We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Driftwood Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is always a welcome getaway from busy and stressful Nairobi! The staff are attentive and always friendly. The rooms fairly basic but clean and pleasant with an air con unit. The Beach Club is small and therefore cosy and uninhibiting. I look forward to another visit soon and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The sea-facing rooms near the end are more private and cooler because of the sea-breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    53
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
51
63
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flic En Flac
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent 4 relaxing nights at this hotel right on the beach at Malindi, and cannot wait to go back again. The hotel is very reasonably priced, the rooms are meticulously clean and comfortable and the food is excellent (the high spot of the stay was the Sunday curry buffet just prior to departure!). But what makes the Driftwood special is the "can do" attitude of the staff, be it sorting out a pack lunch for a 5:30 AM departure, finding an extra towel, adjusting a menu item to suit you or getting access to the internet.
Unpretentious, very high food and cleanliness standards and great staff - we will be back soon.

Room Tip: All good but ask for chalet facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rswooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sainte croix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Driftwood has always had an excellent reputation and this is the first time we have stayed here as we used to have a house on the beach. We brought 9 people here to relax after a hard time in the bush. With the stunning situation of the Driftwood Club directly on the beach with beautiful sea views, this was hardly a disappointment. We had a fantastic time here. The Driftwood was superbly run, The restaurant was inventive and wonderful cooking and a good wine list. The staff were always helpful and fun. There was invention and energy in the evenings. Live music some nights. The bar is one of the best places on the coast to have a drink. The cottages are charming with wonderful views and with flowers on the bed to greet you. I am greatly looking forward to coming back and could not recommend this more. Thank you Roger!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesSainteCroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Yes you can stay at more upmarket places in Malindi but Rodger and his team do a great job on service and having live music at one of the best bars overlooking the ocean in Malindi. The food and wine options are great compared to the standard Malindi italian menu and is avaliable either at the bar lounge area or at the open restaurant that always gets the breeze flowing though it, which is a must for the hot months. The rooms are basic but well maintained with aircon, mosquito nets and comfortable large king bed. The staff at reception were always availble for usefull info on local things to do, early morning breakfast for for fishing charters or packed lunches for the boat trips. Tried the SPA for the first time and really good value $25 for one hour.

Room Tip: Beach rooms have great view but rooms to the rear have nice garden and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband, daughter (2.5 years) and I stayed at Driftwood to relax after a week on safari in other parts of Kenya. We were mainly happy with our choice of hotel and the service that we received. We had requested a 'sea view' room, but the view from our first room (29) was partially covered with other huts in front of us. We managed to change hut for the second night (25) and we were then in the front row, hearing the waves crash on the sand and able to walk straight out into the sand to watch the sun rise from the Indian Ocean in the morning. It was nice that the staff were able to accommodate our wishes. The staff were generally helpful (with different levels of friendliness) and attentive in their service. The pool was clean and the club seemed appropriately managed. We were happy that the manager, Roger, made an effort to introduce himself and make us feel welcome. The Driftwood helpfully supplied a babysitter (who charged a reasonable rate) during the evening. The food and selection at breakfast was good. The air conditioning at night was a welcome addition to the room.

However, we were concerned about a few issues. We did feel overwhelmed by the beach vendors and their persistent attempts to sell us something. Whilst this is an issue on many parts of the coast, we felt that the hotel did not take adequate measures to react to this situation or help us deal with persistent vendors (who would seek to attract our attention whether inside or outside of the boundaries of the Driftwood hotel).

We were also not sure if the advice we received from the reception staff was impartial (with respect to the prices quoted for trips to some of the Malindi sights). The trips were organised for us so we were unable to question where the money was going to and who would be providing us with what: for example, for our trip on a glass bottom boat, we were passed from one man to another three times before we went on the boat. We don't know who these all were or what role they had to play in the trip. Moreover, the trip also then involved feeding bread to the fish (which our driver had picked up from our hotel) so we felt completely uneasy and disappointed that we had supported such activity (which shouldn't happen in the marine park and is not good for the wildlife).

Lastly, whilst the rooms were generally well appointed, clean and had sufficient space- the bathrooms did have a slight urine aroma. Whilst this may not be a major concern, it is something that lingers in my memory and could be easily rectified with more thorough cleaning.

Room Tip: A sea view- the huts in the front row are definitely better than further back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrLadybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
231 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here on a number of occasions and all visits have been good, the staff are very welcoming, the rooms are a bit basic but everything works and they are comfortable, the internet is good and the food is simple and the beach location just makes the place. The hotel is for those that just want a place to chill out, it is not a 5 star resort, just simple and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SforSani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Over the past 20 years or so I have been 'drifting' in and out of the Driftwood bar dating back to their infamous Sarurday night discos. Now finally the time came to spend a few nights there. Given the history, the culture, the heritage I really would have wanted to give the place 4, even 5 stars, but in retrospective I couldn't - as a bar it probably deserves 6 stars but as a hotel, charging top dollar for rather cramped and dated rooms with a tiny bathroom, it's simply not more than average. The pool beds are tiny - one constantly worries of falling off, the pool needs an expansion (and seems to be leaking as water levels were quite low in the evenings).
The food was a welcome change to the staple pizza/pasta food of Malindi. In particular the oysters were outstanding. Service was pleasant and a lot better than in some of the other Malindi establishments. Seems management is doing a real good job.
It's not a secret that the club is up for sale - it's featuring on a prominent global real estate website -!that might be the reason for the lack of investment in upgrading the facilities. But with falling land prices in Malindi one can only hope that management reconsiders the selling option and instead invests in the facilities in order to preserve this gem along Silversands Beach.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JonesHeinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malindi hotels
2.4 mi away
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
#20 of 28 in Malindi
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
0.7 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#2 of 28 in Malindi
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
0.6 mi away
African House Resort
African House Resort
#1 of 36 in Malindi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Beach Club

Property: Driftwood Beach Club
Address: Silversands Road | PO Box 63, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Malindi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Beach Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone will enjoy Driftwood Malindi for it’s barefoot, relaxed and informal style. We cater to families, couples or groups and can host small conferences or large wedding ceremonies. This charming hotel is situated on Silversands beach. With reef protected, balmy water’s at the doorstep, this unique experience combines casual accommodation with excellent food and warm, friendly banter. The hotel is just a short 10 minute drive from the Malindi International airport and promises the wary traveller refuge from their daily grind. With easy access to the pristine beach, you can take your morning stroll at the water’s edge before breakfast, have a stress-relieving massage at our Spa and then settle in with a good book around the swimming pool to laze away the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Driftwood Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Beach Club Hotel Malindi
Driftwood Beach Hotel
Driftwood Beach Malindi
Driftwood Beach Club Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing