We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, brilliant, safi sana!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding, brilliant, safi sana!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Couldn't beat the location on the beach, the gorgeous big, clean swimming pool, the friendly staff, the incredible food (not one less than excellent course in any meal!), the comfortable rooms, etc, etc, etc. I could go on and on. A fabulous place for a holiday, with or without kids. A great meeting place too, for local Kenyan expats, and visitors who love the country and the coast. Couldn't get enough of it. Five out of five stars, and I'd give it six if I could! Congrats to Roger Sylvester, a great manager and a lot of fun to be with!

Dr James Eva ('James Penhaligon' - author of 'Speak Swahili, Dammit!')

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamespehaligon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    52
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
62
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very nice small hotel with all the amenities you require for a not too fussy holiday.

Great area to have breakfast - average breakfast.

Not too many restaurants in the area ate at the hotel a lot

Clean pool.

Need new towels at the pool and in the rooms

A fantastic spot for kiting, warm sea, flat area with a reef about 1km away with small waves and wind is reliable.

Watch out for mosquitos- take lots of protection, creams, long clothing at night and sprays for your ankles.

Also don't forget sunscreen especially if you need special factors and it's hard to get.

Room Tip: bungalows on the front facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantellehowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 very restful, relaxing nights at the end of an Elephant Conservation Trip. I chose this hotel from other reviews on TripAdvisor as I didn't want the big soulless 'all inclusive' hotel that you often get at beach resorts. The Club consists of a small number of thatched cottages directly overlooking the shore, built around the main bar and restaurant. The beach front location is perfect. When we first arrived, at lunchtime on a Saturday, we were a little worried it might be a bit cliquey as the pool bar was packed with local guests and everyone seemed to know everyone. Roger Sylvester the very jovial owner/manager was quick to welcome and include us and my worries soon abated. It definitely has a club rather than hotel atmosphere, weekends are busy with local residents popping in, but we embraced this and joined in the fun, weekdays are definitely much quieter. The restaurant served very good food and the lodge bar was simply a great cosy, welcoming place to spend the evening. The only thing I personally think they could improve on was the cottage, particularly the bathroom (sorry Roger but I like to be honest!). We had everything we needed but it was pretty basic inside and the bathroom needed some TLC. All in all though, we had a great stay, met some lovely people and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Cottage 21 brilliant location directly overlooking the beach & sea. Map of layout of the cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Went back to Kenya with my sister for a nostalgic tour in our 60s having had the privilege of growing up and going to school in Nairobi before leaving for different lives in countries far removed from one another.
Since my first stay at Driftwood in the 60s I'd always dreamed of owning or operating a resort like this so, keeping best till last, our stay was the end of our week's traveling, and what a haven it still was. Although we'd both been a touch disappointed with some aspects of our reminiscing, Driftwood was a real blast from the past for us both. After a long and torrid drive down the Mombasa Road pulling into the resort was truly the start of something good. The atmosphere was unchanged but the standard was vastly improved.
Our beachside bungalow was just what we wanted with no frills but comfortable enough. The bar and meeting area was extremely inviting with huge plush sofas and had the convenience of WiFi for those who needed to keep in touch.
Roger was an absolute gem. Kept us entertained with stories and anecdotes, kept us laughing well into the nights and was an (almost) perfect host. 'Almost' because it was so hard to drag ourselves away we consequently had to keep drinking! We had opted for half board and couldn't fault the breakfast or dinners. Lunch would certainly have been overkill.
We spent a lovely morning out on the reef at low tide, and there's plenty of beach to walk down to get the mandatory exercise.
Staff were very friendly and attentive, but not overly so. The atmosphere is very laid back and relaxed and you can do as much or as little as you want. We took the complimentary tuk tuk tour through Malindi township (in the pouring rain) just to look at some of the places we might remember from our teens. The driver really went above and beyond taking us where we wanted to go.
If I ever get the opportunity to go back 'home' Driftwood will be the first place I head for and I'll be planning on a considerably longer stay next time.
Well done Roger and the team. You made our trip complete.
(And sorry it's taken me so long to post this review).

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront bungalow - if you can get one the sunrises are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I spent most of my time at the lodge reading and writing. Great friendly service, good food, excellent value, but best of all, a place to catch up with oneself. No television in the rooms, which in my view was a plus. Malindi town is a 15 min walk away. Unlike some resorts, it is small enough to retain a personal character, and is well maintained.

I will return, and with my family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Since childhood (50 years ago) never been anywhere better for holidays by the sea - the staff are amazing and Mr Roger Sylvester has to be the best manager/host you will ever find! Being taken care of and having a very relaxing time is order of the day - with masses of entertainment in the middle - you will love it!

Room Tip: Even though there is no fitness center, there is plenty to do to keep you fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judes58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I took my mum to the Driftwood as part of her first trip to Kenya and what a surprise! It was so relaxed, from being picked up at the airport, to the simple check in and check out and everything in between. We had a room that looked out over the sea and we practically stepped out onto the sand. The room had everything you could need, including a safe, mosquito nets and air con. Breakfast was great (especially the coffee!) and the views were wonderful. The bar area is wonderful with attentive staff to match and the security does a great job at managing the amount of hassle you receive from the local guys that sell from the beach. Finally, I must pay a special mention to Syed who drives the guests from Driftwood around Malindi town in his tuk tuk (if required). He was truly wonderful and really made our holiday extra special. I will be taking my husband there soon.

Room Tip: We had room 23, which had a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
12.3 mi away
Che Shale
Che Shale
#1 of 3 in Mambrui
181 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.0 mi away
Dorado Cottage
Dorado Cottage
#12 of 27 in Malindi
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
0.2 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
0.7 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 27 in Malindi
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Beach Club

Property: Driftwood Beach Club
Address: Silversands Road | PO Box 63, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#3 Family Hotel in Malindi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suitable for families, couples or groups. Everyone will enjoy The Driftwood for its barefoot, relaxed, ‘family home’ style.We also host a large number of wedding ceremonies.The Kenyan coast is a lush diversity of various environments. The marine life in the parks is absolutely stunning and only getting better and better since the law was implemented to protect from over-fishing. The edges of the beach are lined with palm trees that sway gently in the wind. Further inland there are the lush tropical forests that house hundreds of species of bird life and animal life. The most famous of these is the Sokoke forest which is half an hours’ drive from The Driftwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Jovago.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Driftwood Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Beach Club Hotel Malindi
Driftwood Beach Hotel
Driftwood Beach Malindi
Driftwood Beach Club Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing