We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifull dream” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamonds Dream of Africa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diamonds Dream of Africa
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Kosice, Slovakia
1 review
“Beautifull dream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Beatifull hotel, almost like a dream. Now I understand the hotel's name Dream of Africa.
Service was excellent, there is nothing what you can get more.During the night, there is very difficult to sleep because of generator, which is too loud. This is the problem of the room nearest of the main route.
Public beach is terrible, but it is nothing what to do with hotel, hotel's beach is clean and daily maintained.Thanks for your daily great job Peter and Edward :)
The rooms are very nice, good size, just a jakuzii bath was leaking, therefore we didint use it.
Food in the hotel is excellent, I preffer menu, not a buffet dinner, but really nice tasty foods.
Staff in the hotel is a group of proffesionals, they make sure you feel really comfortable. Big thanks for Josphat, Richard...and many others/sorry,dont remember their names/ but they are really excellent staff and people.
DoA is not a hotel which I recommend for a famillies with a kids, but there is a lot of activities next door at Sandies tropical Village.
There is just one thing the hotel surprised in negative, never seen a room check before leaving from hotel.It is 5 star hotel, visited many hotels, but never seen that.
Hotel recommended for a relax, just do not get annoyed of beach boys :)

Room Tip: If possibility, try ask for a room as far from the route as possible. During the night very difficul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0x0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    46
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
45
126
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We are currently staying at the Dream of Africa and felt compelled to write this review during our stay because we were so impressed with this resort.

The resort is luxurious and deserves the 5-star rating. The food is excellent and varied. The attention to detail is surprising and well beyond our expectations. The staff definitely sets this resort apart from most 5-star resorts. The staff seek any opportunity to make you feel like royalty but also make you feel at home. The staff have a collective pride about the resort and their service and well done to the person(s) who created such a client centric team. I can't praise the staff enough, it is something to be experienced. The rooms are large and furnished with the quality and amenities you would expect of a 5-star hotel. The accessible adjoining resort is also a bonus if you want something more lively, i.e. animation, table tennis, gym, volleyball, etc, its like getting 2 resorts for the price of one. The beach is the only negative about the resort but apparently the beaches in Malinda/Kenya aren't that great (on a relative global scale), regardless, as beach lovers we are still adamant in our recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel, located on the beach, is where you can have a relaxing time and be able to chill out under the sun. The facilities provided at this, or the sister hotel next door, are varied. DOA is where you can relax while next door is more lively. It is not somewhere for children or party animals. The accommodation is fantastic and on he ground or first floor. The food, while there were small portions, there was five courses with salad and deserts buffet style. The staff could not do enough to enhance your stay. We were there in January/February and the numbers of guests went from several to a few (4).
During our stay we had a wedding anniversary and we were treated to a special dinner: a very nice touch.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but it would be best o have one away from the road as that is where the generator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Engineer021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

great service, great food, great surroundings. Bit of a trek from the airport but well worth it!

rooms are huge suites and very very well equipped and comfortable. one of the best resorts I have stayed in

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHertfordshireuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I went here as the relaxing part of our holiday. It was incredible. One of the best places we have ever stayed. I would recommend it to anyone that wants a quite holiday. You are able to go to the other resort which is walking distance if you want things to do in the eve, but we enjoyed staying within our own area. The rooms were perfect we had a ground floor for the start then moved to the top at the end. Both were the same, but there was more light at the top which I perferred. Staff were the kindest most humble people. They made our holiday. We organised our safari before we left, but they do have a great company within the hotel that can organise this for you. Malindi is a nice town, just be sure that you know where your going. You can pick up a tuk tuk right outside the hotel. Most nights the hotel manager came and joined the residents for a drink. I wish I could go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: There is only ground and first floor. Both were the same and perfect. I didn't feel any need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Bit of a strange review as we have not stayed yet!
We booked, but due to illness had to cancel. We wrote with proof of problems and without any quibble they refunded my deposit, even though it was chargeable.
We will re-book soon!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Good staff, big rooms, friendly service. They have a few rooms so even when full doesnt seem crowded. The staff is excellent and make sure we are comfortable. The head butler timothy was specially attentive to our needs as my family is vegetarian. The spa is also very good. Good place to relax. Not much here for kids but the next hotel which is owned by the same group has many activities.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdshahke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
10.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
0.0 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 28 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Dream of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Dream of Africa

Property: Diamonds Dream of Africa
Address: Casuarina Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#2 Spa Hotel in Malindi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Dream of Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a resort where the enchanting power of nature blends in with the exotic style of the Indo-Arab buildings to offer you a mesmerizing charm, which in Swahili, is called "bembeleza". Sit in the Balinese chaise lounges on your room terrace and listen to the sound of the wind rustling the palm trees, enjoy the music of the waves and let your heart dance in silence: your Dream of total relaxation has finally come true. Chose to dine on the open air terrace or inside the air conditioned restaurant, overlooking the swimming pool or at the a la carte restaurant serving a selection of seafood menus on the beach. Endowed with a centre of Thalassotherapy, a beauty centre and a gym with spectacular view on the ocean, the Dream Spa is the ideal place for the restoration and the maintenance of global prosperity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Diamonds Dream of Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Hotel Malindi
Dream Of Africa Malindi
Dream Of Africa Hotel
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Malindi, Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing