We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Scorpio Villas and find Geoffrey”
Review of Scorpio Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scorpio Villas
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Last December my daughter took me to Malindi in Kenya. We stayed there for 6 days in Scorpio Villas, which is the complex of bungalows situated in wonderful gardens. It's just a brilliant place with a private beach. The staff is very friendly, rooms big and comfortable, the food delicious. And, what was very important, the hotel wasn't crowded at all. We highly recommend Scorpio, in which we enjoyed every moment of our stay.
And there is Geoffrey, a professional guide, a friendly person and a great companion. You can find him outside the hotel gate at the beach. He offers very good prices and can organize anything you want. We went on 2 day safari to Tsavo East (Geoffrey always noticed the movements of animals before we could), blue safari on the Indian Ocean (great adventure with yummy grilled sea food lunch on the boat) and the trip around Malindi (interesting to see the Kenyans' life).
So if you decide to go to Kenya, the very good choice is to stay in Scorpio and find Geoffrey. Satisfaction guaranteed!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last week. Excellent attention from restuarant staff and very good selection of tasty food. When our group checked out we found we could not pay our bar bill and laundry costs by card, because the machine broke about 3/4 months ago and they would only accept cash. Exchange rate was KSH130 =£1.
Luckily our bill was not too high!
Lovely beach and beautiful gardens. Would stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed in Scorpio Villas for a few days on a work trip in October. It is a sprawling complex of villas in tropical gardens. The hotel was built in the 70's, but it has been maintained very well and still looks great. The rooms are simple, but functional with a TV, fridge, and hot water. Each room has a veranda with beautiful daybeds. The complex itself is a bit off the beach, but has four swimming pools and several bars. The buffet style restaurant is quite good and varied day by day. I usually don't like buffets, but the spread at Scorpio is fantastic and a great value at Ksh1500.

Generally, I think Scorpio Villas might just be the best value hotel in all of Kenya. At Ksh4500 (bed and breakfast) for a great, non-pretentious resort in Malindi, it simply can't be beat!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaronV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Brilliant stay with my girlfriend in August of this year. Warm sun, friendly staff, great pool made our vacation memorable. The front desk staff was particularly efficient in check us in and making sure that our needs were met. The only complaint that I can think of is that some of the breakfast items did run short from time to time, but other than that a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Scorpio Villas is a great place to go to relax and enjoy some sun. The resort is immaculate and all of the staff are extremely friendly. The food was delicious although we did have to get to breakfast early to secure some bacon. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who asks. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davemason24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is a really special place. I have been twice now with family and am returning over Christmas. The food is fantastic (and not repeative)- its of a standard that's hard to find in kenya and we are always very impressed. And we can be fussy! The full board option is excellent value and includes fruit at 11am and afternoon tea, as well as pre- dinner snacks and wine. The pools are clean and attractive and the staff members fun and pleasant. The italian owners are helpful and want their guests to enjoy their trip. The rooms are good, not luxury, but fine - good air conditioning, a comfy bed and clean bathroom - what else do you need? The bar is reasonablly priced, as are the day trips snorkelling. The hotel is hard to fault really. If I had to, I'd say we would live without the beach bums on the beach chatting to us endlessly and making us feel guilty, but clearly this is not the hotel's fault. Since I've been going they've made a lot of improvements to the grounds, and I'm looking forward to seeing the new beach bar our friends have told us about. Many people return year after year, some guests staying for months on end. A perfect hotel! Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodthickskirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I took a team of doctors that had come over for a medical camp in the community that I work with. It was a team of 32 people who were leaving the hotel at 7 am and returning late in the evening every day.
Because of this, we requested to have Breakfast served earlier than usual, at 6:30 am, and our packed lunch ready by 7 am so that we could carry it to the camps.
One may not believe this, but we had an excellent service. The breakfast was ready in time and the Packed lunch was also packed as we had wanted.
I highly recommend this place to anyone planning to host business gathering around Malindi.
By the way, I can also take you there!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmbuthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
235 reviews
9.6 mi away
Angel's Bay Beach & Villas Resort
9.3 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
1 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
1 mi away
Kilili Baharini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scorpio Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scorpio Villas

Address: Mnarani Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#6 Family Hotel in Malindi
Price Range: £70 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scorpio Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scorpio Villas is an attractive Small Resort where guests stay in Lamu-style, thatched cottages, furnished with hand-carved furniture including a large four poster bed. Every cottage has a large, shady terrace and the dining waiter will serve breakfast here every morning (on your request, or you may wish to dine in the restaurant). The villa accommodation is interspersed with four swimming pools around which you'll find sun beds and chairs. It is only 50 metres, along a path, to the white sands, private Beach With Umbrella & Sunbeds. Only 1.5 kilometres from the centre of Malindi. This hotel is conveniently situated and is popular with repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Jovago.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scorpio Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scorpio Villas Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Resort Malindi
Scorpio Villas Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing