We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 2 night stay at Driftwood Club” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Driftwood Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent 2 night stay at Driftwood Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Came to join a group of about twenty celebrating 70th birthday party. Driftwood put on amazing dinner for the group with disco & great food. Stay was amazing & Roger the owner/manager was amazing host as always. Would not hesitate to recommend Driftwood Club as amazing good value accommodation

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goosekenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    51
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
61
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Had a recent two night stay whilst carrying out an exploration scout in the Tana River region.
The overall experience was fantastic. Our multinational team ( six persons) was met and welcomed by the Owner / Manager Roger Sylvester.
Our beachside cottages were air-conditioned, clean and extremely comfortable. Beds were enclosed in extremely well performing mosquito netting and I escaped with zero bites during my two day/ night stay.
The cottages are a stone’s throw from the sea across a strip of pure white ( clean) sand. The view is idyllic nestling on the Indian Ocean as it does, sunrise is amazing.
The bar and lounge area was very welcoming with an excellent music selection, in the background. Wi-Fi enabled all who wished to keep in touch with the outside world. Beers were icy cold and the Dawa cocktail as good as I have ever had.
Evening meals were a treat, with fish obviously on offer. The chef special evening meal is to be recommended and left us all full and satisfied.
A full breakfast was as good as I have had in any 5 star restaurant.
Roger has a lovely charm and looks after all his customers in a very personable manner.
I look forward to returning to the area later this year when we commence operations and I will be sure to bring my wife with me ( and stay for as long as I can wangle it!)

Room Tip: Only know about cottage 28. All was tranquil at night and there was excellent security patrolling al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oilyallanethiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed here several time,s but the llast two years I went to a other hotel ,but this year I went back to Driftwood a wonderful hotel with very good food.
The atmospher is very relaxing no entertainment and lots of drunken people .
For me it wil only be Driftwood and nothing else thanks for the lovely day,s.
Its the old colanial style and the rooms are banda,s ore some villa,s.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leendert188601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Our 3 night stay exceeded expectations.
Simple but delightful seaview cottage with all necessary mod cons including air conditioning and mosquito net (not needed).
Beautiful setting.
Good food, pool and friendly service.
Very good value.
Within walking distance of lively Malindi town.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverbackScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenyang, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Driftwood for 2.5 weeks from the end of January to mid February this year. We couldn't be happier with our first experience to Malindi! Roger took the time to help us organise day trips to Malindi, Gedi, Watamu, Che Shale, and also recommended a great safari company to take us to Tsavo East for a few days. The staff were extremely friendly, and many remembered the previous owner from more than 15 years ago when he paid a visit. Bimba (the pool bar bartender) was especially helpful, and gave us top notch service every time we saw him. The food was fresh, delicious, and amazing. The pool side bar was lively on weekend evenings, bringing many expats and locals alike. Friday night is club night, where they grill your choice of meats in front of you beside the pool. Saturday night, Roger personally cooks up his famous Karoga (beef-curry type dish) which goes perfectly with an ice cold tusker! Curry lunch on Sunday is a packed house and many local Italians who are tired of pasta come to change things up.
All in all, it was a fantastic experience, and we will be staying at the Driftwood again on our next visit to Kenya.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed for 10 days over New Year and had a wonderful time! Roger runs this small hotel like a house party where everyone is welcome! I agree with a previous reviewer, the live music on New Years Day was terrific and had us all dancing in the bar. The staff are excellent whether coping with many requests at the bar or delivering a cafetierre of coffee to your sunbed under a palm tree.

Room Tip: You might like to bring your own toiletries as only a bar of soap is provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We didn't stay here, only came for supper and it was a glimpse into another world. Nothing that amazing but is lovely and has a great atmosphere. Food was pretty good but the setting, right on the beach and the Old School feel of the place is worth the trip. I dread to think how much G&T is guzzled here - we did our bit of course! Very ex-pat type feel and would find that wearing after a few days staying here. Would recommend sun downers here then staying for dinner, we were there for their Friday BBQ, which was very decent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
12.4 mi away
Che Shale
Che Shale
#1 of 3 in Mambrui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dorado Cottage
Dorado Cottage
#12 of 28 in Malindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
0.0 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
0.8 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#2 of 28 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Beach Club

Property: Driftwood Beach Club
Address: Silversands Road | PO Box 63, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Malindi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suitable for families, couples or groups. Everyone will enjoy The Driftwood for its barefoot, relaxed, ‘family home’ style.We also host a large number of wedding ceremonies.The Kenyan coast is a lush diversity of various environments. The marine life in the parks is absolutely stunning and only getting better and better since the law was implemented to protect from over-fishing. The edges of the beach are lined with palm trees that sway gently in the wind. Further inland there are the lush tropical forests that house hundreds of species of bird life and animal life. The most famous of these is the Sokoke forest which is half an hours’ drive from The Driftwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Driftwood Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Beach Club Hotel Malindi
Driftwood Beach Hotel
Driftwood Beach Malindi
Driftwood Beach Club Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing