was quite impressed! Me too!

The ambience is round the whole place is very welcoming. If we could, we'd stay for another week or two...or three!

Great Place!

Room Tip: Ask for the ones with AC, close to the pool but farthest from dining area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
11.6 mi away
Che Shale
Che Shale
#1 of 3 in Mambrui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
9.3 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
African House Resort
African House Resort
#1 of 37 in Malindi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scorpio Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scorpio Villas

Property: Scorpio Villas
Address: Mnarani Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#6 Family Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scorpio Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scorpio Villas is an attractive Small Resort where guests stay in Lamu-style, thatched cottages, furnished with hand-carved furniture including a large four poster bed. Every cottage has a large, shady terrace and the dining waiter will serve breakfast here every morning (on your request, or you may wish to dine in the restaurant). The villa accommodation is interspersed with four swimming pools around which you'll find sun beds and chairs. It is only 50 metres, along a path, to the white sands, private Beach With Umbrella & Sunbeds. Only 1.5 kilometres from the centre of Malindi. This hotel is conveniently situated and is popular with repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Jovago.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scorpio Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scorpio Villas Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Resort Malindi
Scorpio Villas Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing