We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOIIIIIDDDDDD!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamonds Dream of Africa
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AVOIIIIIDDDDDD!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is an hotel called / titled small luxury hotel of the World.

it is to me a very very very very tiny luxury as can be a 2*, we had a 1 week stay and everything went wrong from the begining.

the Receptionist is unprofessional, reading news paper or playing with mobile phone, you feel like you embaressed to disturb them as they even dare look at you

Room clean and spacious but obviously not renovated, scratched taps,loosing painting jacuzzi outlets, noisy AC, unefficient Fan, snatched mosquito net...

empty buffet room, huge room but small food ,the set a la carte is terrible, always potatoes and pasta, service to the minimum, difficult to get a sincere smile, you can feel theysmile as they only expect tips, you even have to call them to get served.

Bartender unprofessional, always speaking behing the bar with an other staff while you have to wait for your drink for more than 20 minutes outside. And still when you have to go yourself to the bar to ask the ordered beverage you feel again disturbing them...

it is an AWFULL feeling to be a guest, and feeling disturbing the staff every time you ask something. they do not come to you , you have to go to them, you might undestand when the hotel is full staffs are busy but as a waiter said there was only 30% occupancy and staff still not find time to pamper their guests

Wooden beach loungers are extremly old and damage, beach boys so anoyng that you have to stay at the pool, because they never keep calling for morning to late evening, the only time you enjoy the beach is night time or high tide.

what makes me sad and very sorry for this property, is that there is no one to control, supervise or check the staff, i felt they were on their own, i did not have the chance to have a word with the manager in a week. A bit of management could change the place.

Room Tip: none of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Willy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    52
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
51
129
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just returned home from our second trip this year, and were not disappointed. The staff make the whole experience truly one to remember and just make us want to return again and again for more.

It was good to see that on this occasion were were many "repeaters" which must prove that this hotel lives up to it's name.

Special thanks to Alan, Timothy, Dolla, "Sir Chiko", Josphat, Moses, Raphael, Denaice, Vincent, to name but a few, but we not forget the GM, Bruno without whom the place would not be the same.

All of the staff are attentive, and nothing is too much trouble for them to make e holiday another to remember.

Although on this occasion the manager Daniella had left and was missed by us, the service continued to be second to none.

From the beautifully appointed rooms, to the lush tropical gardens overlooking the Indian Ocean, it is all you could wish for to escape from the mundane and live the dream.

We met some wonderful friends, and hope to meet up with them again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard, but our preference is a ground floor room as these have thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieHull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

what a let down this place is. considering its membership of the small leading hotels of the world or some such title, the cuisine is at best at par with budget hotels on the Kenyan coast. breakfast is basic, quality and selection of cereals and other items well below standard. fruit selection not up to the mark. desserts are tiny bits and pieces cut up from their predecessors, plated on saucers and tackily garnished with slices of banana and squiggles of chocolate sauce which reminds one of diluted chocolate spread. nothing is done to keep at bay the menacing crows who swoop down and devour any unguarded morsel of food. the pool is not the cleanest and neither is it in the best state of repair. the air conditioning in the otherwise well appointed rooms is mediocre and does not cool adequately. the pool area looks very bare and the tables, chairs, lounge beds quite spartan. the planting does not do justice to the abundance of palms and other tropical shrubs which abound and flourish on this part of the Kenyan coast. service is inattentive though friendly and orders of hot beverages and breakfast egg preparations take ages to fulfill. the all-day tea consists of a water dispenser switched on to provide hot water which is never boiling and a stale selection of cakes and biscuits from the previous day's breakfast which look and taste like cardboard. innumerable other disappointments - nothing to make one feel pampered or surprised or specially taken care of at a resort of this price and standing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pritesh_hasmukh_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Considering that it is part of the Small Luxury hotels of the world, the hotel is a huge disappointment overall. Personally my basic benchmark for a small luxury hotel is things like homemade jam, freshly squeezed juice, a good afternoon tea time, a world class spa, customised cuisine using local ingredients which are available in plenty- like coconut, pumpkins etc rather than pasta every day.

Rooms are spacious and well-appointed but beware none of them are sea facing so if you are particular about this keep it in mind. However they lack a bit of privacy as most of them have a glass sliding door as the main entrance. If not careful, you can see hotel staff and gardeners passing close to your room. At least having one way view/tinted glasses should have been thought of. Or a doorbell to alert one that someone is approaching your room.

The bathroom is well equipped and spacious. All bath tubs have these water jets which makes it like a Jacuzzi. We tried once to use it but it took over 60minutes to fill the bath and then when we switched on the jets there was all sort of dirt and algae that came out. It obviously hadn’t been cleaned or used in a long time. The quality of toiletries is quite mediocre and not what you’d expect from a luxury boutique hotel. The shampoo and shower gel smelt quite crude and didn’t have ginger and aloe as claimed.

Breakfast- choice of items is very limited. For example the basic cereal, no homemade muesli, fruit was just 3-4 types not always of premium quality or maturity. I’d expect dried fruits, and other interesting things that make the hotel unique such as coconut water, fresh squeezed (watermelon) juice etc.


Lunch and dinner menus were not all that and the same kind of food- nothing interesting or unique. I could have paid almost 50% less next door (Sandies tropical) and gotten the same kind of food. They did try to cater for vegetarians but could have been much more creative. Dessert choice was not at all up to expectations. They would have these extremely tiny pieces of pastry everyday laid out on individual dishes that were unappealing and not tasty.

Service: although the waiters were friendly and did try to see to all our requests,especially the ‘butlers’ it felt like it required a lot of energy from our end. For example usually at breakfast the first thing one would be expect would be to be asked if we want tea or coffee and what we’d like for breakfast considering eggs had to be ordered. Tea would be brought to the table without tea spoons, we would have to look for a waiter to place our order for eggs!

Tea time- for hot water one was to use the hot water tap in the water dispenser. I found this very tacky an unhotel like. Although tea and coffee were available all day, at least at 4 pm or afternoon tea time they could have made a bit of an effort.

Pool- the pool was quite dirty and during our stay we never saw it being chlorinated or cleaned thoroughly. The pool attendant would start cleaning it at 9am when guests want to use the pool. The water outlets were also not working so water wasn’t in circulation.

Mvua Spa: a complete rip off! I did a scrub and body wrap while other member did a massage. None of us found it to be amazing. I did not even get a real wrap or what in my view is a body wrap. The spa lacks privacy and can get very hot in the rooms. The thalasso pool should have been free at least for a 30 minute session or something considering we are paying a premium to stay at Diamonds and not the sister hotel next door. The pool is good but also needed cleaning and not all the jets were working.

Overall, I have previously stayed at Sandies coconut and also visited tropical and expected Diamonds to be much more special and luxurious but it didn't feel so. It certainly doesn't justify the higher price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shreyashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Targu-Mures, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We were in many places in the world, but this was the best of the best holidays, a real `Dream of Africa`.The food was excellent, the pool and the beach too! The personnel was very nice, warm, kind like Timothy, Vincent, Raphael, Josephat, Hosea, Richard, Stanley, Moses, Constance, Kambi... all of them. We will remember them always and we will sure return in a few years. Thank you for everything!!!
David, Andrea, Mircea Purcar from Romania

Room Tip: The room T007
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I really had a good time here there place is cool and friendly my kid did not want to go back home they loved the pool and the view of the ocean I must go back there and spend more time with the kids .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyugidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My family and I stayed at Diamonds Dream of Africa- DOA for 5x days all inclusive in Sept 2012.
The rooms are clean, spacious, staff are attentive and offer excellent service. Although sometimes it was hard to find a staff member in the area of the hotel, we were patient enough "Hakuna Matata"- No worries (local saying) and had to personally look for staff to attend to us. Overall good service and large variety of food main course a-la-carte, the starter and dessert buffet style. Bed mattress on the hard side. Sofa couch fantastic

The hotel is more exclusive than Sandies Tropical hotel which is next door (same owner). You are able to walk to that side and participate in their daily activities for free (volleyball, beach walks, aqua aerobics, archery, pool table, table tennis, pool). The beach boys all crowd Tropical hotel. The beach boys do not hassel you on beach at DOA.

MVUA SPA- make sure you state if you want a male or female therapist.

Intrasafaris operator based in the DOA hotel which took care of our tours recommend *safari blu (full day snorkeling/ seafood lunch/ boat ride), half day Gede ruins tour, visiting the local children to hand out biscuits. Very rewarding to hand out gifts to the kids take pencils/ stationery along.

Fantastic hotel and value!

Room Tip: Garden room with patio was pleasant. All rooms have A/C, mosquito nets, flat screen TV, Spacious. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minkie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
0.2 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
224 reviews
9.3 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 28 in Malindi
472 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leopard Point Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Dream of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Dream of Africa

Property: Diamonds Dream of Africa
Address: Casuarina Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#2 Spa Hotel in Malindi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Dream of Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a resort where the enchanting power of nature blends in with the exotic style of the Indo-Arab buildings to offer you a mesmerizing charm, which in Swahili, is called "bembeleza". Sit in the Balinese chaise lounges on your room terrace and listen to the sound of the wind rustling the palm trees, enjoy the music of the waves and let your heart dance in silence: your Dream of total relaxation has finally come true. Chose to dine on the open air terrace or inside the air conditioned restaurant, overlooking the swimming pool or at the a la carte restaurant serving a selection of seafood menus on the beach. Endowed with a centre of Thalassotherapy, a beauty centre and a gym with spectacular view on the ocean, the Dream Spa is the ideal place for the restoration and the maintenance of global prosperity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diamonds Dream of Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Hotel Malindi
Dream Of Africa Malindi
Dream Of Africa Hotel
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Malindi, Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing