We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 2014 Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

An excellent lodge. Located within the reserve, arriving was an exciting game drive in itself. The tents were luxurious, spacious and clean. The food was great and we found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyPaavola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some precious moments of your time to post this very excellent review about your stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp. You have really captured the essence of our hospitality very well in your narration and we are most grateful that you chose to spend your safari holiday with us. We are happy that you mentioned the friendliness of the staff and the great meal experience. Thank you for adding the stunning tent photos as well.

We hope that you will visit us again when you plan for your next holiday.

Best wishes,
Richard Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I were part of a travel group that stayed here. We thought the tents were great! We enjoyed that experience. The breakfast and lunch were buffet. The evening meal was from the menu. The food was good. We did not use the pool but it looked nice. There's even a nice little gift shop. The staff was cordial.The Samburu Game Reserve was awesome - the wildlife abundant. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp. I am glad that you took time to post this nice review and to mention some of the highlights of your visit. We always strive to make sure that all our guests get the best of the services that we offer and this has been made possible by the professional team of employees who work at the camp. Thank you for commenting on their courteous service and we hope to meet with you again in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This tented camp is vey good located in Samburu park itself. This makes game drives easy and interesting. The capacity of the camp is relatively large more than 20 tents/rooms. That is reflected in the capacity of the dining and recreation area.
Meals are either buffet or a la cart depending on the number of guests. The food is average of quality (perhaps with a slight improvement when the number of guests allows for buffet).
The accommodation is very tasteful and spacious. The rooms/tents are clean and give privacy and a nice view of the river. The park is teaming with animals, mammals and birds.
If traveling with kids this might be your perfect choice, not stuck up or over te top luxurious.
Nice pool area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this very good review of Samburu Intrepids Camp. We are very privileged that you chose our property as your safari destination.

As you have hinted we have 28 luxury tents with a medium size restaurant and our tents are all well secluded to offer enough privacy for all guests. Our standard of service in the restaurant when we have good occupancies is a full buffet for breakfast and lunch and then a 7 course sit down dinner menu in the evenings with different choices.

We have a very popular kids club at the camp which is very important for families travelling with children. Our two attendants who are also qualified Naturalists keep the children busy while the parents relax and enjoy their holiday.

I truly hope that when you plan your next safari holiday you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Contrary to some descriptions in guidebooks we read before that describe the tents as somber, we found them comfortable, with tasteful decoration and at the same toime very practical and luxurious. The satff are amazingly friendly and efficient. We used our own car, but the guide we got from the management of the camp - James Ntopai - accompanied us on several game drives in Samburu, Buffallo Springs and Shaba. He was very friendly, knowledgable and went out of his way to get us up close and personal with two prides of lions with babies, three leopards and all the other animals for which Samburu is rightly famous. The landscape is awesome on its own and much more interesting than that of some of the other game parks. We booked at very short notice and booked as our initial first choice, Elephant bedroom was not available. We didn't regret, as we think the Intrepid camp's location is much better for game drives, the staff were friendly, the food excellent and varied and as said above we got a great experience out of the stay, not just because of good luck, but also because we got a very good guide, who also provided us with interesting information on the Samburu people. We left with very fond memories, excellent photographs and fully satisfied.




  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Uwe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Samburu Intrepids on your African Safari Holiday. Your description of the tent is very immaculate and I don’t think that it can be said any better than that. Thanks for mentioning the nice experiences that you had with James. Our organization is committed to rewarding employees who excel in their job and the best way to gauge their performance is through guest feedback.

I am very glad that you got to view such a rich variety of wildlife on your game drives and I hope that as you plan for your next safari holiday you will make Samburu Intrepids your first choice.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Samburu Intrepids is my favorite place in the world! Like a fantastic childhood dream come true. The people are amazing, as are all the animals. The tents were wonderful, the river roaring, the monkeys so cute. The staff were so kind and their knowledge beyond belief. I miss them all. I wish I remembered their names to thank each one again for the best time of my life. Frances shared his culture every evening - a true warrior! My time there was short and it has been a year since I was there, but it remains in my heart always. And the food was fantastic - of course.:) Traveled in April 2013

Room Tip: this "tent" is better than most hotel rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this excellent review about Samburu Intrepids Camp. We are very glad that you chose to visit our luxurious camp and we are very privileged to have been able to make your childhood dream come to life.

Your comment about the camp is nothing short of excellent. The team members are very encouraged that their efforts are much appreciated by you and I will personally pass these compliments to them. I am hoping that you will plan for another trip to Samburu in the future and hopefully you will have more time to enjoy the camp and the park.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This Luxury Tented Camp is in the middle of one of the best national game reserves, one with many unique species of animals. There was a nice pool, helpful and friendly staff. etc. The food was superb - far better than we ever expected to find in such a remote location (more like what one would expect from a classy restaurant in a major city, like New York). Elephants walked by our tent at night and there were monkeys and genet nearby.
The only negative was the bed in our tent. The mattress was thin and one could feel the slats underneath. While this did not bother me much, it did bother my wife, who had difficulty sleeping on this bed (she had no problem with the beds in the other two tented camps where we stayed on this trip). Otherwise the review would be "excellent" rather than "very good".

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our luxurious tented camp. At Samburu Intrepids our goal is to make sure that all our visitors leave with fond memories of the camp and the people who work here. I am glad you enjoyed our Special Samburu Five – unique to this region and you equally enjoyed the food and services we offer.

I have noted your comment on the mattresses and on behalf of camp management I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that this caused during your stay. Rest assured that we have taken this matter very seriously and I will personally initiate a process where all the mattresses will be upgraded to meet the guest requirement. I also want to mention that this is the sort of comments that really help us to improve and maintain our standard of service.

Thank you once again and I hope that we will be seeing you again in the not so distant future.

Regards,
Richard Yoga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The tent camp is a special treat. This place is right in the thick of things with monkeys, baboons bats and even elephants right in the camp. The sounds at night, while the generators are off, are spectacular. During our last night there, the elephants slept right outside of our tent....their dung proved that. It is like being out in the wild. The monkey's zip open the tents to steal biscuits. The food here is good, the Staff is excellent. There is a small gift shop.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nadojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Samburu Intrepids Camp. We are very grateful for your beautiful review about the camp. Staying in a tent gives one that feel of being out in the wild and in tune with nature and we are glad that you enjoyed this experience at the camp. Equally I would like to thank you for mentioning the good food and quality service. It is very encouraging for the team read such encouraging compliments from you.

Finally, thank you for the good advice to keep the tents properly zipped up and tied up to prevent those monkeys from getting in. They can be a bit messy but I guess dealing with them this also adds some flavor to the bush experience.

I hope that you will plan for another trip to Samburu and hopefully we will see you again.

Best regards,
Richard Yoga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
16.1 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
368 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#5 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
343 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
318 reviews
3 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
258 reviews
0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#14 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp

Address: Archers Post, Samburu National Reserve 74888, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range: £271 - £666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samburu Intrepids' location deep inside the reserve guarantees close encounters with Samburu's shyer species, including elephant, leopard and Samburu famous 'special five' - the rare reticulated giraffe, long-necked genernuk antelope, Somali ostrich, Grevy's zebra, and majestic Beisa oryx. This luxurious tented lodge offers modern tents with a private view over the riverbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing