We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty location, but not everything worked”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malindi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel African Pearl
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the lovely decor and scenery - it is definitely one of the most pleasing on the eye hotels I have stayed in. The room was also beautifully decorated with a lovely view from the balcony, but unfortunately the shower did not work properly and we had no hot water. The food in the restaurant was decent, but was pricey and we had to wait a long time for it. All in all, the hotel was overpriced for the what you got in terms of service - although it must be remembered, this is true of Malindi in general.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shauny79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Hotel African Pearl
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We visited this hotel during 1 week with 10 persons. Everything was well The staff will do everything to make us comfortable. It is a quit place nearby the beach and centre. The place is very safe and the garden and pool are perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wybe k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Its a nice place to be. The staff in friendly. Jeff the owner is more than friendly to the femele guest
than normal. But when he spent more time to this all off African Pearl hotel and drink not so much, than it will be better than now.
Its clean place. The breakfast is a little small, but ok.
Airco on the room does't work.
Swimming pool is not so clean and clear. The seats arond the swimmingpool is not so good and almost broken.
Prices lesser than 3500 Kes is a good rate for 2 persons whit Breakfast. Tuk tuk to busstation 50 kes, to restaurant also 50 Kes. Tuktuk to Airport or Marine park (nice beach) 150 Kes.
A good restaurant in this area is Tjablin BBQ chicken or beef for one person whit vegatable and frence friet 500 Kes.
Malindi is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We visited the hotel for refreshments a number of times. Jeff was an exceptional host and we enjoyed the venue every time. You get the feeling you are unrestricted when at the African Pearl. Think I will stay here next time. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdhiamboC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

jeff came up trumps yet again the three weeks there was brilliant always a warm welcome good breakfast to start the day clean and newly decorated rooms welcoming staff nothing is too much trouble cant wait to go back next year or sooner if we win the lottery.THANKS AGAIN JEFF HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON. KAREN 'N' DAVE.

Room Tip: one of the big five you can't beat them.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butcherslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here over New Year's because it was the only place on the entire coast we found with a vacancy. But really, if you don't want to pay the exorbitant (peak season) rates charged by the beachside resorts, this is an OK option. We had a car so we were not bothered by the location - we could go south of town to beach hotels for the day and to Watamu, which has a much nicer beach. Ranking as 22 of 28 hotels in Malindi seems about right.
About the service: Some of the staff were firendly and helpful, others not. The manager at first denied having recieved our booking - and also denied that he had spoken to us on the phone the day before and confirmed the reservation and explained to us how to get there!
Tuk-tuks running up and down the road outside take you to restaurants and clubs in town at night: We tried the Karen Blixen and the Bar & Pizzeria and the I love Pizza, which were OK, and the Baby Marrow, which was not.

Room Tip: We had rooms with large balconies in main building - they were OK
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel is on quite a busy road, but the gardens and swimming pool / chill area mean you would barely notice.

Look, this is a locally-run hotel kind of in between a backpacker hostel and a basic chain-style hotel - i.e. there are things which work, other things which work less (some areas could do with a bit of TLC), so it is best assessed based on the price -which is extremely reasonable.

We travelled as a couple. I try to support local hotels where possible, my partner would be pickier, preferring a more luxury hotel - but he was happy enough with Jeff's slightly creaky locally made beds, painted rustic bathroom, wifi in the lobby, etc etc. We had a room upstairs in the main building above reception, with an airy terrace looking out over the grounds.

Location-wise, its not on the beach but it is a 10 minute walk from the town and a couple of good Italian restaurants. Tuc-tucs pass often and it is easy to get to where you are going, and the young waiters in the Italian restaurant were able to put us in touch with a taxi driver friend of theirs who took us on a private tour to the Gedi ruins and Hell's Kitchen - both of which are essential viewing!

If you want mass-produced tourism run by international operators with mini bar in your room and cable TV, head to one of the tourist traps along the coast. If you want Kenya, this hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
0.2 mi away
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
#20 of 28 in Malindi
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tamani Jua Tao Resort
Tamani Jua Tao Resort
#16 of 28 in Malindi
87 reviews
2.7 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dorado Cottage
Dorado Cottage
#14 of 28 in Malindi
219 reviews
6.7 mi away
Karibuni Villas
Karibuni Villas
#3 of 3 in Mambrui
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Marlin Sporting Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel African Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel African Pearl

Address: Lamu Road, Malindi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
Price Range: £32 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hotel African Pearl Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing